We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gennaro's Ristorante

Gennaro's Ristorante
1109 North Brand Boulevard, Glendale, CA 91202
818 243 6231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 401 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Best Italian food in Glendale. Now we're taking online orders from our website - Powered By Clorder
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Quiet and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very old school place. The service is slow however if your spending time with friends and not in a hurry you will appreciate Not being rushed. From 7-9 they have live piano music, there is a full bar, the bread is really good and the soup was amazing

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am picky about service and food. Especially if it's a special occasion. Gennaro's has seen it's ups and downs the last few years. I'm so happy that it is definitely on an up swing! My husband and I went to Gennaro's for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were served by Enrique. He is new and he is fantastic!!! He has personality, style, old world humor and confidence. His job is to make sure you leave happy and he takes his job seriously. He chose the Remoli Toscana 2011 wine for us. Deliciously smooth. He then chose a salad of spinach, pear and blue cheese which he split for us. We ordered the salmon and arichoke and also the scallops with capellini. Both were cooked to perfection. Gennaro's also had a wonderful Italian guitarist. He played and sang with a beautiful voice in Italian, French and Spanish. Very romantic, but not over the top at all. Simple and soothing. All in all it was a 10+ experience. This is not the Gennaro's of "last year". This new owner, Tony, partnered with waiters like Enrique and a chef that is excellent has brought this place back to life. Go and enjoy.. Fantastico!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“High priced, mediocre Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ever since the demise of Fresco many years ago, Glendale simply has not had a quality Italian restaurant. Simply put, this is uninspired and very mediocre Italian food. The pasta dishes I have eaten here were consistently bland. The veal and fish dishes were, at best, average. The restaurant continues to draw customers - my best guess is that they just don't want to drive the extra 20 minutes into L.A. for some vastly superior Italian fare. If you are not picky about the quality of your food, and do not mind paying very high prices, Gennaro's may suit you fine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

It has been while since my last visit to this great place, went there two days ago and everything is as i remember. Food is just to die for. If you are looking for a very intimate night out with your girlfriend or wife this is THE best place to be. Just call in advnace or just show up.. almost forgot - no parking issued like other restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Introduced some Korean and Korean-American folks to this place, and they all think it's the best Italian place they've ever been to and one of the best (if not the best) restaurant they've been to in the Glendale. In fact, I've been here 3 times in the past week due to out of town co-workers hearing about the raves, and I'm not tired of it (and I get tired of restaurants quickly).

That said, this really is a great place. Nice converted house atmosphere with a live piano music. Fresh ingredients--I often get the daily special (usually one pasta and one meat/fish item). Be sure to add a little cheese and pepper to the minestrone soup (Italian vegetable), and it's delicious. Also, best tiramisu ever, although I like some of the other desserts, too. This place is never full - 5 stars..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gennaro's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.