We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside is the whole deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Bar-Cafe

Beachside Bar-Cafe
5905 Sandspit Rd, Goleta, CA 93117-3903
805-964-7881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Goleta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beachside is the whole deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has great food and is located in an awesome spot in Goleta. The seafood is always done well and I'd recommend the chowder in a bread bowl....its easily recommendable during the cooler months. There's the main dining area and a sports bar tucked away to one side, with a third dining spot in an outside setting that I prefer on most days. Been a few times and they have a sumptuous lunch menu at great prices and the steaks on the dinner menu are another good choice if you make it. The staff are relaxed and helpful and the setting adds to the laid back ambience. There is a pier and park adjacent that are busy most of the year with locals and tourists, fishing, biking, scuba diving,walking, jogging and just hanging out especially in fine weather, so you can walk off your meal on a normal day or work up a hunger first. There's also a small boardwalk hut outside that has cool drinks and hot food, (tri-tip sandwiches etc) if you're just spending time on the beach. If you're going on a special day like Valentines or Mother's day, you'd be smarter to make a reservation, otherwise, head down to the Beachside on a summery day and enjoy the whole deal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    71
    26
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Perfect Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We found this restaurant while cycling in the Santa Barbara area last year. A great spot to take a break from the bike. This year, we decided to stop for a more leisurely lunch while driving through and are very glad we did! It was a beautiful day to sit on the outdoor patio and enjoy the view with a glass of wine. The seafood was fresh and perfectly prepared and the service was casual but prompt. Would definitely come here again on our next road trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome location and good for to go with it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location sets the tone and makes this a great place for a lunch meeting. All the food is good and it's fun to eat here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nobody says we can't come here tomorrow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The name says it all. The atmosphere is beautiful and the food matches that. We will definatly come here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinterlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Steps From The Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the second time I visited this great little place right on the beach (first time was 2004ish? when I was in SB for business). this is a busy little place with indoor and outdoor seating.

Having just arrived from frosty ChiTown, the 20 minute wait for a table gave us the opportunity to "say hello" to the Pacific, take in the beach volleyball game and collect some much needed Vitamin D.

Once inside, we ordered from the nice selection of Draft Beers and followed that up with our food order.

I had the Grilled Calamari Steak. Grilled to perfection and served on a Sourdough Roll. It was pretty darn good.

Other items ordered included the Grande Fish Tacos which was made with Halibut and the Cajun Shrimp. Both of which were well prepared.

Only complaint was the incredibly slow service. (I was starting to wonder if they were driving to Paso Robles to pick up my Firestone draft).

Overall, the food is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachside Bar-Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beachside Bar-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Bar-Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.