We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road to your Saves list
Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 San Fernando Rd., Glendale, CA 91201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little gem of a motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we booked a night at this motel when we came up to LA for a concert at the Greek Theater. We couldn't believe how great the motel was! The first thing that impressed us was an email welcoming us and giving us directions and the contact phone number of the general manager should we have any questions. Such caring customer service is practically unheard of these days!

Easy to find and freeway close. The grounds are well kept, lovely and welcoming flower beds greet you as you drive in. The motel is a cute 60s retro. Our large king room was surprisingly well appointed for such reasonably priced accommodations, amenities included a large, flat screen TV, whirlpool tub, small 'fridge and a microwave!

The bathroom had been recently upgraded with very nice stonework on floor and countertops. And the shower curtain was on one of those rods that curve outward, making your shower experience so much more pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the mattress in great shape, although not quite as firm as we like.

Our large room was very clean, did not smell of cleaners or disinfectants, and the AC worked beautifully. And although our upstairs room fronted a busy street, we had no problem at all with noise. They built motels a whole lot more solid and soundproof back in the day!

There's a little restaurant practically on the motel grounds that serves breakfast and lunch, It's a great place, good food at reasonable prices, good service. And the morning we were there, bottomless cups of coffee free with our breakfast!

And to top it all off, a couple days after our stay we got an email from the motel management thanking us for our patronage. These people really know how to get return business! We would heartily recommend this fine motel.

Room Tip: For a great king room, ask for Room 200!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
20
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Glen Capri for four nights during our recent trip to Southern California. I had read the reviews for this motel and picked it because it was close to both Warner Brothers and Universal Studios. It was also close to the Gene Autrey Museum located in Griffith Park. Travel times to these attractions are 10 minutes or less.

The Glen Capri has been completely refurbished and there is a large TV mounted on the wall in front of the bed. It is a small room, typical of motels built in the 1950's but everything is new. We were away from the motel all four days and only returned at night. The bed was comfortable and my wife didn't have to ask for extra pillows because there were four on the bed.

Starbucks is close and there were some wonderful bakeries just blocks away. Save money on their rooms and enjoy yourself while in LA LA Land. As Arnold said, "I'll be back." Oh, it is AAA.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel was amazing. I like the stuff. The kept very clean and neat. I also like the fast free internet that they gave us. I surly recomend to everyone this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

i have been coming to this hotel for over 2 years now and it is always a pleasure to stay here. The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly, and the rates are very competitive. It i located near Downtown Burbank which is famous for the entertainment industry of the united states. near lots of shopping and restaurants. very good location. Glen Capri gets a thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the Glen Capri over New Year's based on the reviews in Tripadvisor. This motel is nothing like it is represented. This is a bare bones operation. Rooms are barely 2 star. Old bed, linens, pillows. No kleenex, no washcloths. 2 tiny towels. Awful soap. Had to ask for pillows. Microwave had to be the oldest model still in existence. Please note that most of the reviews here are from local people - obviously friends of the owners. Staff seem nice enough, but do not stay here. Owners family lives here - they answer the phone in their rooms and communication is very odd and difficult. Was a struggle trying to get a room confirmation. Family and kids going in and out the doors. They want to be paid in advance when you check in. Tripadvisor - please check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed three nights with my wife and found this facility to be just as the previous reviews had stated. Good clean rooms at an affordable price. The location is handy to the areas attractions and parking was ample. The room we stayed in was as pictured on the web site. There are no frills, just the basic accommodations needed to rest and prepare for your next day. I would definitely stay again at this wonderful hotel that is a chaming slice of what travel used to be.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Been staying at the Glen Capri regularly for the last five years whenever my travels take me to Burbank and it's always been an enjoyable experience. Good personal touch, nice big rooms, free wifi, and descent rates. There are a few nice restaurants in the area and downtown Burbank is a nice walk, there you'll find plenty more restaurants and shopping areas. The people that run it are very friendly and accommodating, something I value very much. In all a nice, clean, place to stay, especially on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road

Address: 6700 San Fernando Rd., Glendale, CA 91201
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Capri Inn And Suites - San Fernando Road
Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road Hotel Glendale
Glen Capri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.