We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great couples retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great couples retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed property with a very posh appearance. Each room has outdoor space that we could see and it is comfortable to sit out with privacy the way the resort is designed. The bottle of wine they welcome you with is quite pleasant. The room product is fantastic and the mahogany doors are a feature not seen anywhere else. This is a great property for couples but the crowd there is not very kid friendly even though the pool is. Service at the pool is outstanding. The beach needs someone cleaning up the washed up kelp...we were run off by the bugs enjoying the decaying kelp. Overall, an amazing resort for couples and spa retreats.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice but cooler. If you like warmth choose an inside room to get out of the sea breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay. Our beach is a beautiful ecosystem and in order to maintain its natural beauty and habitat for endangered species nearby, we do not disturb the beach. I apologize about the Kelp and hope this helps you understand why. We hope to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our beautiful property and service.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    227
    162
    129
    120
See reviews for
300
577
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and grounds. The pool staff was awesome and very accommodating
The food was good but kind of pricey, wish they had more restaurants at the resort to chose from but did notice a new bistro was opening in September. But for this size of a resort which is also secluded there should be more options.
We did have some service issues which included the following; calling 3 times to get the bottle of wine that I paided for when I booked our reservation I thought was excessive, they seem very frugal with soap and shampoo, 1 bottle of shampoo and a small bar of soap for a family of four is not enough, let alone trying to get some more takes and act of god. My husband finally tracked someone down. Our tv was not working properly one night and dialing there at-your-service button...we got no answer ( I wasnt surprised). We finally sent our son to the front desk to have someone come down....thought problem on tv was fixed but it was not!!!!
I also love dogs but having dogs in the pool area and restaurant terrace was a big turn off, we also had a dog in the room next to us who was always out back in patio, one of my children is scared of dogs and would never go back on grass area to run around because they always had dog out...
We have traveled to many hotel with the kids and without (at varies price points) and i just felt their service needs some impovement!!
Would i come back and give them a second chance probably But without the kid's.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, friendly staff and delicious food. I happy to report that we re-opened The Bistro this past week and now offer four different dining options for you to select from. I am sorry that its closure affected your stay. We are a pet friendly hotel, however, dogs should never be allowed at our pool area and I will follow up on my end to ensure that this does not happen again. I am thrilled to read that you will return and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, OK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have to say it is frustrating to walk and walk and walk to get to your room even if the grounds are gorgeous! My room was on third floor in Villa 9, overlooking the pool. Great location, fireplace, very comfortable bed, cozy room. Dinner? Leave something in the car? Walk, walk, walk, up the steep hill around a curve, climb some stairs, is this boot camp? I won't be back to the Bacara.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you found our location great and that you enjoyed our accommodations. Bacara sprawls over 78 pristine beachfront acres. I am happy to say that most of our guests enjoy our sweeping property. I am sorry that you felt differently. We do offer jitney rides from your room to anywhere on property. Next time you visit, and I sincerely hope you do, you can call and ask for a ride. Hope to see you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Be aware of a great resort, but cant walk on the beach, tar will take over your body. food is small portion and expensive, not enough wait staff to accommodate numbers at hotel, surprisingly lots of children, so expect noise. isnt trained on gluten allergies

Room Tip: Love the rooms, very roomy, cozy, comfortable, bright and the fireplace added romance and ambiance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. I am happy to read that you found the resort to be great. Bacara dining has always been an area that we have excelled in and I am proud to say that we have won rave reviews for our service and cuisine locally and nationally. I am sorry that your experience was different than what most of our guests. As for the tar, we rest directly in front of the world’s second largest natural ocean seepage in the world. Tar is common all up and down the California Coastline and is a natural occurrence. We are happy to provide materials to remove the tar, clean your shoes as well as showers near our beach entrance. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having gone to college at UCSB, I had always wanted to visit this pristine stretch of beach. It was always difficult to access...but now this beautiful hotel gives us all access to a place that reminds me of old California. The walks around the grounds are lush, inviting, and safe. One sees no one else, as the location is quite secluded. The pools are magnificent and inviting. Other guests were welcoming, and delightful. Staff was universally available, and kind. The food at Miro was so good we ate both lunch and dinner there. Admittedly, it would be difficult if one wanted to have access to Santa Barbara's fine restaurants, as the distance to SB is rather daunting. But if one wishes a time "away" then Bacara is perfect. The patio off the cocktail lounge offers warm fire-pits, and a wonderful drinks. Their menu is appealing as well. We spent hours on the room's large patio just enjoying the birds in the tree outside our room.
One of the most tranquil vacations we have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay. We love welcoming back our Gaucho Alumni and I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another tranquil vacation.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for my anniversary over 4th of July weekend 2012.
Big Beautiful hotel, but service isn't really there... you are paying only for location and grandeur and they nickel and dime you for everything.
Decided to get a light breakfast so stopped by the spa for yogurt and cereal...
Served on a tray, a small box of cereal and pre-packed yogurt (to be expected in the spa... not the restaurant, so this is ok by me) but to charge $15 for it is a little ridiculous.... I get resort prices, but c'mon.
Pool staff was great and the location is amazing... walking down the beach was spectacular and golf is nearby.

Valet's were a little odd though... can't remember exactly what happened, but I remember they said something or did something that had my wife and I a little put off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay from last year. I was pleased to read you found the resort to be beautiful, our location amazing and our pool staff great. Since you were here a year ago, our Spa Café now serves full breakfast and lunch and no longer offers grab and go type of service. We would love to welcome you back to enjoy breakfast or lunch there. It has been too long, come back and visit us!

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There's no denying it, the hotel and the grounds are just simply gorgeous. It is really well maintained, and the pool area is stunning.

The food at Miro was delicious. We found that the food at dinner was much better than at lunch, though we're not sure if this was down to the chef or to the menu. Lunch was decent but the dinners were sublime.

But Bacara does not get the full five stars because it fails on service. It was really hit or miss. We found that the staff at Miro were fantastic, reliable and consistently good, and the lady who tends to the spa was great. On the negative side, other members of staff would promise a service and never show up for it. The staff manning reception were less than satisfactory, not seeming to be very well-informed nor friendly. Small things like the missing bottles of complimentary water in our room just shows that Bacara still needs to polish up a bit before it can really claim to be a true five-star hotel offering a five-star experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. It was wonderful to read that you found the hotel and grounds gorgeous, food at Miró sublime and the service there fantastic. I am sorry that we fell short in all areas of your stay. Reviews such as yours help us to improve and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that despite these few setbacks you will return to Bacara. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#3 Family Hotel in Goleta
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.