We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Olea Hotel to your Saves list
Olea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend getaway here. Our room (a king) was spacious and nicely decorated with a small semi-private patio. The bathroom was gorgeous and the linens were some of the most luxurious I've ever encountered (extra fluffy towels, the softest sheets). The communal hot tub in the little garden setting was definite plus.
Breakfast was fantastic. Our server was delightful - one of the members of the family who owns Olea. We enjoyed talking with him. The food was delicious and the homemade sweet, creamy chai was a wonderful surprise. The lounge area in the main building is comfortable with a computer for general access, DVDs, a nice couch, etc. I loved that coffee/tea were available early and that breakfast ran from 8:30-11:00am, not just one sitting. The complimentary treats (Sunchips, granola bars) were thoughtful and when we left we were given a little treat as well. Wireless access was complimentary; my iPad was having problems but I don't think it was due to their network (note that AT&T coverage is MUCH better than Verizon in Glen Ellen overall). I also loved the beautifully landscaped outdoor area above the main building that is set with tables and chairs - perfect for afternoon wine or coffee on a summer morning and lovely views.
The only downsides were that service was uneven (most staff were very nice but at least one was fairly cold and unfriendly), parking can be a bit challenging (there is sufficient parking but it is cramped and many of the spaces require multiple-point turns to exit) and that there was some TV and other noise from our neighbors next door (thin walls). So for the price (~$300/night on weekends), the value is good but not fantastic. Note that the hotel is dog friendly but only allow dogs in 4 or 5 of the 12 rooms for an additional $25/night.
Overall, a very nice experience; we'd recommend it.

Room Tip: The cottages are smaller but more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
169
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to splurge on a hotel on our way to a race at Sonoma Raceway and with so many great reviews, we couldn't pass it up.
We checked in before dinner and our room was ready right away. We were offered a different room with a tub in case we wanted that, but we were good with room 1, a king bed with a kitchenette. The room is smallish, but worked fine. the kitchen had a table and chairs, fridge with chilled water and snacks. The bathroom was huge with a heated floor (awesome!!)
We had plenty of the free wine provided in the lobby (a white and red from Sebastiani's organic line.) We got take out dinner at the Glen Ellen Star down the street and ate on the patio at the hotel. We were given silverware and plates to make it fancy! After dinner we brought our drinks down to the hot tub which was an awesome way to wrap up our evening.
The bed was crazy comfy and the plushy robes were a very nice touch. The shower head in the shower is just huge and had every option to pick from. All shower supplies supplied!
Breakfast was something else. I couldn't have gotten a better breakfast at a fancy restaurant. We had cranberry pistachio scones to start with homemade chai tea (awesome!!) and coffee. Fresh fruit and a rosemary muffin with fresh jam as a second. The main course was just unbelievably- fried egg over duck confit hash and a carrot puree. It was out of this world.
The finishing touch was the roasted cinnamon almonds they gave us going out the door. If I'm ever in this area, I wont bother staying anywhere else. The stay was one of the best 12+ hours of my life. Go here!

Room Tip: pick one that fits your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This little inn does everything right: well-designed rooms, friendly and helpful staff, amazing breakfasts. And the hillside patio is the perfect spot to relax with a bottle of wine from one of the local wineries (or with the complimentary wine offered by the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The service and hospitality are unsurpassed! We made a repeat visit to the Olea and can't wait to return! Afternoon wine tasting under a gorgeous oak tree, incredible tasty breakfast, lovely & personable staff and cushy comfy beds. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I recently took my parents to wine country and stayed at Olea Hotel for two nights. We weren't sure what to expect- we generally stay in either huge chain hotels or very modern boutique hotels. Olea was more of a bed and breakfast feel, with breakfast included in our rate. We ended up having a great stay and loving the hotel! Overall, the hotel design was great- rooms seemed brand new and very clean with some individual design touches/layouts in each. My parents ended up with a fireplace in their room, which was a bit larger than ours, but our room had a small seating area. Showers were large with fancy shower heads, and we had king-size beds, which can be hard to find in Napa and Sonoma. We had a really relaxing and tasty breakfast each morning that everyone loved, even though we all like pretty different foods.
Added bonus was that there was a coffee/tea/wine/hot cocoa area setup in the lobby, so you can get drinks all day and evening, until 9pm/9:30pm when the lobby closes. We had more than enough wine at the tastings we were going to, but the wines they had were local and interesting- nothing too commercial that you could get at a grocery store. There were a few of sitting and lounging areas on the hotel grounds with really inviting landscaping. We noticed some people grabbing a glass of wine and drinking it out on one of the patios. There was also a really nice looking hot tub on the grounds, but sadly we forgot our suits. Lastly, the staff was the friendliest group of people we've ever met at a hotel. They were even a bit more friendly and helpful than the staff of the boutique hotel where I got married. We already had a set itinerary, but they seemed really excited to help people plan wine tours and tastings, and a lot of people seemed to be taking them up on that. I think the only downside for us was that my husband thought the bed was too soft. It had a feather bed topper, which also made us warmer than we're used to, but once I figured out how to turn on the air conditioning that was fine.

Room Tip: Cottages looked adorable and were removed and quieter- but there are only two and they were booked w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Olea now ranks right up there in our top ten ever anywhere. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We stayed in one of the private bungalows near the hot tub. It had a gas fireplace that we used a lot and a beautiful bathroom with double sized tub and rainshower head. My only regret is that the sun was a no show and so it rained and we didn't get to enjoy our private little porch or the inviting looking outdoor sitting areas. We did however go in the communal hot tub in the lovely garden just steps from our little bungalow. Breakfasts were a gourmet delight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just spent a night in this little gem in the quaint Sonoma County village of Glen Ellen. The grounds are lovely, with a large outdoor patio where you can gather with friends or relax on a lounge chair with a book. The rooms are modern, spacious and well appointed. The included breakfast is delicious. I can think of more expensive places in the vicinity to spend a romantic weekend, but the Olea offers plenty of quiet and simple luxury for a not totally exorbitant price. It is no wonder this hotel gets such fine reviews here. The Olea is a lovely, unpretentious place to relax, and a perfect home base when traveling through the heart of California wine country.

Room Tip: They all look pretty great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.