We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack London Lodge - Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jack London Lodge to your Saves list
Jack London Lodge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Jack London Lodge - Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A friend of mine was visting from out of town and this was her first time to Sonoma. I really wanted to make this a special occasion and try to live up to her NY expectations of wine country. I knew this was going to be difficult considering we have champagne taste on a beer budget. We didn't want to drop a few hundred dollars on a hotel or meet a 2-night stay minium; we had to take a chance and roll the dice.

Jackpot! The Jack London Lodge lived up to every single expectation we had regarding our 'special' girls weekend in Sonoma. Upon check in, we were greeted by the 'house mom' Michelle, who was extremely warm, welcoming and helpful. She was so pleasant and full of recommendations. Her presence and helpful accommodations really did contribute to the warm fuzzy vibes of this place.

The room was updated with AMAZING BEDING AND SOFT PILLOWS. This is coming from the woman who at one time (in the not so distant past) requested (at 2am) to have her room changed because the sheets were "itchy". Yes, embarrassing. I've moved on... But seriously, the bedding was exceptional. I felt like I was in someone's guest bedroom. it was weird, it was almost too soft. Can I go back yet? It was so hard to get out of bed in the morning...

The hotel is a smaller property out in the Sonoma Mountains off of Hwy 12 in Glen Ellen. It's perfectly situated across the street from the Village Market, as well as a walking distance from a few cafes (most notably, The Fig Wine Bar). The Jack London Lodge is also connected to the "Saloon" which is great for an after dinner drink, when the last thing you want to do drive. Again. Or, if you'e been suckered in to being the DD all day, your FREE at last. You can now stumble to your room. They also serve free popcorn. Great home town feel. Pretty busy too with locals.

One disclaimer: this is not the hotel if your looking for advanced services. You may not get the front desk every time you call, and there might not be anyone there past 9 or 10pm. We were fine with this and felt it contributed to the "hometown" B&B feel.

Overall, you will get an exceptional night sleep in a great location for a superior cost. It's a win win win and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    73
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
95
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Warm, cozy, and welcoming are some of the words that come to mind when remembering my week-end stay. The bed was huge and comfortable, the decor was reminicent of a time when workmanship was important. The sounds of the creek and nature lull you into a sense of serenity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This motel is a location that we have used several times during the Heart of the Valley Barrel Tasting weekend. The rates are reasonable and it is a great location for getting to the surrounding wineries. Going again this year, I made the reservations last December for four rooms. I was quoted a price of 125.00 for Friday and Saturday, and 95.00 for Sunday. These are the posted rates on their website. Upon arriving at the motel to check in, each night's rate was raised by $20.00!!! I was told that this was a very busy weekend. It would of been apprciated that this price hike could of been told to me at the time of the reservation or when I called a month before to check the reservation. Just disapointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McArthur, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I grew up in Glen Ellen and now when I return I will frequently stay At the Jack London Lodge Hotel. It is reminds me of the way it used to be in some ways when I was growing up there. Of course Glen Ellen has change quite a bit, but there it still seems to capture the old days.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating, the bar is a short walk away. The food is good. It is a great spot to make a home base for wine tasteing excursions throughout the area. There is a beautiful creek that is adjacent to the property and you can here the babbleing creek sounds from the hot tub. There is also access to the creek from the rear of the bar, restaurant which also is a great place to sit at there outsside tables while enjoying your dinner and or wine. Itis just a real laid back place to go and relax.

Room Tip: I like the upstairs, but all the rooms are quaint and clean with antiquish type furnishings. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend in Glen Ellen at the Jack London Lodge. This the second time we have stayed there. The location is ideal for wine tasting in the area, each room is unique with the most comfortable beds and colorful soft sheets. It is really nice to just walk across the street to grab a delicious deli sandwich at the market and then be off on your adventure. Michele is the office is very accommodating even when we could not check in until late. We just stopped at the Jack London Saloon next door to pick up our keys. Our rooms were warm and waiting for us. We will definitely come back again for our next wine tasting adventure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We celebrated my 50th with friends and had a great stay. The Glen Ellen Market is just across the street and has an awesome deli, salad bar, and hot meals bar. Walking distance to restaurants, and a half mile to Benziger Winery. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. Don't forget the free continental breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinemont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel is what it is. It is an older hotel/motel that has been remodeled. Don't go in thinking this is a 5* resort in wine country. It is a small hotel in a small cross-roads town. But saying that I still liked staying here. It is very quiet and peaceful. We stayed here to start our Sonoma vineyard tours. Jack London State Park is very close. It wasn't on our itinerary but we had time to kill and really enjoyed it. We hiked to the burned out shell of Jack London's house and really enjoyed the peaceful stroll. We then went to Benzinger Vineyard tour. We wanted to stay in Glenn Ellen and picked this hotel due to it's price. Enjoyable stay in Glenn Ellen and this hotel suited our purpose. If you're looking for a peaceful place and aren't too wrapped up in staying in posh/luxury (expensive) digs, Lack London Lodge will suit your needs. Stayed here May 2011

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jack London Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.