We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Niente

Far Niente
204 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2610
(818) 242-3835
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Far Niente is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 396 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilson
Transit: Metro and Bee Line right in front of Restaurant.
USA
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wow is the food great here. I've always gone into the bar side for Happy Hour and that's always really good. EVERYTHING we had was top notch. First of all, the service is excellent! Excellent! This place is always busy and has quite a nice buzz inside- more of a romantic atmosphere than fun/hip type place. Nevertheless it's really nice.

The cocktails were all fantastic (thanks Francisco) and the calamari appetizer was about the best I've ever had. Just perfectly fried with a fantastic, savory tomato sauce. Very well-presented as well.

The salads served before the meal were excellent- not too much dressing, just right. It had great flavor. Our meals were all fantastic- the risotto, tortelloni and the pasta with red sauce. All were outstanding!

This is definitely a place to come back to many times!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

All I can say is I wish I could hop on a plane tonight for a fab dinner. I had diver scallops prepared in a light cream sauce and out of this world. Another party had the Sea Bass which is the best I have ever eaten. Our waiter was fun and engaging as well. Don't skip if in the area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“solid italian fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

this was our first time and had no expectations. just looking for a casual italian meal. our service was good. house salad rather bland and nothing special. our entrees were tasty and reasonably priced, but again nothing special. limited wine list, especially their italian wines, but what they had seemed fairly priced. we will keep it on our list when looking for a midweek casual italian meal.they had some interesting pasta dishes that we would like to try on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I rarely write an entirely negative review but my single experience at this restaurant was so bad, it deserves comment. I have never eaten at this restaurant. The reason is that the staff was so rude my husband and I left before we could have a meal there. We made reservations, arrived on time and let the staff know we were there. Then, we waited almost an hour, while two separate walk-in couples were seated ahead of us. We knew that they were walk-ins because we were standing at the entrance and listened to the conversations they had with the staff. Meanwhile, not one person took note that we were waiting. Perhaps if we had spoken up, they would have seated us earlier but there is no circumstance in which it is appropriate to ignore a customer standing in front of you who has bothered to make a reservation while you seat other people without reservations. We will never set foot in this place again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old-World Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This has a great old-school Italian restaurant vibe. Menu choices are varied and include a lot more than pasta. Wait staff are professional and attentive

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Niente also viewed

 

Been to Far Niente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Niente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.