We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat in the heart of Glendale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brandwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brandwood to your Saves list
Hotel Brandwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A treat in the heart of Glendale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are visiting Glendale, California, and want to be walking distance from the major restaurants, stores and shopping areas them I recommend you consider this delightful hotel. It's not your typical motel/hotel...not even close. It's what you would expect in a small hotel in a European city. There's no parking area in front or even a drop off area. They do have free parking on the 2nd floor of a parking garage directly behind. Reaching the lobby is a hike up a very long flight of stairs. Some of the rooms are 1 additional flight above the lobby. The rooms are small but very well appointed...very comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, free internet, and a very large bathroom with both a spa tub and walk in shower. I stayed 1 night to attend a family function being held a few blocks away. It was a joy to be able to walk to/from the event. In the morning I had breakfast at Portos's Bakery & Cafe. The owners are probably Cuban. I swear it's worth the 4 hr round trip drive from San Diego to eat there again. It's easy to see why Sunday morning it was jammed with people buying their incredible baked goods or for breakfast. Having lived in Puerto Rico for many years it was a joy to have Cuban coffee, quesitos, pan tostado, fresh squeezed OJ, and see many familiar items on the menu. There had many traditional American fare items on the menu and once again the cakes and pastries were incredible. There was a line of probably 30 people waiting to buy baked items to take out. They also have places in Burbank and Downey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
23
35
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was in LA for Buisness and was very lucky that i chose the Brandwood an booking.com.
Very quite, clean and friendly antique Hotel in Glendale. A perfect spot to reach every important corner of the city in aprx. 20min.
The Staff was very competant and friendly. The parking possibility was just right behind the hotel in a parking house!
I had a very pleasent stay at the Brandwood an can recommend it to all kind of travellers. I you are an older age or have walking problems book a room in the first floor, the house is propably to old for an elevator! Anyway, i recommend this place by heart!

Room Tip: 112, right next to the stairway to the backside, straight to the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This Hotel was an absolutely amazing find. Neatly hidden away in downtown Glendale it was right within walking distance of several great restaurants, cafés, bakeries, and shopping destinations such as the Americana at Brand. Even though there was no elevator to this second and third floor hotel the staff was very friendly and offered to carry all bags and luggages. The rooms were very cozy and clean, the perfect getaway after a long day out on the town. The first come first served complimentary parking provided worked out perfect for us since the peak hours, according to the front desk, were friday and saturday from 6:30pm - 10pm. By the time we got back there were plenty of spaces available. Our original reservation was for 3 nights and we decided to extend for an extra 2. The manager Jay complimentarily upgraded our room to a Deluxe Executive. Overall I would say that this hotel was an amazing find and for a great price, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The location of the Brandwood Hotel was great; just a short walk away from a wonderful bakery, used book store and the Americana at Brand outdoor mall, plus lots of good places to eat. (Including the jazz club below, where we had a good dinner and enjoyed the music).

Unfortunately, the hotel itself left a lot to be desired. The rooms were ridiculously small--no place to sit or to relax (except the bed) after a long day of sightseeing (we were in the area for the Rose Bowl Parade). The place had an artificial orange scent that pervaded everything; I think it was supposed to mask the underlying musty smell. We ended up sleeping with the window open because we couldn't stand the cloying odor.

I did know in advance that there wasn't an elevator, but I would never again stay in a place that doesn't have one. After walking all day, the last thing that I wanted to do was to walk up two very long flights of steps. This hotel desperately needs to be brought into the 21st century.

Staff was okay, but young, and didn't always give us good information.

I'd never stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a great location right in the down town area of Glendale. During my current stay in LA I needed to be based in Glendale and found this lovely hotel. Staff are amazing and it feels safe and family like The rooms are not large but comfortable and well appointed with a regal feel to them. All very affordable. I was helped by reviewers comments mind and did come armed with ear plugs. Also this is not a place for the immobile as there re a few stairs ( but not as many as I expected after reading the reviews)! Also I was pleasantly surprised by the charm of Glendale. Particularly the Americana precinct with its off road village festive feel and the galleria next door. Fantastic place to wander around and take in the many sensory experiences on offer here.

Room Tip: Several floors so if trouble with stairs then elect to stay lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel. Every piece of furniture is an antique. even the sink. We travel a lot and get tired of the same modern style. It is charming. Contrary to another reviews on this site, it smelled wonderful. My kids have always teased me about my smell complaints but this hotel was very clean.
The one staff member we meet was very nice, carried our luggage right to our room and didn't make us feel like he wanted a tip.
We rented this hotel because it is 7 miles from Universal Studios and a lot less expensive.
We will definitely come again. There are lots of stores, restaurants and bars close by that we can't wait to check out too.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was small. so if you tend to be claustrophobic ask for the biggest room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The smell in our room was moldy and musty. I know it's an old hotel, but it doesn't have to smell old too. We were hoping for a nice weekend stay, but the attitude of some of the staff members made this a bad experience (along with the smell). We won't be heading back to the Brandwood anytime soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brandwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandwood

Address: 339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brandwood 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at the historic Hotel Brandwood in the heart of Glendale, California. Our boutique hotel is ideal for guests who value a downtown location that is convenient for both leisure and business travelers. Stylish, European-style rooms provide intimacy and charm, and a full range of amenities including free parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Brandwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandwood Hotel Glendale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brandwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.