We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer & Save
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Goleta
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Time to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

After 5 days in Disneyland this Aussie family needed some rnr & enter Bacara Resort. My Family of 6 were allocated 2 amazing rooms views over the pool & ocean views from the balcony. Thank you to the Front office manager for his room selection for us it was perfect. The Bistro meal on the first night was fantastic & the coffee shop at the hotel entry was also very good for a light breakfast. The best coffee we have found in the US so far & all staff have been very helpful. The pools are nice & warm & my children have enjoyed rabbit & squirrel spotting each morning/afternoon. We would definitely return & recommend to family who may come this way on holiday in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent family stay at Bacara. I was so happy to read you enjoyed your guest rooms, meals and service. We can’t wait to welcome your family back for another holiday in the future.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    194
    126
    111
    107
See reviews for
240
461
16
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Bacara Resort & Spa was incredible!! The Staff was great because they catered to their guest. I can not wait to go back to enjoy more of the amenities. The Staff was very good to the guest. The resort provided a perfect place for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay. I loved reading that you found the resort incredible and the staff great. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future so that you can enjoy all that Bacara has to offer.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is a bit far from everything, but the amenities and the overall hotel itself are superior. The food was enjoyable and staff was helpful. My favorite part was the gym, where the manager (Norm) helped me with complementary advice on cutting edge fitness techniques. He even assessed my strengths and weaknesses. What a joy to have extraordinary customer service and this is a motivation to revisit. Although we live in town, we spent the night since we were going to drink at an event and wanted to just take a relaxing breather the next day. BTW, wife said the spa is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay-cation at Bacara. I loved reading that you enjoyed our amenities, food and overall hotel. Most importantly, I am happy to read about the excellent service that you received from Norm in our fitness center. We hope to welcome you and your wife back for many more visits to come. Hope to see you soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Overall we had a nice time at the Bacara, but I will likely choose another property on our next visit. They were overbooked the first night of our four night stay and were very professional and accommodated us appropriately at another hotel. They really went out of their way to make us happy due to the overbooking situation. We were upgraded at checking (which was early) and given a larger room with a great view. They were being really great with everything, but the first room they placed us in was really unacceptable. It was very musty and smelly, everything was dirty. The minibar was broken and had mold on the inside. The bathroom had obviously had some sort of backup issue that was fixed and left the floors stained. I called the front desk and told them about my issues with the room. I suggested he come see if the room was acceptable for himself, but instead decided to try and fix it. They sent a refrigerator and housekeeping to clean the beach sand and grime of the floors which was great because my one-year old is still crawling. Our bags took a long time to get the room and I was too tired from moving hotels and dealing with issues to ask for a room move and decided to ask in the morning. (room 2-217)
When I got back from breakfast the next day, I mentioned my issues with the room to the tall man at the front desk (shaved head, very nice) and before I really said anything specific without hesitation very quickly he checked and said he had a room for me to move to right away. Wow, great! Very unexpected after yesterday. I was nervous the move wouldn't be worth the effort with all the baby stuff (crib & bags). What if the new room was just as bad? He had Thomas show me the new room and it was MUCH better. It was very clean and no smell!

Thomas quickly helped us with our bags and got us settled. He even called to get the crib over quickly since it was getting close to nap time for baby. The help was much appreciated since my husband was at a conference that day. So a rocky start, but the hotel staff that helped me the second day was FANTASTIC!
I had family visit and stay in the hotel and they were always given rooms very close to us.

== FOOD ==
So I had some very good experiences with food and some not good.
YES!
Bistro shrimp cocktail
Room service menu from entree selection

NO!
Other room service
Bistro fish tacos
Bistro dining in general, very slow service

I suspect the entrees from the menu came from the Miro kitchen because they where crazy better than anything I had at the Bistro or lunch items we had from room service. Even though it's a small selection stick to the entree section.

I didn't go but they had a very fun looking movie night. The reviews that complain about the tar really annoy me. They have signs posted and the tar is naturally occurring on the beach. It will come off with a little baby oil. (former local tip)

I really went back and forth between 3 & 4 stars, but they made it right and my family had a nice time.

Room Tip: Top floors have great views and high ceilings. Families would like being close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed account of your recent stay. While I was disappointed to see that your stay got off to a rocky start, I was pleased to read that our front office manager and Thomas were able to right that wrong. I have contacted you privately so that I can personally follow up with your feedback. Thank you for your time and we hope that you will reconsider and return to Bacara in the future. I know we are very capable of meeting the public's highest standards.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This trip was remarkable and the staff and the grounds inabled me to "blow the socks off" my wife during part of our 8 day, 15 year Wedding Anniversary Tour through California beginning in Napa, then Big Sur, Hearst, and finally ending in SB (at Bacara). BTW - The SB Airport is awesome! The staff at Bacara was extremely polite and the grounds - wonderful. I highly recommend taking advantage of the Spa and all it has to offer. My wife took advantage of the "Buff on the Bluff" session and loved it! Great food, great place, and great service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay for your 15th wedding anniversary. Congratulations! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our excellent cuisine, grounds and service. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Bacara on a business trip and found the unexpected. The resort is visually beautiful in September with a multitude of blooming flowers that waft their scent on gentle breezes. A burbling fountain provides the background to time on the balcony of my room. All of this has made what I expected to be an arduous coast to coast trip relaxing. The biggest surprise was Norm, the trainer in the health club, who showed me new exercises and stretches that left me feeling better than usual after a workout and that I expect will be a gift that keeps on giving by the time ski season comes around.

Room Tip: A courtyard balcony with a fountain bellow provides a wonderful setting for thought and conversation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a descriptive review about your recent business trip to Bacara. I was delighted to read that you found our resort beautiful, but more importantly your kind comments about Norm. We hope that after ski season, you return again for another relaxing trip.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladue, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our room was fabulous; beautiful and calming and immaculate. The service was top drawer with an immediate response to our requests, despite the fact that there were large weddings occurring during our stay. Impressive! The choice of types of food was varied and the restaurants were excellent. We spent a Sunday evening sharing a bottle of wine at an uncrowded venue overlooking the Pacific. The Mediterranean climate and vistas reminded us of Italy. We left relaxed, rejuvenated and in great spirits.....the purpose of our getaway from St. Louis. Now if we could only find a way to take the LAX experience out of our next visit!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful atmosphere, excellent service and dining experiences. You can eliminate LAX, fly through Santa Barbara Airport. There are many easy connections and only minutes from Bacara. We hope to welcome you back for another rejuvenating trip again soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Bacara Hotel
Bacara Resort
Bacara
Bacara Resort Spa
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
#3 Family Hotel in Goleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.