We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms with a few drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5490 Hollister Ave., Goleta, CA 93111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms with a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for one night. The resort is by the 101 but we did not notice any road noise. The site is well landscaped with attractive gardens. The room was large and well appointed with the towel elephant a nice touch. The access driveway into the hotel is easy to miss at night. There is nothing much in the local area so you need a car. We had dinner in the centre of town, so something more central might be better for 1 night. The breakfast area is small and was very crowded. There was a reasonable selection for breakfast, but it was annoying to have to order items like cereal parfait and toast and have to wait for them. Given the room size and breakfast, the hotel was reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    163
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
228
97
18
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you don't need to be in downtown Santa Barbara, then the Pacifica Suites offers a good, affordable option. Don't be fooled, it is not in Santa Barbara but in nearby Goleta. Still, it's a nice property with an attractive courtyard overlooked by the balconies. We had a poolside king suite on the second floor. Pacifica offers a nightly wine and appetizer reception which is a nice touch, as is the cooked-to-order breakfast (included in all room rates) and the free wi-fi. On our second morning, we were leaving early for a drive back to LAX and they packed our breakfast to go.

The kids enjoyed the heated pool. We were guests for New Years Eve and expected some noise from other rooms, we heard none at all. I would just check the quality of the pull-out next time as soon as I got to the room (the kids slept on the pull-out couch and complained about feeling the springs through a thin, warn-out mattress).Very good value for the money, especially if you take advantage of the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Central location in Goleta, 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara. There is not much around that you could walk to. If you want to walk to eat or shop, you will have to stay closer to downtown or along the harbor. Of course you may be paying the price.

Big room with separate living area and sleeping area. We got a room with king bed. With a double bed room, the suite could easily fit six. The bathroom is big with lots of towels and upgraded amenities. There are also two robes. The bed is comfy. The room is very clean.

This hotel is good for couples or family traveling. You see, breakfast is cooked for you every morning. Eggs, pancakes, coffee, milk, fruits, cereal are all included. Hospitality does not end there. As soon as we were checked in, the host at the reception could not wait to tell us about the wine reception on weekdays. We did not have a chance to check that out but we heard it features many local wine around the Central Coast. That sounds fantastic!

The buildings are two-storey with no elevators. If you stay on the second floor, be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs. The buildings are made of wood so when guests slam their doors you tend to get a big shake too.

There is no fitness center. At least we did not see one. But really, why stay indoor when you have the beautiful Santa Ynez valley with all the gorgeous trails.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificaSuitesGM335, General Manager at Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Our team takes pride in providing great value and service to our guests, and we are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our complimentary breakfast is a great value, especially for families, and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy our complimentary wine reception as well! Thank you again, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Tiffany Lesperance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I arrived on a sunday evening and the place felt deserted. I got a room facing the parking lot and the freeway and felt like I was completely isolated from everything. The hotel has no bar and no food. The suite is indeed large but you cannot walk to anything and what you can drive to is very limited. It is however minutes from La Sumida, my favorite nursery and just as close to a great fresh produce stand. I found a good little family Mexican restaurant in the neighborhood (grocery store anchor) shopping center, so it worked fine for me as it also close to UCSB which is where I was coming from. If you want a Santa Barbara beach and shops/restaurants experience, look somewhere else; this is Goleta and this place is right on the frontage Road.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool if you're coming to anything other than sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificaSuitesGM335, General Manager at Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear of any disappointment you found during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide an exceptional experience for each of our guests, and I regret that this was not achieved for you. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at tlesperance@pacificasuites.com.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Lesperance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nothing real fancy here, but very comfortable and convenient. Right by Route 101. For us, a one-night stop on way from SF Bay Area to Long Beach. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is great. Terrific value. We'll come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

There was a separate living area with couches, table and TV. Mattresses were soft in my opinion. The room looks clean but the overall hotel seems a little tired especially the bathroom/sink areas. Rooms are spread out in the property like a resort.

Morning breakfast was cooked to order. You check the options you want on an order form and hand it to the cook. There's the usual pastries, yogurt, fruits, juices and coffee.

I would stay there again if I was in the Santa Barbara area again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2-night stay here. We loved the location: tucked away yet right next to 101. The rooms were really clean and the beds were comfortable. The best things was both kids slept well. Also, the breakfast was great with the hot made-to-order format. Never seen that before. The only glitch was we had to sit outside on a cold morning with the kids to eat the first day we were there. We figured that we were probably a little late and the dining room was full. So if you travel during winter and want to sit in the cozy dining room instead of outside, plan to get there by 7am or 8am max. To be fair, one of the outdoor seating did have a patio heater but we were not lucky enough to sit by it. Oh and the next morning we did sit inside and loved our breakfast! Their awesome coffee machine made the perfect latte and amazing hot chocolate. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara

Address: 5490 Hollister Ave., Goleta, CA 93111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Family Hotel in Goleta
#2 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a grand property anchored by the historic Sexton House and exotic plants and flowers and stay within easy access of area attractions, beaches and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Pacifica Hotel Santa Barbara
Pacifica Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.