We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations and wonderful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy a night on us!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Goleta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice accommodations and wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. The spa was fantastic, love being on the ocean and just close enough to Santa Barbara. The restaurants we very good and the staff was very accommodating. The only concern was watch getting tar on your feet when walking on the beach however they provide tar remover in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Bacara. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the Spa, Restaurants and most importantly the service from our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Bacara soon.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    738
    216
    146
    125
    114
See reviews for
286
542
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best resort for the money in Santa Barbara. Higlights are great pool overlooking the ocean with plenty of lounge areas. Private cabanas equipped with a TV and minibar/fridge are available for privacy or families. Excellent service throughout from wait staff at pool to multiple restaurants. Rooms area spacious but are highly varied based on where you are on the property. Arrive early to scope out a good room. Beach and tennis courts are superb. There's even a beach house that was not open (too early in season) but would be terrific in Summer. Great spa with the best fitness room you've ever seen in a resort/hotel. More machines than ever and a true weight room! Have fun!

Room Tip: Arrive early to scope out a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I was so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our Pool & Cabana area. We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can experience all the amenities that we offer through our Beach House, which is open during the Summer.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had a good time at Bacara. 3 nights stay. The good... Beautiful grounds, excellent desk and valet staff, ocean view, clean rooms. The just ok... Lots of big events in public spaces. i was told i would have to walk WAAY around the property to get to my room which was a quick step through the patio because of an event by someone not affiliated with the hotel. Better direction or accommodation would be best. No one from the hotel was directing guests or offering assistance. Construction was well managed and not a big deal (progress). wait staff was decent. Prices were steep for F&B and rooms. It's far from Sb and cabs take 15-30 minutes to arrive. A cab ride is $40-50. For 5 star resort a better way to transport guests would be a nice touch. Not many services at all near by. The bad... Our room was on the road side and our bedroom window was apparently made of tissue. i inspected it thoroughly to be closed but it sounded completely open as road noise, birds, peoples voices sounded as if they were right in the room (too noisy to sleep well). All in all it was a good/average stay hence the 3 stars. I have had a more lux stay at simpler properties. it is also a big property and the hands on service gets a little watered down. i will say, the valet staff were the most outstanding and professional. All other staff were good and competent. Would not be my first choice as a stand alone guest. looks more suited for large groups/conventions.

Room Tip: Not building 15 on the road side. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our lush landscaping, excellent service and ocean views. You are correct in your observation that ours is a secluded resort. For many of our guests, this is what makes Bacara so appealing. I was also very disappointed to see that you experienced excessive noise in your guestroom. Although we rarely get this complaint, I know how undermining it can be to the overall guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, staying for 2 nights. Based on other reviews, we requested a room away from the construction, and were explicitly told not too worry as there was no work on weekends. At 8am on Saturday morning, the construction started - why not just tell us the truth in the first place? The other issue is paying $30 a day for valet parking, when guests could easily park themselves. The Bacara is a beautiful resort, but for the price I was expecting a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay. I am extremely grateful you have shared your concerns with us. I have sent you a private message in order to be in touch and try to right a wrong. I hope to speak with you soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been to Bacara many times. We have brought may family members to stay at Baraca, too. It's a first class, luxury resort with the best spa in California by far. The staff, from management to every level of employees, is top notch. We are always greeted by valet attendants, who remembered us after our first trip there! Love the choices of pools, the cabanas, the food, the pool bar, the outdoor fireplaces and the stunningly beautiful, natural beach. We've recommended this place to many friends as well. Cannot write enough great things about Bacara. And it's only about 2 hours from LA. One other reviewer said it's "a little bit of Heaven." Couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Beth,

As a valued repeat guest, we appreciate your wonderful comments about Bacara. As someone who has experienced the resort many times, it gives a great account of the wonderful service and amenities that you continue to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

For quiet time and some of the most beautiful views in the world, Bacara is a treasure. The service was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly. The spa is gorgeous and very clean. The rooms are beautiful and very cozy & comfortable. There are hikes all around the property and plenty of activities to participate in if you'd like. Bacara is a lovely property. I will absolutely return to this little corner of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: if possible, try to reserve an ocean view. Well worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Tracy G, we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Built on the sight of an old indian burial ground, ironically, the Bacara possesses no soul. My wife and I recently spent a weekend at this Santa Barbara hotel for our niece's wedding. From the lackluster greeting from the valet ( I said hello first) to our room not being ready at 4 (check in was at 4...check out at 12...how long does it take to clean a room) our introduction to this hotel was underwhelming at best. You may want to stop reading after the next sentence. As we were walking out of the lobby on our way to kill time waiting for our room, a rat scurried out of the lobby. Clearly it's room wasn't ready either. My wife and I (she saw the rat as well) decided to pretend nothing happened and joined some of the wedding party at Miro, one of the hotel's restaurants. The food was fine and flavorful. However the restaurant itself had the ambiance of an airport lounge. The room itself was virtually empty and although there were 14 of us in our party there was only one waitress assigned to our table. Seriously? She did the best she could but what a stupid way to run a restaurant. It took two hours for all of us to order, be served and finally pay. The good news is by then our rooms were finally ready. The bad news was the wedding dinner was in 45 minutes. Now for the rooms. The exterior of the hotel is very pretty. Like a Disney version of the Santa Barbara Biltmore which is the real deal. However, behind the Disneyesque facade is basically a Holiday Inn. No offense to Holiday Inns, it's just not what you expect for an expensive (parking is $30 a night) place. The rooms are perfectly fine (see photos). Unfortunately there is virtually no sound proofing so that we could even hear the neighbor as they slid hangars in their closet! Every time a hallway door slammed our room actually vibrated. The air-conditioning never worked properly although there are ceiling fans. There were no slippers. We left a note for housekeeping requesting them but it was ignored. Part of the problem seemed to be that while well intentioned, the majority of the house staff doesn't fully understand English. Having stayed at the Bacara's Santa Barbara competition (The Biltmore and The San Ysidro Ranch) I'm sorry to report that in this case, the Indian's have the last laugh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
There is no excuse for the series of problems you encountered during your stay. As you can see form previous TripAdvisor reviews, the vast majority of our guests truly love spending time here. To that end, I have sent you a private email so that we can resolve this matter directly with you.

The “Indians,” as you refer to them in your review, are actually the Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation. We take great pride in being stewards of their land and work closely with them.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;