We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food Right On The Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Bar-Cafe

Beachside Bar-Cafe
5905 Sandspit Rd, Goleta, CA 93117-3903
805-964-7881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Goleta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Food Right On The Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our first night in Santa Barbara we decided to head to the beach in Goleta on the advice of some locals we met in Carmel. We went to this restaurant for dinner and we were very pleased. Our server was wonderful. She was very pleasant and did her job very well. We sat in an indoor/outdoor area where it was open air but we were shaded from the sun and the whip of the ocean wind.

The food was very good. I had a sirloin steak ordered medium-well. It was cooked right on the inside but a little darker than I would have preferred on the outside (still very delicious) It came with rolls, a salad, choice of potato, and seasonal vegetables which were all very good. The atmosphere is very nice being on the beach. If you are looking for someplace fancy then you will be disappointed. The only complaint I had was getting my check and seeing that 2 domestic beers cost me $14.

I would recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    71
    26
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“To DIE For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I were down in Santa Barbara to apartment hunt and he decided to surprise me with a romantic dinner here after all the stress from the week! I had no idea where we were going but was extremely pleased when we pulled into the parking lot. We wandered onto the beach for a bit and enjoyed the cool sand between our toes before we made our way to enjoy some wonderful food!

When we walked into the restaurant, we were kindly greeted by a young girl and were promptly sat right next to the window to enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean (it was a windy, cool night so we decided to eat indoors). We had already spent the day enjoying some drinks, so we decided to not overindulge ourselves, but the wine and other drinks sounded and looked great. The warm, soft bread that was served to us when we got situated was to DIE for... My boyfriend and I are big bread connoisseurs lol.

We ended up ordering the pesto shrimp linguine and portobello mushroom stuffed with feta and parmesan cheese with salmon over a bed of greens. When our plates came... Oh heavens... We about died! I'm pretty sure our kind waiter laughed at us because we were so excited for our food. The flavors were incredible and everything tasted so fresh and wonderful. The portions were perfect for our hunger needs and we even had leftovers to enjoy for a midnight snack later. We will definitely be coming back to enjoy more meals here once we make the official move down here! Love. Love. Love.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“On the Beach in Goleta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beachside has been a favorite of ours since our kids were at UCSB. It's a lively place right on the sand with ocean views, gorgeous at sunset. They don't take reservations except for groups over 8 so sometimes there is a wait, but worth it since it's one of the best in Goleta near the campus.
Waiter was nice...2nd glass of wine was slow in coming but with the beautiful ambiance one puts
up with most anything. There's a bar that's busy. The food's okay but not the primary reason one visits Beachside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food in a casual setting right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Group of 4 went to the Beachside Bar & cafe on UCSB Graduation weekend. It was very busy, but we got seated pretty quick. It's a fairly large place, most tables(and the large bar area) have a decent view of the beach and pier right in front. I started with a cup of their Clam chowder, was really really good. Someone had a side Caesar, it was excellent. My entree was a tri-tip sandwich, with a side of coleslaw, was a delicious plate of food. My wife got a burger and fries, good sized burger, excellent thick but fries. One of my daugthers got Paella, was good, not great. Other daughter got the Scallop Skewers, they again were good, but not great. We split a chocolate mouse pie dessert, it was amazing.
The service was quick, but not rushed. The views are excellent. Prices are a reasonable for the location, most lunch entrees were $10 to$15.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good seafood in a great setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Both of our seafood (halibut and salmon) specials were very good, as was the service and the view. The restaurant is right on the beach with a fishing pier for an after dinner walk. Near UC Santa Barbara, but did not appear to be a student hangout, probably due to price. Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachside Bar-Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beachside Bar-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Bar-Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.