We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place for a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais du Soleil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Relais du Soleil
Save
You added Relais du Soleil to your Saves list
1210 Nuns Canyon Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Absolutely beautiful spot for a wedding. The owner is a lot of fun and his Rhodesian ridgeback is a terrific greater. Guests from all over the country have raved about what a wonderful time they had. If you want to have a wedding in the wine country, this is the place.

Room Tip: Great place for young wedding party members, not a parent's cup of tea but plenty of rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

thanks for two great nights and awesome breakfasts in august.
we loved the lovely combination of remote setting, relaxed atmosphere and cosmopolitan attitude.
take care Tim and beware of snow leopards :- !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found Relais du Soleil at the last minute and what a great find! Tim and Lareen were the perfect innkeepers and this was by far one of the most relaxing and fantastic places we stayed on our entire California vacation. Tim's wine was superb, and the breakfast he fixed the following morning was out of this world.

We will be going back when we are in the Sonoma Valley again. The people that wrote negative review of this gem must have been having a bad day. There is no way that the two negative reviews are anything close to reality. Tim / Lareen - we send you our best and give Kingston a big hug too.

Scott McLean & Judy Bott, Las Cruces, NM

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

An authentic guest ranch experience in the heart of Glen Ellen wine country. This was our 2nd stay here, and we really enjoyed Tim's delicious and innovative breakfasts, great conviviality, cheese and barrel-wine tastings in the barn, and checking out the massive coyote sculpture that the resident artist will feature at this year's burning man festival. The bunk house was perfect for our family of 3, including our 13-year-old daughter who greatly appreciated petting the dog, cat, and horses. It's not fancy, but we had everything that we could want, including expert advice from Tim regarding the local scene, including the farmer's market on Sonoma Square and the best local wineries. We had so much fun! Thanks, Tim!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaW319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our whole family stayed here for my sister's wedding in October...it was an amazing dreamy floating time. Tim is wonderful, and so hospitable, we felt welcomed from the very first moment! For those of us staying with Tim at the house, and for all those who attended the wedding it was a truly magical, rustic, glowing experience! What a lovely memory--one we will hold forever! Thank you Tim!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came out for the wine and stumbled across Tim and his B and B. This is not the Ritz but it has a lot you can't find at the Ritz. Tim is a great host! He is friendly and interesting to talk with. When we were there, he was making his own wine and his enthusiasm for the process was palpable. Kingston the Rhodesian Ridgeback dog was a delight to play with. The artist in residence has created metallic works of art scattered throughout the grounds and small works of art around the place that give the B and B even more eclectic character. Tim greeted us with wine and cheese when we arrived. HIs wine was better than some of the larger wineries we tasted on our long weekend!
The bunkhouse is cozy and comfortable. We were with another couple and they took one room, we took the other. We are good friends and didn't mind sharing a bathroom.
Tim served a fantastic breakfast. Make sure you make time for it.
If you are looking for something a little different, served with a splash of friendly banter, Tim's place might be just the B and B you are looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbins, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Tim and his ranch have both. the ranch style atmoshere and the incredible sculptures that adorn the property. If your looking for 5 star accomadations with a "BUTLER" keep looking!, If you are looking for good ol ranch hospitality and a ton of charm, you will be enchanted with Tim and the Relais Du Soleil. An open mind and a full heart is never a bad thing to have. I can't wait to visit Tim, Kingstone, and Vlad (Tims russian arabian horse) again. We had a truely AWSOME TIME at this magical place!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
2.1 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
8.3 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
8.0 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
14.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Soleil

Address: 1210 Nuns Canyon Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais du Soleil " French for rest stop in the sun" sits on Calabazas Creek and across for a State park just off the original wagon trail to Napa. This century young Wine Country Guest Ranch has the beauty of nature and the comfort of classic old fashion service combined with delightful antiques, serene gardens, and a fun private winery. Here you may relax and enjoy nature and use the Relais as a base for great wine tasting trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Relais Du Soleil Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing