We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, aromatic, excellent resort with incredible vistas.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy a night on us!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Goleta
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, aromatic, excellent resort with incredible vistas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This spa retreat is just beautiful! As a guest there really is no reason to leave. Good is wonderful, spa tranquil and classes fulfilling. Pool and ocean gorgeous. Rooms are small and not great but otherwise a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. I was so pleased to read that you had such a fulfilling Spa experience. We hope to welcome you back soon for another Spa retreat.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    209
    138
    118
    112
See reviews for
269
521
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As frequent guests of Bacara we have come to appreciate all the wonderful attributes of this resort. Having just spent the weekend there and knowing that the resort is under transition of ownership, we must admit we did not know what to expect. What we found is that this resort under the current management and the attention given to the guest from Ms. Taggert and every other member of the resort staff; is that this resort is taking personalized hospitality to a level that is rarely...rarely duplicated. Every aspect of this resort is at peak performance. The grounds are perfect, the staff is attentive, the buildings and rooms are immaculate. There are very few things in life that get better as time passes and in our experience resorts are never one of them. However this resort continues to impress in every way. This resort I am very pleased to say will be fantastic for many years to come, I have no doubt that this is due to the management and owners philosophy of having the best resort in California. Bacara is easily top five, for the simple fact that year after year it gets better and having visited top resorts in our area and beyond that cannot be said for many others. I highly recommend a visit to Bacara by any means, your mind body and soul will thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. As a valued repeat guest, your feedback is invaluable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bacara for another visit soon!

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Bacara for 3 days and couldn't have had a more spectacular stay. The reception team included a fabulous Valet team and reception team. Arrived on Friday just in time for a glorious Happy Hour with free flowing wine, exquisite cheeses and flamenco guitarist making the ambiance world class. My suite with an ocean view was nothing short of stunning.. Dinner at the ocean view Miro was Outstanding and if you have the fortune of our waiter "Kevin" ask for him. Kevin is amongst the finest advisors on menu selection, description and knowledge of wines to accompany the dinning experience that I can recall in my travels around the globe. Be sure to take advantage of the Spa treatments and playing on the clay tennis courts was amazing.

I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Bacara on a Sunday night for a quick weekend getaway. The front desk staff was awesome and was able to upgrade me to a partial ocean view room in building 9 with a small balcony. Amazing! She was very sweet after a long 4.5 hour drive from San Francisco and then wine tasting. The concierge set me up with a great dinner at Ca'dario downtown SB and they even brought out a dessert for the anniversary. I was so shocked and impressed at this excellent level of service I received.

Thank you Bacara and all your staff! I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for our Anniversary and loved it. We had champagne waiting in our room when we arrived, the room was really nice and very clean and had a ocean view, even though I only paid for garden view. This is a great place and worth the price, we ate at the Miro restaurant and loved it, they threw in a nice dessert as well.

All in all very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Arriving to this resort is like an escape to a Mediterranean paradise once you get through those gates. The property is beautiful, lush while over looking the pool, the back splash is the panoramic view of the ocean. In January I made a reservations for a feather and pet free room. Upon arrival and checking in, I validated my request with the front desk. When getting to my room - the room was not feather-free and I have terrible allergies. Instantly, I got on the phone with Kendrick in Guest Reception. Not only did Kendrick have housekeeping remove all of the items quickly, he personally met my husband and I at dinner later that evening and took care of our dining experience (The new sushi bar is amazing, with a live band). My husband and I try to get away locally every other month, and if it wasn't for Kendrick - we probably would not have returned to the resort. On our next visit to the Bacara, Kendrick was aware of our stay ahead of time, triple checked on making sure the room was feather-free/pet-free, upgraded the room, and generously sent a note with a bottle of wine up to our room. This kind of service is impeccable, classy, and as a result we have booked another stay 2 weeks later.
Needless to say the atmosphere/property, service, food/dining experience, spa, are at a 5 star standard or beyond. We will continue to return to this resort and refer friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Bacara Resort & Spa is paradise found and a superior stay from accommodations to location to exemplary service. We rented an ocean-front room and we thrilled to find the Bacara's idea of ocean-front and our idea of ocean-front were one in the same. There were no obstructions, no peeking out the side of our room straining our neck to see our ocean view...we were ON the ocean. The room was designed so that every window had a view of the ocean -- even the bathroom. Also, being located on a point and the way the other rooms were situated, we could not see any other room. It felt very private.

The room itself is very large and exquisite. We loved that the designer showed restraint in the accessories and limited even the pictures on the wall (there was one) as the view is the art. Everything in the room was designed for comfort, luxury, relaxation and centered on the fantastic view. The fireplace in our room produced such great heat that we were able to leave it on overnight and open our door to our patio to hear the waves crashing just beyond the dunes. In a bit of good luck, we had a nearly full moon so we were able to watch the waves rolling in as well as hear them.

The property itself is gorgeous. Every pathway is lighted, clean, level. The landscaping is lush and perfect. The pool area is truly breathtaking and our only disappointment is that we were not there is warmer weather to be able to take advantage of the pool and it's unbelievable cabana area.

We had room service deliver our breakfast in the morning. Promptly on time, the server laid out a beautiful arrangement on our back patio inclusive of flowers and tablecloth with everything well within our reach. With our view, we can't imagine there was any reason to go to the dining area. The choices for room service were varied and anything you could want was on the menu. Upon completing our breakfast, we called to have the table cleared and someone was sent immediately.

There is just not enough that can be said about the Bacara. It is one of the most outstanding resorts in which we've ever stayed and we can't wait to return. Everything was five-star perfection and they truly understand a level of service we haven't found too often in our travels. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the upgrade in price. You wont' believe anyone else is on the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.