We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Pepper

Red Pepper
282 Orange Ave., Goleta, CA
(805) 964-0995
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 118 Restaurants in Goleta
Restaurant details
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Red Pepper is tucked away on a back street in Old Town Goleta, and parking in the small lot can be challenging. But the food is really good at this family-owned restaurant and the prices are very reasonable. The decor is quite plain, but it is comfortable. When the place is full--which is likely during lunch on a weekday--it can be noisy. But you're there for really tasty food served by nice people who are happy to respond to your particular requests. IMHO the food is worth 5 stars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Real treasures are sometimes hard to find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

You will have to look carefully to locate the Red Pepper. Find Orange Ave on the north end of Old Town Goleta, turn in, then go slowly down to the end of that block and you will spot the Red Pepper name high on the left side. There is some parking in it's lot but not much. You will find the door propped open with a citrus fruit in the Chinese fashion. There are booths as well as tables inside with comfortable seating. You may have to wait a bit as it is a popular place.
Once you are seated a small tasty salad is set before you. Then, as you peruse the menu, a delicious bowl of Chinese soup arrives. You actually receive two menus, one with about one dozen daily specials and the other much longer. About this time a pot of excellent tea is also set on the table. Lynda decided on the combination chow mein dish and I ordered a basil scallops and shrimp. We enjoyed our soup and tea while waiting for these to arrive. Lynda's dish was quite a large one with shrimp and other additions to the normal rice chow mein you get. My dish was also very generous with a mound of excellent rice next to the mix of shrimp, scallops, green beans, baby spinach and mushrooms. All in all a very fine experience of Chinese dining! It's a very busy place and today we were again reminded why. And all the extras you receive are included in the check for just the two entrees. How 'bout that!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hole-in-the-wall goodness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's hard to get good chinese food in this area. When I'm craving won ton soup or a beef dish, this place hits the spot. It's a very unassuming and weird little place. But tasty and affordable!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our go to Chinese place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

When I want some flavor that says Hummm my wife and I go here.
I think we go at least once a month. Even just last night. I tried the Salt and Pepper Pork. Next time I will order 2 plates. I couldn't get my wife to stop eating my dinner.LOL

Like RngMma said, "it's worth the hunt", very well worth the effort to find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is tucked away in a simple little space between auto-body shops, but it's worth the hunt. Affordable and generously portioned specials and an excellent assortment of fresh and flavorful dishes. The pork szechuan and vegetable tofu soup are amazing! It's homestyle goodness served with a friendly smile, and sometimes a hug. Sue, the owner, is known to send you off with a smile, often a hug and sometimes an, "I love you!" Tell her you like something in particular, and she may even give you an extra serving, or send you home with recipe tips. Truly a hidden gem!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper also viewed

 

Been to Red Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Pepper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.