We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to re-charge and feel pampered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bacara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bacara Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Gift of Indulgence
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place to re-charge and feel pampered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Ahh, finally had a chance to stay at this wonderful place. Excellent visit that re-charged my batteries!! Plenty of options for relaxing - room, patio/balcony, pools, spa, beach (low-tide walk), fireplace, etc. Every interaction with staff was positive - they were there when we needed help, but otherwise very professional and unobtrusive. The room was quiet and included wonderful amenities: robes, slippers, candles, good smelling products, ipod docking station, tv (including cable guide and LOTS of free movie choices), wifi, relaxing/deep tub, etc. Other reviews mention dated rooms, but ours must have been a new one. Never heard any neighbors, stayed on the 3rd floor. Wide variety of fresh, healthy dining options. Room service was fast. Lunch at the Spa Cafe was delicious. Lots of fitness options - big gym with cardio machines & weights. Plus, pilates classes. Outdoor cardio/sculpting class with Barbara was tough and fun! Would have loved to get a spa treatment, but too pricey. Very quick and easy to get to downtown Santa Barbara (15-20 min drive), but just wanted to stay relaxing at the resort!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    301
    189
    142
    123
See reviews for
376
728
38
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Spanish style resort comprises of a moltitude of houses and buildings immersed in an exotic/Mediterranean vegetation on the bluffs of Goleta, a town a few miles north of Santa Barbara.
The whole resort, despite having families with kids, is very quiet and peaceful. The staff is extremely kind and happy to make your stay special (Francisco by the pool is a real expert) and the location is very convenient: 15 minutes from downtown Santa barbara and right on the ocean.
I've gone to Cabo once to seek similar type of getaway and I have to say, if you are lucky with the weather, this isn't any less than Mexico. Also, we got a beautiful warm sun in November which is a privilege.
Strenghts: pool area, nature, staff, balcony/terrace in every room.
weaknesses: you want my money and I get it. can't charge $30 valet parking a day and not give me the choice to self parking.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed there 4 times and always a grand relaxing time. Spa facilities are the best, treating all your needs. The grounds are well manicured and rooms are superb. All buildings are currently being updated. The valet staff seems to have gone done a bit, not being as organized and speedy as previously. Having a drink, appetizers in the bar is always nice. Have eaten at all the restaurants on the property, but seem to enjoy the meals better in town, but of course you have to drive, which is about 15 miles.

Room Tip: Don't forget late check out/early check in and upgrade. Use AMX for special inclusions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our fourth visit to this property. We've never been during the summer high season. Food was incredible. Staff was more than helpful. The room and patio were perfect. Spa treatments were spectacular. Only complaint was that the sun didn't come out much, but that's typical Central Coast weather. This property is on the Pacific Ocean, but it's not beachfront. This is because the California Coastal Commission made them create a preservation area before they could build the hotel. Also it's not in Santa Barbara. This is a place to park you car and not leave until you check out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I took my hubby here for a night for his birthday. We only had one night to stay but wished we couldve stayed longer to enjoy. We had an amazing couples massage. Dinner at Miro was incredible.
Cannnot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to the Bacara resort just outside Santa Barara for a night. If you want to indulge yourself with luxury, that's the place to stay. The staff is well mannered. Valet parking, a ride to your room which is luxurious, cosy and warm. Plenty of stuff to do, places to eat and drink. This place is a destination to itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. Nice architecture, food was good. The rooms are dated. Wicker furniture with broken branches, no wi-fi, tube TV, faded shutters. No signs througout the proerty espcially if you are attending events and at night when you can't see anything. My wife had a 80 minute massage and with tax and tip included it ws $302. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. We were there with 13 other couples. No one had anything nice to say about their rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodled room. We did but we still didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
12.2 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
13.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bacara Resort & Spa offers a luxurious hotel and family experience right outside Santa Barbara, California. Experience laid-back luxury and contemporary comfort at Bacara. Nestled on 78 magnificent beachfront acres, Bacara provides a vacation experience like no other. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, we’ll pamper you with dazzling facilities, suites and the incomparable Santa Barbara sun and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.