We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit too Expensive for what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Storke Road, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Wine Country
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Goleta
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Bit too Expensive for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the hotel was very nice. Clearly it has been renovated just recently and they put me in a very nice first floor two room suite.

The bathroom was quite large and nice, the bed was very comfortable, the internet worked well, and I had TVs in both rooms making it nice while working and lying in bed. The nicest feature was having a small patio. I was able to leave the patio door open and enjoy the beautiful weather while in the room.

The staff was very nice, accommodated a late check-out and I had a very nice conversation with the housekeeping staff.

My only gripe - including tax, the room ran my almost $300. Now please understand I knew it when I booked it, but I wanted to see the area on a weekend layover in Cali, so it was what I bargained for. But that is pretty expense for a Courtyard on a Friday night and it was not as if it was graduation weekend at UCSB.

Enjoy it if you are on business and the trip is deductible or if it is a special occasion. Otherwise, maybe try and find something a bit cheaper.

Room Tip: If they will, get an upgrade to a suite on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
25
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This new Courtyard looks great and modern, with all the lobby features expected of a Courtyard. The outdoor firepit conversation areas are a nice touch in the courtyard, along with a small pool, and the place has a lively, comfortable feel. Staff are enthusiastic and friendly, rooms are new, clean, and well appointed with 2 Queen beds. Conveniently close to UCSB. Fitness center is well-equipped and has enough space to handle the activity.

Overall a solid and comfortable hotel stay in the UCSB area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Of course, things sometimes go wrong at hotel. This time they went REALLY wrong. I arrived at the Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta mid afternoon on April 1. Of course - maybe that's the connection - it was April Fool's Day and this stay was a joke - on me. The woman attending the front desk was clearly inexperienced. Instead of a greeting, there was a sideways look. Knowing the routine, as a a top level elite Marriott Rewards member, I gave her my name. She noted my status, etc. The room she gave me was on the second floor, not an upgrade, but actually a downgrade. It faced a large machine in a lot next door. I went down and asked about the location of the room. The conversation went like this:
"Is this the best room you have for a Platinum Rewards Member?"
Response: We dont' have any king rooms, nor any courtyard rooms.
Me: Don't you reserve rooms in advance for platinum member?
Response: Sometimes. But we have too many staying here tonight.

So, she moved my room to a "better" location: downstairs, adjacent to an entry door, on a parking lot.

I'll put in earplugs tonight and deal with it. It's not worth trying to re-navigate this.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This Marriott seems quite new, and so everything still feels fresh. The locals tell me it's only a few years old. If the pricing works for you, catch this hotel while it's still young.

My room was well-furnished, with a bed and a couch/coffee table set. There was a pull-out computer desk that had been built into a wall unit. It was not narrow like most computer desks, so there was a luxurious amount of space. Weirdly enough, it had less useful real estate than might first appear, because the pull-out design was staggered. The bathroom was spacious. I'm not a big fan of the shower stall, though it was big enough to fit two or three people in there. The refrigerator didn't work during my visit, but I didn't really expect a refrigerator at this sort of hotel. A nice amenity and a compromise of the DIY age.

The staff was helpful and friendly. When the the hotel printers failed (during my stay, both printers ran out of toner), the staff helped me print my business documents on their printer. There was also a billing confusion, but the staff took care of it efficiently. I was here on business -- rather grueling business, in fact. The service at this hotel helped make the trip a little better. At this hotel you can expect professionalism.

There is a convenience shop in the hotel, open 24 hours. The café was either closed or sparsely manned during the odd hours I stopped by. There is a K-Mart about a long block down from the hotel, but the area is of course designed for driving, not for walking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

friendly staff but it was pretty loud due to kids at pool. Could also hear everything in hallway - weirdly. Very very clean. I moved after one night due to noise. Maybe try to get a room away from the poor. Def. don't be near the elevators - i heard every single noise from it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Goleta. We were in the area for business and this is a relatively new hotel. It is probably the best option in the area. When we stayed there, it has only been open for a short time. The staff were friendly. The rooms nice, good linens. Convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a college visit to UC Santa Barbara. It's only about 5 minute drive from hotel to the college. Lots of restaurants and stores in the area. The room was clean, and quiet (my pet peeve... I don't want to hear neighbors). Nice bed and linens. Comfortable. Would stay here again without hesitation. Large room and bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta

Address: 401 Storke Road, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.