We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Storke Road, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a nice overnight business stay. The hotel is very new and reasonably nice. The elevators are remarkably slow for a two story building and the lobby bistro is a bit expensive for travelling on your own dime. Conveniently located near the airport. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
27
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Like I said in my title it is brand new! We had reservations within hours of its opening. We received a welcome gift in celebration of its opening which was a fun surprise.

The room was clean, up to date, and roomy. No breath taking views but that's ok since we were away from the room most of the time. The staff was friendly and quick to provide any services we needed and answer our questions/concerns.

I really like that there is now a Marriott close to Santa Barbara. I was a bit surprised their hotel rates were a bit high especially since it's not in Santa Barbara. None the less, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a dichotomy. Pros-It's new and clean with a friendly staff; great amenities. Cons-No rooms with King&bath (king&shower; queen&bath combinations only), only provide analog TV to guest rooms (senseless cost savings), and does not recognize Gold Card status!!! We have generally come to dislike the Courtyard business model and seek Fairfield Inns when we travel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Came for the weekend to watch our daughter play in a field hockey tournament at UCSB. This hotel's location was closer to UCSB than other comparable hotels in Goleta as it is on the south side of U.S. Route 101. It is also within walking distance to the Camino Real Marketplace where there are shops and restaurants to patronize.

The hotel is new and well planned out. It has a ground level and a second floor level accessible by stairs or an elevator. We are not Marriott members but requested and got a second floor room overlooking the courtyard with pool and firepits. We chose the most economical room which had 2 queen beds. They looked more like full-size beds, so we each had our own bed to spread out on. In our room was a mini refrigerator that had no ice box and no microwave.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the door to the room slams shut when you release it and it does make a loud noise. The bathroom door is also hinged to close when released. We propped it open with a weighted object, especially after taking showers. Even with the ventilation fan running, it took a while for the steam to clear the room.

For this category of hotel, we consider the rate to be high. We used a Marriott gift card which made the cost more acceptable to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here over veteran's day weekend. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again when visiting the Santa Barbara area. That said, like all hotels, this one had pluses and minuses.

The Pluses

- Our room (junior suite with king bed) was a step up from most Marriott Courtyard's. Very spacious, with a sitting area somewhat set off from the bed (but not a true suite), and two television sets. The room also had a microwave and a refrigerator. I have to agree with the previous poster about the pillows - unlike most courtyards, this hotel had nice, full sized pillows that were very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a huge shower with incredible water pressure from the large shower head. Loved the fact that they provided a real hair dryer, not those silly mini-hairdryers stuck to the wall.

- the lobby of this hotel is very nice for a courtyard - it looks more like a resort lobby than a courtyard. There is a courtyard bistro in the restaurant, but breakfast is not included in the room price.

- the courtyard of this hotel was truly beautiful! It has lovely landscaping, considering it has only been open a few months, with two fire pits that are lit every night (and, a pool as well). Wonderful cushioned furniture - even a small minature putting green. Very nice.

- We found this to be a very convenient location for driving into Santa Barbara or heading up to Solvang-area wineries. Be aware, however, that getting to downtown Santa Barbara will take about 15 minutes, depending on where you're going. Still, it's a very easy drive.

The minuses (none of these are major minuses, in my opinion):

- The setting of this hotel is just OK. It sits surrounded by a large apartment complex across the street, a major thoroughfare in front, a large school soccer field immediately behind, and a large shopping center and fire station on the other side. If you have a room facing the courtyard, as we did, you will truly not be bothered by any of this, but if you have a room facing out, you may be. For instance, we noticed that from early morning on Saturday throughout the day there were children's soccer games happening on the soccer field; if you happened to be in one of those rooms, you might get a bit of noise, or at least not feel like that was the most attractive view. So, if you stay here, definitely request a room that faces into the central courtyard if at all possible.

- Although we couldn't hear anything from the people enjoying the courtyard, we COULD here doors slamming shut throughout our stay. At one point, it sounded like someone in the room below us was opening and slamming their door repeatedly for half an hour -- this was very early on a Saturday morning. This was probably the biggest negative of our stay for us.

- The room was very clean overall, but, yes, we did see a FEW ants in the bathroom at one point during our stay This was not a major issue for us, but it was surprising in a brand new hotel.

- The room rates at this hotel were significantly higher than those at most courtyard marriotts. But, having stayed in Santa Barbara many times before, we know that decent hotels in this area are expensive in general. Overally, this was a good value for the area.

- We wish Marriott's would consider the number of people staying in a room and add extra shampoo when more than one person is staying! Those tiny little shampoo bottles just dont' cut it!

Finally, be aware that this hotel is NOT in Santa Barbara. It is in Goleta, very close to the University of California SB campus. You will need a car here.

Again, we would definitely stay here again, and enjoyed our stay. We have stayed at many Marriott hotels over the year, and this is one of the nicer ones we've stayed at (even nicer than some of the JW Marriotts). The hotel does have a few minuses, but, for us, they were note deal breakers. This is a great option in the Santa Barbara area.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room facing the inside courtyard, not the outside of the hotel. First floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for business travel, so I did little more than grab a bite to eat at the cafe and fall into bed. However, the lobby is beautiful, the staff was helpful, and I liked the pillows so much I'm looking into getting some myself. It's convenient to the campus and highway, but not very close to downtown.
My room smelled a tiny bit musty, but I think now that I know the hotel is so new, that it was actually a slight residual new paint and carpet smell. I didn't notice after the first 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is one of the nicest designed chain hotels I have seen. The lobby and courtyard are nicer then some resorts. Rooms were nicely furnished and a nice size. The sheets were clean and the towels were nice and thick. This hotel is not cheap. However, what otherwise could be an awesome hotel turned into an unpleasant experience when the room I was visited on both nights by ants. The first night my family noticed a few but did not think it was a big deal. However, the second night ants came out by the dozens in the bathroom, the desk and on the nightstand. I talked to the front desk and asked to have a different room and they claimed they were fill and could not move us. So we were left in a room that had ants! They did send a guy to spray but we did not want to sleep with fumes from bug spray in our room. The following morning I noticed on the second floor several ants crawling by the elevator on the wall next to a trash can and this was well away from the room I stayed at. The guy who came to spray actually told us the ants do bite. It seems this hotel needs to be professionally sprayed for bugs. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years including some dumpy beach hotels on the East Coast and never had any problems with bugs in a room. Only once before have I ever had bugs in a room and this was an ant problem 10 years ago in Orlando at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta

Address: 401 Storke Road, Goleta, CA 93117
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Barbara Goleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.