We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expenisve Disappintment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at the Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expenisve Disappintment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Bacara Resort for 1 night (8th September) on our way from Monterey to LA. When we made the booking we thought it would be a great, family stop - given the pictures on the website of the beach and the pool. At a total cost of just over $1,000 AUD for our two, interconnecting rooms for the 1 night we were really expecting something special.

Sadly, the accommodation was really average. Our rooms were very tired, the carpets were stained and both were incredibly dusty, giving us all itchy eyes and noses. While we hadn't paid for a room with a view we did expect a nice outlook onto the garden for our $1,000 AUD. However, we got a depressing view of the rear of the building in front.

While the kids did enjoy the pool. The beach was nothing like in the pictures. There are horrible looking oil rigs directly off the resort beach which made me concerned as to whether it was safe to swim and a dead fish on the sand directly at the end of the resort walkway onto the beach didn't do much to allay my concerns.

The only part we really enjoyed was the food. We had dinner and breakfast at the Bistro and really enjoyed both - great selection for adults and children. The service also was very good.

To the credit of the management, when we checked out I voiced my disappointment regarding the rooms and they agreed to reduce the cost of one of our dinners.

Overall we felt the resort was horrendously overpriced and would recommend you stay somewhere else and just visit for dinner!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with your family. While I was pleased that you enjoyed your meals at The Bistro, I was truly disappointed to read the remainder of your review. To that end, I have contacted you privately to personally address your concerns and right any wrongs. Thank you for your time.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    244
    171
    132
    120
See reviews for
315
622
33
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We first visited The Bacara in May of 2001 and had such a great experience we dreamed of one day returning. Well, we finally did this September and it delighted us just as much the 2nd time around. The whole staff takes complete care of your every need and puts this place, in our mind, over the top. Definitely recommend staying a few days to enjoy all this resort has to offer. It truly is a very special place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your most recent visit to Bacara. I loved reading that you finally returned to Bacara and were just as delighted as your first visit. We can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully it will not be another decade before you return!

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

weather helps, but the staff, starting with the valet parking,such gentlemen.
check in by a welcoming and helpful staff, then the bags wisked to our room. the room was very clean, the towels soft, the TV's excellent, the bed, ultra comfy.
Our weekend was filled with great massages, excellent food, and wonderful service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your awesome weekend. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped here on our way home from vacation. I recommend staying for more than 1 day so you can enjoy the amenities. The pools are large with private cabanas where you can enjoy some time out of the sun. There's a sandlot next to the Cabana bar so you can enjoy a lucious frozen concoction while watching the kids. I love the rooms,the balconies, the bed. Oh the bed! It's probably the most comfortable luxurious night's sleep I ever enjoyed. The soaps and other toiletries are above average and extras for presents can be purchased in the gift shop. Didn't eat onsite but the Bacara Bar is a great place for after dinner drinks (thanks Stephen!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with your family. I am so pleased to read your wonderful comments about our beautiful grounds, amenities and that you enjoyed our luxurious bedding. We hope to welcome you back soon for a longer visit.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

You can't beat the ocean view and sheer beauty of this facility, which is nestled right along the beach. Slight problems: TV had to be reset and the telephone wasout for two days. I would have wished for the right to park my own car: Valet parking is expensive and unnecessary.

Room Tip: No room is terrible, since the resort has created a wonderful atmosphere with landscaping. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. While I was so pleased to read your comments about our stunning location and room accommodations, I am sorry that your TV was not functioning properly. We hope that despite this, you will rejoin us in the future.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak View, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Bacara 2 times now. Both were excellent stays. From check in to check out. The views from the pool are incredible. The food at The Bistro is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable. The property itself is just beautiful. Be prepared to walk up and down some hills to get to your room. No high heels. On Sat. they had a flacon with a handler by the pool. He was a beautiful bird. My Husband and son were playing ping pong and the bird swooped by my sons head to get the ball. He loved it. We had a great 29th Anniversary at The Bacara. Thank You!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your most recent stay for your anniversary. Congratulations! As a repeat guest, your feedback is invaluable for not only for us but for people reading your review. Thank you. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our cuisine, accommodations and the beauty of our property. We hope to welcome you back soon for another visit.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

After 5 days in Disneyland this Aussie family needed some rnr & enter Bacara Resort. My Family of 6 were allocated 2 amazing rooms views over the pool & ocean views from the balcony. Thank you to the Front office manager for his room selection for us it was perfect. The Bistro meal on the first night was fantastic & the coffee shop at the hotel entry was also very good for a light breakfast. The best coffee we have found in the US so far & all staff have been very helpful. The pools are nice & warm & my children have enjoyed rabbit & squirrel spotting each morning/afternoon. We would definitely return & recommend to family who may come this way on holiday in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent family stay at Bacara. I was so happy to read you enjoyed your guest rooms, meals and service. We can’t wait to welcome your family back for another holiday in the future.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.