We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jack London Lodge to your Saves list
Jack London Lodge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were there for a wedding, Sugar ants all over our counters, dead bug in bed, refrigerator warm, manager let her dog walk around and do it's business in landscaping and did not pick up mess, restaurant was close but service was terrible with only a bartender and the cook to serve and we had the family there for a dinner the night before the wedding. The location was great and the gardens pretty, the wedding setting was beautiful, just disappointed in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    70
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
88
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We had our wedding at The Jack London Lodge in Glen Ellen, CA on November 6, 2010. The lodge was the perfect place to have our wedding! They usually don’t have weddings that late in the year, but for our small group there was an indoor spot that could be used if necessary. We were so fortunate to have a nice sunny 70 degree day with no rain!

The grounds are beautiful and with just some rose petals and white chairs it was the perfect setting. The staff is very friendly and helpful, Elaine the hotel mgr and on site wedding coordinator was very helpful with planning the menu, and vendor lists for photographers, and florists etc. Michelle, the on-site mgr (I believe) was so friendly and helpful, as was everyone at the lodge, I couldn’t ask for more of the staff. The rooms were nice, clean and cozy, some people have called them little more than a motel, but they were actually quite nice and decorated with antiques, each slightly different, I thought this gave the lodge some added charm. The only negative thing I have to say about the accommodations is that the bed was a little too firm for my liking, but it was good in actually helping me get out of bed early every day to enjoy our time in the area. The lodge also has a cottage located about a mile down the road which some of our relatives rented together, it was the perfect place for everyone to get together for a BBQ the day before the wedding.

The restaurants in the area very good, maybe a bit pricey but very good. The food in the saloon is just as good for a better price, and there is a very nice market within walking distance of the lodge that has amazing sandwiches, my new husband said his may have been the best sandwich he had ever eaten!

I searched for weeks trying to find the perfect place in the Napa/Sonoma area for a small intimate wedding, and although I believe the lodge can accommodate 150 people for a wedding it was the perfect spot for our wedding of around 30 guests. I wanted the perfect place where we could have a small wedding, with a dinner reception following, and the guests could stay on the grounds and not have to drive anywhere afterward, and not have to spend a small fortune just to attend our wedding, I found it at The Jack London Lodge! The food at the dinner reception was provided by the Wolf House restaurant and it was amazing, we got so many compliments!

The town of Glen Ellen, is perfectly located to visit wineries in Sonoma or Napa, and it is so quaint, I am so glad we picked this spot. While the entire area is just breathtaking I feel that Sonoma and Napa are just a little too “touristy” for my liking which is why Glen Ellen was perfect, it is just such a charming place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We booked this last minute as we wanted to see some of the wine country. Great value and friendly service from hotel who helped with any questions we had. Rooms clean.

The lodge is in ideal location to explore wineries in Glen Ellen or Sonoma (only 7miles away). Nice choice of restaurants in walking distance. Also good supermarket and bar next door to lodge. Very relaxing.

Jack London Lodge is only 5mins drive away and would also recommend visiting the Benzinger winery which is on same road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I just left Jack London Lodge after hosting our wedding there over Labor Day Weekend. Our experience at the lodge was beyond superb.

Elaine is an incredible competent and talented on-site wedding coordinator. She made me feel so at ease and I knew she would take care of us. She executed all of our plans to the T, and the day-of she could not have been more competent. She took care of me, made sure I ate and drank, helped me sit down and get up in my big dress, and coordinated with our other vendors so that NONE of us had to be worrying about a thing that day...all we did was have fun.

That brings me to the fun part. Jack London Lodge is in a spectacular setting, with a beautiful creek running along side the patio, with a canopy of trees providing shade, beautiful flowers providing free decor, a great dance floor, an outdoor bar, and an attached pool and most awesome bar EVER. And did I mention that all of our guests were blown away by the food? The buffet we were served was out of this world. And even the bar food is wonderful.

