We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant ... just wish it were better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clancy's Crab Broiler

Clancy's Crab Broiler
219 N Central Ave, Glendale, CA 91203-2510
818-242-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 397 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good restaurant ... just wish it were better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have eaten at Clancy's many times over the past 10 years, which I guess speaks for itself. I have no great complaints. The seafood is consistently good but not great, and the service is consistently good but not great. Still, each time we have eaten here it reminds us why we don't come more frequently. Still, the atmosphere is fun - the maritime decor is anachronistic in a good way. And the prices are okay and servings are generous, though I was not happy spending $22 for a bowl of gumbo that was tasted so poor, not from its preparation, but just a bad recipe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great seafood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great seafood place in Glendale. All for of us had a different dish and we were all happy with it. The daily special - Wasabi crusted Salmon - was excellent. The decor was very fitting: Sawdust, fishing boat items etc.Thought the price was reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bargain of the Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lunch again today. Had the "Lobster Club Sandwich", shared with my wife. What an excellent change of pace. Sandwich was wonderful. Complemented with a bottle of wine. Our server, Lisa, was excellent; courteous, friendly, professional, and very helpful. A really great lunch for about $32 + tip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Glendale CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is hard to find a great seafood restaurant in the Glendale / Burbank area, but Clancy's wins my "best" vote! The decor is funky with sawdust on the floor, and fishing / nautical items on the walls and ceiling. The menu is diverse, offering items for different palates, appetites and wallets. One of my favorite items is the "Hook and Run" Special. Broiled salmon, with rice pilaf and steamed vegtables, served with my favorite lobster bisque and yummy warm sourdough bread! Makes my mouth water just to think about it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Steamed Clams & Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great ambiance. Sawdust on the floor. Good service. Reasonable prices. Quiet! We go there occasionally for lunch. Parking behind the restaurant is free at lunch time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Crab Broiler also viewed

 

Been to Clancy's Crab Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clancy's Crab Broiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.