We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel for couples romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Save Saved
You added Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Linger Longer and Save!
Ranked #1 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“Great boutique hotel for couples romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful getaway. We stayed at the zen garden suite and this hotel was by far the best out of all my travel experiences. The spa-like hotel room (decor and smell), superb breakfast, zen garden, walking distance to Glen Ellen Star and The Fig Cafe (both highly recommended). All in all a great boutique hotel for couples who want a romantic getaway (not sure if this would be a great hotel for couples with young children). My husband and I are already thinking about coming back for our second honeymoon (years from now, I suppose), and I look forward to upgrading to a creek side zen suite for an even better experience! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    88
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
6
234
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two fabulous nights at the Gaige House celebrating my husbands birthday. The staff was super friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. We splurged and stayed in the creek side Zen Suite- worth every penny! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annevar, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at The Gaige House on 3/26 and 3/27 (Tues./Wed.) as part of a 4-day trip to northern California. We took advantage of a pay-for-one-night-and-get-one-night-for-free offer, and the terms/conditions matched our travel itinerary. We booked our room a few weeks before arrival, and while reservations were made over the phone – we wanted to confirm the offer – the confirmation was sent via e-mail.

The online driving directions from the SF airport are accurate, and parking is plentiful. We arrived in mid-afternoon and our room was ready, and check-in was quick and uneventful. A staff member gave us a brief yet thorough tour of the sitting room and breakfast area, encouraging us to join the daily wine/cheese reception (we did not). We received two (2) keys: one for the front door of the facility and one for our private room. The front door locked at 9pm each night.

We stayed in the Gaige Suite. It is appointed with a large king-sized bed, a gas-powered fireplace, two oversized sitting chairs, a couch that runs the length of one wall, and a deck complete with sitting chairs and lounges A large overhead fan and two walls of windows allow for good air circulation and natural light. There is a docking station for phone/iPod and speakers, yet the room is large enough to hold the sound nicely. A mini-fridge (not stocked) is available and is ideal if you come back from a restaurant with leftovers. The trees/landscaping surrounding the suite offer ideal privacy.

The bathroom is complete with an enormous stand-up shower, a spacious tub, two personal sinks, and a semi-private toilet. Like the bedroom, the bathroom is spacious with enough room for two people to move around without getting into each other’s way. There were plenty of body towels, hand towels, and wash clothes, as well as shampoo, lotion, soap, conditioner, etc. Bathrobes/Slippers are available. The water pressure in the shower is good and the hot water plentiful. The tub is a jetted spa that worked fine, but we had trouble filling it with hot water as the water would turn from hot to warm to cold rather quickly. We started-and-stopped and eventually got there.

Breakfast is served from (we believe) 8am – 10am. The breakfast area is spacious with plenty of tables/chairs. Upon arrival we asked if we could carry our breakfast to our room and eat there, which management had no problem with. We ate at ~8am one day and ~10am the next, and both times enough food options were available. In addition to coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal/granola, breads, there were pancakes/syrup and an egg dish available during our stay. The food was served at the proper temperature (ie, eggs warm, fruit cool) and there were ample serving vessels and silverware.

We declined to have our room made up during our stay, and a notice was slipped under the door confirming they had respected our wishes/privacy.

The Gaige House is located a short walking distance from 3-4 restaurants and a locally-owned convenience store. There are also numerous restaurants, wineries, shops, bars, and attractions located within an easy 10-minute driving radius. The staff is knowledgeable of the surrounding area and quick to offer suggestions on where to eat and what wineries to visit. There are maps/brochures in the main office of the Gaige House, and be sure to ask the staff about 2-for-1 tasting vouchers and other special arrangements at nearby wineries.

Overall this was an ideal stay. While in a “residential” area of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House is secluded and private enough that you feel you are indeed in the middle of wine country. The facility is incredibly comfortable, and the location is very good for quick and easy access to various wine regions (Sonoma, Napa, Russian River Valley, etc). The price is fair, and the one-night-free promotion made this an easy choice. This B&B did not disappoint in any way, and in the highest compliment we can give to any establishment, we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice property located in sleepy Glen Ellen, but if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway,this is a place for you. Glen Ellen is a cute town but a but of a ghost town. Breakfast was amazing and great staff. The room rate also included cheese and wine. The grounds are well maintained--lots of nice maple trees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Gaige House for 2 nights at the end of February for my birthday and we had an amazing time. Breakfast was great, the room was fantastic, and the free cookies and happy hour wine tasting with cheese and olives were phenomenal.

Glen Ellen is so charming and you can walk around the entire town and just get lost in a small town wine country adventure. There are amazing places to eat very close by. There's The Village Market if you just want to grab something quick. There's The Fig Cafe, if you'd prefer a sit down experience. Both are excellent. There are several wineries in walking distance (a mile or two). We loved Benziger! It's a short lovely drive into Sonoma, Yountville, and Napa.

If you're wanting to stay in a relaxing, charming place in the Napa valley area, choose Gaige House in Glen Ellen and you'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wife and I stayed here a couple of nights for my 40th and it was fantastic. Service was stellar, the place was quiet. Breakfast was great in the AM, and there are always fresh cookies in the foyer. The rooms are older but modern, and there is Wi-Fi throughout the property. The night sky is fantastic, there is little light polution around there so you see a ton of stars at night. Very quiet property both day and night. The grounds are very well kept and impressive.

Glen Ellen itself isnt all that spectacular however the property is within a short drive to a number of wineries and good breweries around the area, well worth it to have access to a car while you are there (limiting the alcohol if you are driving, of course).

A+ on the property and we will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Gaige House for offering half price rooms, if you stay for two nights, from November to April 1 on your website! What a deal! We took advantage of splurging on a Zen suite without breaking our budget:). Huge...715 sq ft. Shower for two was awesome. Six foot granite tub was beautiful, but I didn't want to use so much water....so, used the outdoor hot tub instead! Fine teas and coffees...good bkfst offerings. Outstanding granola! Easy walk to great Glen Ellen Market with gourmet sandwiches, salad bar, etc. perfect! Also, fine restaurants and Jack London State Park just down the road. Really comfy bed and bedding. Super quiet! Only annoyance can be dealt with...noisy hot faucet heater under the sink goes on and off all night and day. Can easily be unplugged for the night:). Friendly staff! Large selection of dvds to use. Beautiful, luxurious stay!!! Another reason to love coming to Sonoma in the winter! We'll be back:).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 13540 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it’s not really a secret; the Gaige House is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides, and has been listed repeatedly in Condé Nast Traveler’s Gold List of the top hotels in the world. Gaige House is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The inn features 23 thoughtfully appointed guestrooms with a modern, Asian flair. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, and is accented with delightful surprises in hidden spots: a hammock shaded with ancient oaks, a miniature pagoda in a rock garden, a gurgling fountain. After a day of visiting nearby wineries, boutiques and art galleries, return to the Gaige House to indulge in luxurious spa services provided either in-room, or outdoors in a peaceful and private cabana. All guests enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast every morning, and an afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.