Our devastation at the reception having to come to an end at 10:00 was quickly replaced with glee as we took the party inside the saloon that is jam-packed with character, with a jukebox, popcorn machine, pool tables, historical pics along the wall, and great friendly bartenders that put up with our shenanigans as old friends got crazy (including dancing to Tina Turner on top of the bar, and literally screaming the lyrics to Don't Stop Believing at least 10 times per evening). After the night finally ended at 2:00 a.m., it was INCREDIBLY convenient to just mozy back to our rooms, as our wedding party completely took over the lodge rooms.

Now about the lodge rooms: some have given very poor reviews. Yes, the lodge is not ritsy or glitzy. But it has extremely comfortable beds, great air conditioners, great continental breakfast, and "character." Everything was clean and functional, and Michelle at the front desk is one of the most helpeful and accommodating person I have ever dealt with. I completely disagree with other reviewers, but I don't put glamour over a good time and comfy bed and great location (which it doesn't get much better than the location of this lodge).

The next morning after the wedding, we enjoyed a day of hanging out at the pool. We were a rowdy bunch but since we had rented all the rooms in the lodge, Michelle was incredibly understanding and let us carry on with our shenanigans, even providing us with a little cart with ice to keep our beer cool. At night we moved the party into the saloon for a repeat of the night before, and Michelle even joined in for flip cup at the outside bar. Yet another fantastic and memorable night. The free continental breakfast was a great excuse for us all to reunite again the next day and relax on the patios while saying goodbyes.

The cherry on top was that above the lodge saloon is the studio of stellar photographer Tom Deininger. He is the friendliest dude you'll ever meet, just enthusiastic about meeting people and about having a great time. He snuck us out of our reception for a minute and took a couple snapshots of us in the archway. Later on that night he took us away from our reception for a moment to gaze up at his full-length window upstairs... he had blown up a picture of the groom and I and put it in the window with backlight so it was illuminated for all our guests (and all of Glen Ellen!) to see. Pretty spectacular, and it sure imprinted a cool memory on everyone who saw it. He was floating around throughout the whole weekend, and definitely helped make our wedding weekend as special as it was!

In summary: the location, the beautiful setting, the DELICIOUS food, the character-full saloon, the accommodating staff, the comfy beds, the competend wedding coordinator, the friendly photographer... all of these things merit a 5/5 star review, and I hope you give Jack London Lodge the chance it deserves. If not, your loss!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have stayed here on 4 occasions and it is still the cleanest, budget aware, most convenient hotel to use as a base of operations for Napa & Sonoma. The rooms have great furniture, appropriate appointments (fridge, linens, A/C, etc.). One of the great advantages is it's location-there is a great grocery store across the street for food, a bar/grill next door for meals, can walk to several other eateries (girl & fig cafe, the oyster bar..) and an easy route to Sonoma or Napa depending on your destination. The pool and hot tub are always clean and ready to enjoy. The cost of the stay is a great deal and we will stay with them again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Jack London Lodge was recommended by the Sonoma tourist office. It is ideally located for visits to the famous Jack London Park, local wineries and vinyards, as well as the popular Safari West park. It provides clean, practical facilities at very reasonable rates. The service was first class, and the manageress Michelle was extremely helpful and attentive. It has a nice swimming pool and grounds and is children friendly. It is located in a charming area. Wel worth a stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archer, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at the Jack London Lodge for 3 nights. It was absolutely wonderful!! The value was incredible, especially compared to Napa County. CLEAN rooms, very quiet (even with a wedding), GREAT beds, in-room fridge, very helpful management! Do I need to go on? Several great restaurants and a wonderful grocery for picnic fare are within walking distance. Beautiful pool and breakfast area - loved to sit and overlook the creek while we enjoyed our breakfast. It was very easy to travel to many different wineries from this location in Glen Ellen. After 12 years of traveling to Napa and Sonoma - we can DEFINITELY recommend the Jack London Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jack London Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.