We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In LOVE with Bacara!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at the Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In LOVE with Bacara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a gorgeous place! How unfortunate we were there for only one night because everything was so lovely! We were there for the wedding of a dear friends on 12/12/12. Every aspect of the wedding was beautiful! No detail was missed!

Staff was fabulous. You really felt pampered.

The hotel's lush grounds complement the beauty of the ocean setting, you can hear the ocean talk in the rooms and common areas. If you want a simply unforgettable and elegant atmosphere with taste, this hotel would be your dream.

The room was spacious, well-appointed, nicely laid out with soft sheets, comfortable bedding and a peaceful balcony.

Hope to make my way back to Bacara real soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer.
How fun to be married on 12-12-12! We actually had a few weddings that day. Bacara is truly a perfect place for all occasions.

We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    250
    174
    133
    120
See reviews for
320
636
34
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a weekend getaway to Bacara...WOW! From the moment you pull into the arrival courtyard you know you are in a special place.

The entire staff have a genuine desire to show you they care and make your stay memorable without being obtrusive or robotic.

We checked in on Friday and got to our Partial Ocean view room and knew we made a good decision to stay here because we could hear the waves crashing as soon as we opened our balcony door. What an amazing view this place has of the Santa Barbara coastline.

From drinks in the Bacara Bar, service at the pool, breakfast in Miro, this is one of the finest resorts in the country and you should do yourself a favor and book a weekend stay to see for yourself. Also, rubbing elbows with some Hollywood elite which I hear is pretty commonplace at Bacara is an added bonus.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took advantage of the quiet season in Santa Barbara. And we're so happy we did.
From check in to check out, everything at Bacara was great. The front desk agent that checked us in was pleasant and took the time to select a room that we would really enjoy. The hot apple cider was a nice way to set the mood too!

The room was excellent. Working fireplace even!

Housekeeping was perfect and valet (particularly Jeff... who drove us to dinner at Miro) was so friendly and accommodating.

Even room service breakfast, which is often difficult in properties like this, was tasty and very nicely presented.

Thank you to the whole team for a wonderful midweek escape from LA!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am so pleased to read of your wonderful experience at the resort. It is indeed, that perfect getaway from the big city-and without having to travel too far.

We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a beautiful place, but not one that I will revisit. Our room was nice, but not special. The view was of roof tops, the doors slammed early in the morning, and the walk to the front for the car was an uphill hike. The bathroom was the best - nice linens, great shower and a dedicated tub. The parking charge was extreme, but the valets were the most friendly of the staff, unlike the desk clerks. We were there to explore the wine country, and this was a bit far for our needs. The pool area was very pretty and we wished we had time to try it out even it the air was a bit chilly. The honor bar in the room was more than a bit pricey. The room was very clean, had a balcony, no fireplace, and people nicely answered any questions we had. We just didn't get the vibe of "glad you are here" type service from such a resort, thus the reason we were underwhelmed by this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I spent two night at the Bacara! One of the most fabulous resorts I have stayed. It is on the same track as a Ritz but more beautiful. The rooms are totally beautiful with tile floors, fireplaces huge spa tub and his and her dressing rooms. Bath products are from the Fresh line, which are very good. The grounds are stunning, the spa wonderful, lives up to its reputation. The staff could not be more helpful and kind. This is my favorite get a way in beautiful Santa Barbara!!!!! HIghly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade and request a room near the beach. Its worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took my girl to Bacara last weekend. Scored HUGE points :)

We drove up from L.A. (90 mins to Santa Barabra and, maybe, another 15 to Bacara) and stopped first at the (also amazing) Four Seaons in SB for lunch & cocktails outside looking at the ocean (more about this in my Four Seasons review).

Next stop was the urban wine trail in SB starting in the "Funk Zone" right down by the ocean (also an amazing experience!), followed by a stop at the Boat House for drinks and apps at sunset (will try to review them too!)

When we finally got to Bacara, we were greeted by very friendly (albeit expensive!) valet parking ($30/night), doorman & reception. All top-notch. Then we were each given a free glass of champagne (which was quite lovely - not the cheap stuff we expected!). We stayed in the bar patio area ALL night by our own private fire... snuggled deep in the couch with an outdoor heater and complimentary blanket offered by our excellent waiter.

I could go on about this place - and our moonlit dip in one of the fabulous pools - but that will have to be left to your imagination.

Wonderful spot right on the beach, even in late Fall!

Oh... and we went wine tasting in the nearby Santa Ynez valley the next day and there are like a dozen vineyards that offer FREE tastings when you show your Bacara room key (see Concierge for list and map!) Tastings normally run $10-$15 at each vineyard, so this is a great perk of being a Bacara guest!




This is a great resort!

Room Tip: Book directly through hotel and get the package that includes breakfast each day for like $40 more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When my husband and I arrived, exhausted, a 1/2 before check in time, our room wasn't ready. Only 1/2 after check in time, it was. While a wait is never enjoyable that was our only disappointment. The room was very spacious, extremly comfortable with a luxurious bathroom and private balcony. Beautiful. There is a short walk to the pool. From the top of the steps, you have a spectacular view of the pool, beach and ocean. Loved the private cabanas. Seated at the pool lounge chairs, you have amazing vistas of the ocean, perfect to watch the dolphins jumping. The prestine beach goes on forever, making for an amazing walk or jog. There are rough hiddens paths from the beach to the hill top that are well worth the climb to observe the breathtaking views. The spa and fitness facilites are first class. We had a wonderful dinner at Miro and an excellent breakfast. The perfect place to take in the scenery. A nearby golf course, Sandpiper, also offered gorgeous ocean and moutain views. Off the shore in the distance, there are some oil rigs. While it does take away from the peaceful natural surrounding, they are light up at night which added to the evening ambiance. The staff was courtious, helpful, and informative with directions, resturants and local area highlights. We had a great time wine tasting and eating too much. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.