We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Luxury Tucked away in Sonoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Ellen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Ellen Inn
Save
You added Glen Ellen Inn to your Saves list
13670 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quaint Luxury Tucked away in Sonoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in Cottage #5 at the Secret Cottages in Glen Ellen for a long weekend. We really liked the location of the Secret Cottages – roughly equidistant to Sonoma, Napa, and Santa Rosa. Our cottage was in a perfect location, overlooking the creek. The room itself was nicely done – with a giant Jacuzzi, gas fireplace, and bistro table by the window overlooking the creek. A nice touch was that you could soak in the Jacuzzi and face the TV. They also provide a nice selection of glasses (you are in wine country, after all) as well as drinks and snacks in the honor bar.

The room was clean, bright, and cozy – and the bed was very comfortable. In the bathroom, they put out really nice soaps, shampoos and conditioner. The steam shower was simply wonderful, and I found myself taking longer showers because of it.

Although I noticed that other cottages had slightly larger patios, ours had a small wooden porch with pergola roof that provided me plenty of room to lay out my mat for yoga in the mornings. There was also a larger common patio area just outside our cottage with four comfortable chairs and table.

We ate at the restaurant on site (Glenn Ellen Inn) twice, once dined in and once had dinner delivered to the room. It was nice to be able to order a full dinner to the room. They delivered it on the same dinnerware as they use in the restaurant, so it didn’t feel any less special than dining in the restaurant.

We found the cost of both our room and the restaurant to be really reasonable - especially considering how luxurious the amenities are! They were very easy to book with. We had concerns about two weeks prior to our visit that we may need to postpone our trip due to circumstances outside of our control. I spoke with one of the owners, Karen, and explained our situation - she was incredibly sympathetic and said that if we were unable to come she would work with us. Luckily, we were able to go on our trip as scheduled, and I gave Karen a huge hug when we met her while dining at the restaurant.

Beautiful cottage, amazing scenery, impeccable food, and well-run local family business - yes please!

Room Tip: Cottage #5 is right on the creek and perhaps the most quiet of all the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    27
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stratford, ct
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were visiting family who recommended this inn during our stay in Glen Ellen. Wow! I did not expect the fireplace, tiled floors, large spacious room, ultra comfortable bed with quality linens, large bathroom and an in-room Jacuzzi tub. All at a very reasonable rate. Only wish we could have stayed an extra night to enjoy dinner in the restaurant and romantic retreat. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I don't know if Glen Ellen is a destination in itself, but if in the area, it's the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet. All rooms accessible from an outdoor footpath draped in grapevines, acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in cottage 2 and it was beautiful!! big King sized bed with 4 posts(wood). There was an area with a cute table and chairs, with a fresh bowl of fruits cookies and scones. A beautiful mini bar but you had to pay for some some things. It is to be expected. There was a nice Jacuzzi bath and a huge shower with the option of steaming it! Nice balcony with a view of a stream and a cute bridge. The rooms were cleaned every day too. It was a nice quiet place to relax! Very romantic:)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at Glen Ellen on my birthday trip with my husband. It was a very memorable staycation. We got the Cottage #5 with a window overlooking the creek. It was very peaceful... I wish we stayed longer. Will stay again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the secret cottages. Both visits we ended up in cottage #5. Although the bed is a queen, it is comfortable. The pillows could be upgraded. The AC in the room is amazing and there is a ceiling fan as well. The room had a tub and a fireplace. Our shower had great water pressure and it was also a steam shower. You also don't hear any outside noise. The price got the cottage is very reasonable. Overall a terrific stay. If you can't get into the Olea this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed! The rooms are very clean and oh so romantic! Very close to Sonoma wineries and Sonoma Square. We drove to Napa one day as well and it was a very easy drive! The restaurant at Glen Ellen Inn is amazing, too!!! We enjoyed our stay so much....we will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.F. Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Needed a place to stay for one night after a wine event last month and this was one of the few places available for a Saturday only stay, and boy did we luck out. Stayed in Cottage #1 and my wife loved the jacuzzi tub and the fireplace. Amenities were great, room was really nice and boy is it a great value. Couldn't find any place else nearly as nice for less than twice the price.

Had reservations at another restaurant in the Sonoma Square that night and decided to stay and eat at the restaurant and we were not disappointed. Food, wine and service were great.

We're looking forward to our next stay at this quiet and charming place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Ellen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ellen Inn

Address: 13670 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed-and-breakfast establishment known for its fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Ellen Hotel Glen Ellen
Glen Ellen Inn CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Ellen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.