We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Ranked #1 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful bead and breakfast with great service and very very well situated near restaurants and pubs in a small tranquil neighborhood.

Great hospitality, great knowledge of wineries and above all great breakfast!!!

Compared with everything else around you can't go wrong!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    89
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
6
250
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location - close drive to Napa and Sonoma, and wineries nearby. Every afternoon appetizers and wine, cookies when you come back after dinner. Very quiet location with a pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. All of the staff are very friendly and eager to assist. Already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddo Mills, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Glen Ellen is a beautiful town and the gauge house is a wonderful place to stay. Quaint yet sophisticated. Nearby dining was excellent with no corkage fees! Two nice little grocery stores nearby to handle all your needs. Walking distance through the town. An excellent location to stay to visit Napa over the mountains through a beautiful drive. Or the Russian River Valley to the west. Or the Sonoma Valley in which Glenellen lies. The hotel staff was great. They were numerous wine tastings each evening. And always a complimentary bottle of port on the table. Breakfast was great and varied a little bit each morning. The beds were wonderful. Rooms were clean. Overall a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The GH was wonderful! Great location, walking distance to local restaurants but quiet and calming too! The staff was all smiles and very friendly and the massage was just what I needed. Patio balcony off the breakfast area was a great place to cozy in and read or enjoy friends. Only wish I had more than one night there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When planning our visit, we called to discuss room choice, explaining that it would be a special birthday and a rare chance for us to get away. We were assured that we would be better off with Gaige Suite. Let me say, it is a beautiful room and bath. But don't choose this room for rest.

Not only is there constant road noise but the porch for breakfast and wine/cheese hour is just outside your room - you will have no peace.

When very quickly shown our room, we asked how the fan worked as this would have helped with noise. Front desk woman (short hair) didn't know and frankly, didn't care. I went down at about 4 p.m. to ask her for another, more quiet room and was treated quite dismissively which I don't expect for $600+ per night. She told me there were no other rooms but hmmm.....check out the review below!!!! Looks like they got one of the quiet rooms.

If you want sleep, this is not the room - the blinds don't really close and the noise is relentless. If you choose a B&B for warmth and personal customer service, this is not the place. I believe Gaige House is confused as to whether it is a snooty luxury hotel or a quaint B&B.

Shame on your front desk for not moving us upon request when clearly it was possible. Not caring about customer comfort is a death knell and the two stars are about the demeanor of the front desk and the dishonesty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We drove up the coast from California to Washington, this was a place we remembered fondly and decided to visit again. Our luck was with us; there was a one night cancellation on a Friday night moments before our call. The staff at the front desk was very accommodating for our late arrival, and be sure to try the cookies, they are homemade delicious. They made us a late dinner recommendation and reservation in Sonoma (Café La Haye-excellent) and we were escorted to our room and shown the amenities which were plentiful. Cozy gas fireplace and solid granite tub and sink are in the Zen rooms. Very private feel, incredibly quiet and peaceful with an oriental/northern California feel. Bent beam ceilings and a small garden court in the middle with sliding glass doors to let in air.

Breakfast is included and was delicious. Pastries and coffee top notch. Egg dish was fabulous as were the pancakes
.
Wish we could have stayed longer! This is a delightful independent hotel with a family feeling that is very comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The location is fabulous, within walking distance of fabulous restaurants. The staff was very helpful in helping us with dinner plans. Very peaceful and romantic. We were in the wood side suite. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool or hot tub. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it’s not really a secret; the Gaige House is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides, and has been listed repeatedly in Condé Nast Traveler’s Gold List of the top hotels in the world. Gaige House is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The inn features 23 thoughtfully appointed guestrooms with a modern, Asian flair. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, and is accented with delightful surprises in hidden spots: a hammock shaded with ancient oaks, a miniature pagoda in a rock garden, a gurgling fountain. After a day of visiting nearby wineries, boutiques and art galleries, return to the Gaige House to indulge in luxurious spa services provided either in-room, or outdoors in a peaceful and private cabana. All guests enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast every morning, and an afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.