We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto's Bakery & Cafe

Porto's Bakery & Cafe
315 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2303
(818) 956 5996
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 396 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Cuban, Dessert, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Delicious food at reasonable prices. We even brought some to keep us fueled while on our journey home!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    87
    23
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Good food. I got the beef torta. It was very good. I tried the grill chicken as well and it was tasty. I would love to go back and try the other items. They have a massive selection of baked goods such as croissants, cookies and eclairs. The seating is tough. You order at the counter and are given a number. Someone comes and drops off your food. The plantain chips that come with the sandwiches are really good too. Pretty good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Awful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Food is first class, but the staff behind the counter have perfected the art of totally ignoring the customer and talking to each other.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The best pastries in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The pastries are very light, fluffy and delicious. I like the ones with fruits on top. I can't say I don't like any of their cakes or pastries so far.. My friends and I love Porto's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this bakery/cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been going to Porto's for a couple of decades and it just keeps getting better. It has become so popular, it often has a long line but the counter service is very efficient. They make incredible Cuban items like ham croquetas and meat pies, delicious sandwiches and salads and heavenly pastries. The mango mousse cake is one of my favorites -- so light it nearly floats off the plate. The story behind Porto's is inspiring -- a family that came to the US from Cuba and started out by selling beautiful cakes from the back of a truck. They have expanded to 3 stores, in Glendale, Burbank and Downey. They are proof that doing something very well pays off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porto's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.