We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!!! A little slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!!! A little slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Beautiful, serene, elegant surroundings. Staff are eager to please .... From the doormen/valet and wait-staff, up to and most notably the concierge who was very helpful in recommending top notch restaurants, providing direction cards, and making reservations. There were 3 weddings taking place during the weekend of our visit, and it was very idyllic. The resort seemed to have a great vibe of happiness. We stayed in an ocean suite which included balconies, a gas fireplace, a wonderful tub from which you can soak and watch tv...and a great makeup mirror with a light! The view from the balcony is breathtaking as the sun rises, and you can see and hear the crash of the waves. The bed was uber comfortable. In fact our room was so comfortable we were tempted to just stay in to enjoy the luxury after having spent several enjoyable days golfing. All in all.... Very luxurious. Very fun. Great location right on the water. Short drives into Santa Barbara, and Montecito. Great golf courses closeby. Easy to get around. Definitely not to be missed. We will definitely visit again in future,

Room Tip: Ocean view is definitely worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just stayed at the Bacara over Thanksgiving and had a fantastic stay! We travelled with my elderly father who was in a wheelchair and needed a lot of help to get around. All of the staff at the Bacara were very accommodating and helpful. A housekeeping golf crew saw me struggling with the wheelchair and stopped to help and transport us where we needed to go. The rooms we had were lovely and met all of the requests we had for ADA needs, etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There is some construction going on near the pool areas so I recommend requesting a room in the rece...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect place to relax and refresh. Small, cozy and private but with incredible luxury and service. Quietly tucked into a hillside overlooking a pristine beach and the ocean. I highly recommend everything on the menu but especially the Sunday Brunch. It may be the best I have ever had. From the minute they unload and park your car to the time they repack it and you drive way the experience is top notch. all of the staff were magnificent especially the valet, spa and general manager who sent a personal welcome note. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a beautiful place; right on the beach near Santa Barbara with luxury galore. The service was impeccable, easy to get in and out of, with a golf course next to it and a tennis center. There is a lot of construction going on, with major renovations, but overall we would go back. Even a Costco close by, which is always a plus for us! Goleta also had a couple of open air fruit and veggie markets a week,which we love.

Room Tip: Get one of the villas if you can....wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went for relaxation and rejuvenation..exactly what I was looking for and more! The accommodations are superb and Shana Ominsky the Spa Director was incredibly helpful when choosing which spa therapies (yes I treated myself!) would work best for me. She was generous with her time, and after having a most incredible swedish sports massage, facial, and the hot oil scalp treatment (divine) I lounged by the spa pool after with a lovely local crisp chardonnay. It was all so fantastic. When you go, ask to see Shana or talk to her before your arrival..Bacara spa is a little trip to heaven! Thanks Bacara staff and Shana Ominsky. I can't wait to come back..for the hot stone therapy massage! And they also have great yoga classes:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 Star review of Bacara! And in particular, our world class Spa. We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful experience and we do hope you will return often.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel is beautiful....pool area.. Restaurants. Service was 50/50... Manager of Hotel, Manager of restaurant, girls at pool bar were terrific! Very welcoming and genuine. Others were exact opposite... Front desk at checkout very apathetic, bartenders a bit too snobby, thus not relaxing and inviting. Bed not very comfortable with extremely heavy comforter that did not fit the climate there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Bacara. While I am glad to read you had a wonderful visit-I was disappointed to learn that you had some issues with our staff. Please know that your comments are so very helpful and your feedback is important to us. We use this information to train and retrain our staff.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here along our trip up the coast. I was so excited to stay here after wanting to stay here for years after hearing so much about it. Anyway sadly to say we were less than impressed by this hotel.
We arrived right at check in time and our room wasnt ready. So we decided to go to lunch at the hotel. The lunch was very good here! We both ordered sandwhiches which were so amazing especially the grilled chicken. However, the glasss of wine was $17 on their lunch menu! We thought maybe it was a mistake on their menu. Needless to say we skipped having a glass of wine here. Anyway then after some time we get a call saying our room is ready. We were put on the very far side of the resort and outside our room was very very noisy. We were right next to a big group of people hanging outside the grass area and we also heard a lot of traffic noise and horns. It was really awful and the room didnt have a view which they said it would. Anyway we quickly changed rooms as it was much too loud outside. The next room was a lot better, very close to their pool. The resort itself was very beautiful, especially the pool area! However, the rooms were less than impressive being old and worn looking. Another downside to this hotel was that it was so huge and too spread out. Way too big for me and I tend to like bigger places. It took a lot of time walking from place to place around the resort.
That night we had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant Miro. Amazing views and amazing food!! A very beautiful and romantic restaurant! I would suggest going here at sunset time. We thought by far Miro was the best part of this hotel stay. The beach on the hotel is also great for a stroll before or after having dinner here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments. I am glad to read that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort. Our food and beverage offerings are most definitely a highlight for our world class resort. We hope you will come back to see us. Please also know that while we are on 80 acres, we do have golf carts always available to come get you!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
12.2 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
15.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing