We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Benziger Family Winery

The Benziger Family Winery
1883 London Ranch Rd., Off Arnold Dr., on the way to Jack London State Historic Park, Glen Ellen, CA
800-989-8890; 707-935-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Benziger Family Winery like an insider
Top Rated
$339*
and up
2-Day Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour from San...
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Wine tasting
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The tour is one of the better tours in the area. The tour takes you on a tram through the vineyards to different spots where you can see the biodiversity that they have set up to cultivate the land in a healthy and sustainable way. While there are a few weird aspects to the way they make wine (burying bull's horns, etc.), growing grapes where they grow best, growing other things that attract beneficials or improve the soil makes sense. My only criticism was that while the tour guide invited questions, when I asked about the difference between biodynamics and permaculture, he seemed annoyed that I asked and brushed me off. A simple, I don't know much about permaculture (if that was the problem) would have been a better answer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    65
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must-visit if you are in the Sonoma area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I love this winery and their wine so much that I have been part of their wine club for two years. Each time I go to Sonoma (I live in Austin), I make a trip to Benziger, even if it's the only winery I have time for. I am not a Chardonnay person, but I LOVE theirs - so much so that I bring a handful of bottle back with me. **Please be aware that the widely-distributed varieties in other states (those you find for under 20) are not a good example of what Benziger has to offer. Order directly from the winery, you won't be disappointed whether you are a red or white connoisseur :) Also, they offer a great tour!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must visit in Glen Ellen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by Benziger Family Winery after the recommendation from another winery- what a great treat! Wine tasting was excellent- be sure to ask for Bianca, she was very knowledgable and lots of fun. My husband and I both found our new favorites and can't wait to share this great wine with our friends back home. A must see while in Sonoma!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Winery practicing the best farming principles, creating distinguished wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Family commitment and integrity at it's best. Benziger Family Winery is a slice of heaven on the rolling hills below Sonoma Mountain. Our tour of the farm and winery was very informative. Biodynamic principles have been practiced on the land since the mid-90s.

The distinguished wines have jewel-like qualities, clean, bright, balanced...lovely to taste, and they are all unique to the land where they come from.

Lambs frolicking, birds singing, grapes budding...the dance of cosmic forces....Heaven on Earth...and the nectar of the Gods, just as it was intended.

Thank you, again, Kathy, for such a delightful experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great tour and delicious wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tour of this biodynamic winery. My family is very Eco conscious and we really appreciate all the effort taken into making this winery Eco friendly and biodynamic. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we also enjoyed the tasting room and small shop. The gardens are amazing. We saw a beautiful rose plant there that I took photos of and we planted the same species in our backyard. Just a really great place to visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Benziger Family Winery also viewed

 

Been to The Benziger Family Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benziger Family Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.