We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel for couples romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“Great boutique hotel for couples romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful getaway. We stayed at the zen garden suite and this hotel was by far the best out of all my travel experiences. The spa-like hotel room (decor and smell), superb breakfast, zen garden, walking distance to Glen Ellen Star and The Fig Cafe (both highly recommended). All in all a great boutique hotel for couples who want a romantic getaway (not sure if this would be a great hotel for couples with young children). My husband and I are already thinking about coming back for our second honeymoon (years from now, I suppose), and I look forward to upgrading to a creek side zen suite for an even better experience! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    105
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
305
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent two fabulous nights at the Gaige House celebrating my husbands birthday. The staff was super friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. We splurged and stayed in the creek side Zen Suite- worth every penny! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice property located in sleepy Glen Ellen, but if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway,this is a place for you. Glen Ellen is a cute town but a but of a ghost town. Breakfast was amazing and great staff. The room rate also included cheese and wine. The grounds are well maintained--lots of nice maple trees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gaige House for 2 nights at the end of February for my birthday and we had an amazing time. Breakfast was great, the room was fantastic, and the free cookies and happy hour wine tasting with cheese and olives were phenomenal.

Glen Ellen is so charming and you can walk around the entire town and just get lost in a small town wine country adventure. There are amazing places to eat very close by. There's The Village Market if you just want to grab something quick. There's The Fig Cafe, if you'd prefer a sit down experience. Both are excellent. There are several wineries in walking distance (a mile or two). We loved Benziger! It's a short lovely drive into Sonoma, Yountville, and Napa.

If you're wanting to stay in a relaxing, charming place in the Napa valley area, choose Gaige House in Glen Ellen and you'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wife and I stayed here a couple of nights for my 40th and it was fantastic. Service was stellar, the place was quiet. Breakfast was great in the AM, and there are always fresh cookies in the foyer. The rooms are older but modern, and there is Wi-Fi throughout the property. The night sky is fantastic, there is little light polution around there so you see a ton of stars at night. Very quiet property both day and night. The grounds are very well kept and impressive.

Glen Ellen itself isnt all that spectacular however the property is within a short drive to a number of wineries and good breweries around the area, well worth it to have access to a car while you are there (limiting the alcohol if you are driving, of course).

A+ on the property and we will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Gaige House for offering half price rooms, if you stay for two nights, from November to April 1 on your website! What a deal! We took advantage of splurging on a Zen suite without breaking our budget:). Huge...715 sq ft. Shower for two was awesome. Six foot granite tub was beautiful, but I didn't want to use so much water....so, used the outdoor hot tub instead! Fine teas and coffees...good bkfst offerings. Outstanding granola! Easy walk to great Glen Ellen Market with gourmet sandwiches, salad bar, etc. perfect! Also, fine restaurants and Jack London State Park just down the road. Really comfy bed and bedding. Super quiet! Only annoyance can be dealt with...noisy hot faucet heater under the sink goes on and off all night and day. Can easily be unplugged for the night:). Friendly staff! Large selection of dvds to use. Beautiful, luxurious stay!!! Another reason to love coming to Sonoma in the winter! We'll be back:).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the middle of Sonoma Valley. Its very peaceful, perfect escape from citylife. There is a swimming pool although it's too cold for a dip - there is a hot tub area though that can be used. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful. There are freshly baked cookies available all day and the breakfast pancakes, poached eggs and granola were very very good. Overall a really really nice stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
6.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
5.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it's not really a secret; the Gaige House is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides, and has been listed repeatedly in Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List of the top hotels in the world. Gaige House is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The inn features 23 thoughtfully appointed guestrooms with a modern, Asian flair. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, and is accented with delightful surprises in hidden spots: a hammock shaded with ancient oaks, a miniature pagoda in a rock garden, a gurgling fountain. After a day of visiting nearby wineries, boutiques and art galleries, return to the Gaige House to indulge in luxurious spa services provided either in-room, or outdoors in a peaceful and private cabana. All guests enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast every morning, and an afternoon wine and cheese reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.