We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L. A. Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1437 E. Colorado St., Glendale, CA 91205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this Econo Lodge. We were delightfully surprised at the amenities and service: hair dryer, soaps, shampoo, etc, iron & full ironing board, free WiFi and parking, plus a large screen TV with cable. And then there was the clever breakfast which included juices, coffee & tea fixings, cereals, fresh baked goods with a toaster, a stack of current "USA Today"s, and make yourself Belgian waffles with real butter. In addition to the small dining area there is a roof-top patio.
The rooms were small but did have a small table and chairs - the "suites" were more ample. Only one car per room was permitted. There were lots of flowers in the limited space near the walkway, many in containers.
Over all this is a very acceptable economy option for Glendale.

Room Tip: If you would prefer more space, consider a suite - the location is also better, ie flowers in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Louise, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

First, I would stay here again. I was happy with it -- nothing fancy, but it met my needs.

That said, if you're looking for modern, all the bells and whistles, go elsewhere. It was clean - not immaculate, but fully acceptable. It was earthy colors, somewhat dated, but comfortable. There was a mini-fridge, cable TV, wireless internet, an iron, a microwave, beds, toilet, sink, shower, table & 2 chairs, dresser, end-table, desk & chair. The heat/a.c. was fine. I saw an ice machine. No pool/hot tub. If I were planning on staying in the room, it would have felt quite small by today's standards. As a place to sleep, shower, and dress -- and return at night to do it all again, it was sufficient.

The breakfast was choice of 2 cereals, English muffins, toast, mini-muffins, or a fresh made waffle with maple-flavor syrup. They didn't have decaf, but they did have juice, and I happened to have packed a few decaf tea bags of my own. It wasn't outstanding, but it carried us through to lunch.

The Patel family was warm and helpful, very nice people. We needed 2 rooms and the price was right. As I said, I'd go back. We had no issues. If you need modern, open space and other amenities and want to spend the day at a hotel, you probably should pay more. This was great as a "home base."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Rooms are bigger than hotels ! You get a guest nook area, toilet is separated from sink. Sink lavatory counter is big , you can actually treat is as table . Ref, microwave is provided. You have area to hang your clothes.

Breakfast is provided . Simple cereal , bread, pancake for the guests.
Wifi is free.
Outside inn are restaurants, chinese food etc...

Price- cheap, and compare to same price inns in nearby area, this is better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parts unknown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just returned from the Glendale/Pasadena area after attending the Rose Bowl. The location was perfect for us to attend numerous events. The king-suite hotel room itself was very clean/spacious and the bathroom appeared to have been recently remodeled. As expected nothing real fancy here however all our needs were met and between the grocery store across the street, fast food near by, and the Target store less than a mile away was very convenient. Staff was very cordial and friendly. Area also appeared to be very safe. All-in-all after anguishing locations to where to stay for the Rose Bowl we were extremely happy with this choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Gezer, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a hard time deciding where to stay in Glendale; I grew up there and we were just back in town for one night on family business. We needed someplace clean and wanted, of course, not to spend very much money. The reviews of reasonable places were mixed, and we changed our minds twice before settling on the Econo Lodge. Thankfully it turned out to be just what we wanted! The reception was easy and friendly, the room more than adequate, the location convenient to downtown, and surprisingly, it was quiet.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor close to the office, which was easy for luggage and yet was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because we are from out of town and we needed to visit family member in
the hospital. Reasonable priced, clean remodeled rooms, Better than average continental breakfast. Staff was very attentive. .Our entry door to the room was difficult to open and close. Parking was tight..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1437 E. Colorado St., Glendale, CA 91205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Glendale
Econo Lodge Glendale
Glendale Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.