We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro is fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
8301 Hollister Ave, Bacara Resort & Spa, Goleta, CA 93117
805-968-0100
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 116 Restaurants in Goleta
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hollister
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bistro is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had an absolutely magnificent experience at the Bistro last night! The setting, looking out at palm trees and rolling waves, was like being in Hawaii. Choosing from a well appointed menu was hard because it all looked good--I was thrilled with my choice of bruschetta, caprese, shrimp pizza, and local sea bass wrapped in prosciutto. The wine selection was excellent as was the service. Our waiter, James, was both friendly and professional. All in all, a top notch dining experience--well worth the drive or flight from anywhere, even from Santa Barbara or Carpinteria. Put it on your list of "must try" restaurants and it will quickly be on your list of "favorite" restaurants. We went back this morning for breakfast and it was equally as wonderful.

P.s. I was also pleasantly surprised at the reasonable cost of our meal and wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spend a lot - Eat a little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Three of us took a friend here for her birthday. The setting is spectacular and the service was great. It was obvious that all the young people working here have been trained very well. On the down side, the prices are substantial but the portions are not. We ordered the baked meatballs (3 small ones and a slice of grilled toast) and the crostini with chicken livers (4). The crostini were very thin and we could hardly taste the chicken liver pate. Three of us ordered the grilled shrimp caprese salad. This was not listed as an appetizer but was about the size of one - 3 medium shrimp, 3 slices each of tomato, mozzarella, basil leaf and a skimpy drizzle of balsalmic vinegar. For $20 I would at least expect a really good tomato. Mine was very mealy and had no flavor. One friend had one of the pizzas which are thin crust and she said it was good. The bread basket that was brought to us was warm and very good. They have sandwiches and other entrees ranging from about $15 to $25. Definitely go here for a wonderful view and service but be prepared to eat a light meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Two meal and both were terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From egg whites that came out yellow to remade egg whites without the proper ingredients the breakfast was terrible. We then tried lunch two days later and after waiting 50 minutes were served undercooked pizza and a hamburger that was almost raw.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

And with views that you feel you are way from the run of the mill day a and relaxing. I cannot fault this resort or restaurants....there is no need to leave and eat anywhere else...plus the cocktails are good here too!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ocean view is incredible, service is always perfect. The food is truly fabulous, and happens to be healthy, too. They do a great job with fresh fish, soups, salads -- whatever we've ordered has always exceeded expectations. Pricey, but this level of cuisine usually is expensive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.