We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO BEAUTIFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olea Hotel to your Saves list
Olea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“SO BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a gorgeous place with very friendly people and beautiful views. The area of California beautiful and this place is nestled into the surroundings perfectly. And the breakfast! Well it was superb. I really did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There was no pool but a great jacuzzi. We stayed in the King with fireplace, there wasn't a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
184
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was maybe the most special place we stayed out of the 4 hotels on our Cali trip. I will forever remember lounging at their outdoor patio, having a drink with my husband, relaxing at the end of a wonderful day of wine tasting. Then, to have one of the gentlemen from the office come up the steps and bring us cinnamon peanuts because he said we looked so comfortable and wanted to make it even better! That's how they are here. Chris, who welcomed us and showed us around is awesome. The chef is so kind and he really cared if you liked the breakfast that was served in the morning (which everyone did). It's nice because it's not like a B&B where you have to sit at the same table with strangers, there are tables scattered in the room and you can sit with whom you like. The rooms, while not huge, are really modern and have snacks/drinks, heated bathroom floor, quiet ductless air conditioning, a great TV. One tiny minus maybe having the bathroom very close to the bed - kind of hard to be completely private. We had room 1, which was closest to the main bldg. and outside lounge area. It's in a sleepy little town (I recommend eating at the Inn and getting the tomato and mozzarella appetizer) but it's in the best location to see many of the great Sonoma wineries. People say you can walk to the restaurants, they are close by, but I wouldn't recommend it because the road, although small, is a main road and I think it would be dangerous in the dark. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of my brother's wedding party. The hotel is just lovely. We were granted early check in and our room was terrific - spacious, updated, and beautiful. The heated floors and remote-controlled thermostat are quite enjoyable. The daily breakfast and service is delicious, as is the staff and their willingness to help and accommodate. Even my 4-year-old girl loved it. The only thing I didn't like was being able to hear people walking to their rooms above me. But really, this is a truly a lovely hotel in Glen Ellen.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only one with a fridge. But the separate cottages are roomy and superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I live in the Bay Area about an hour and a half from Sonoma and decided for our 40th Anniversary to take a few days and stay in Glen Ellen and do some biking, wine tasting, and relaxing. I found the hotel on trip Advisor and liked the reviews and chose it based on that. I expected a pleasant stay, I didn't expect that this would be the best hotel we've ever stayed in. None of the 4 season's, or Ritz's came close to our experience here. The management was the most gracious, the food was outstanding, the accommodations were superb. Anyone looking for a small property, (10 rooms) exceptional hospitality, must try this hotel. Not a 5 star but a 6 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Olea Hotel in Glen Ellen and could not have been happier with our experience. We stayed in a Hillside King room and it was lovely. Not a huge space, but plenty of room for the two of us. The beds were comfortable, the room was well stocked including complimentary water and snacks, and the bathroom was lovely - an oversized massaging showerhead, natural EO bath products, and drawers for your toiletry bags were fantastic. Breakfast was to die for (we literally looked forward to eating each morning) and consisted of pastries, poached eggs on tomato pesto biscuits with italian sausage and blueberry mascarpone crepes just to name a few of our favourite items. In the afternoon complementary wine was always available in the lobby and at night they hosted after dinner wines and dessert pairing ... all included!! We made use of the hot tub (with complimentary robes) and sat on the beautiful terrace at night with a bottle of locally purchased wine. For dinner - we recommend Olive & Vine or the Glen Ellen Star ... both great! You cannot go wrong choosing this hotel for your stay in the Sonoma Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My daughter & I spent a long Mother's Day weekend at Olea and couldn't have had a more wonderful stay! Waking up every morning to the coffee and wonderful breakfast, touring the wineries and then coming back to the hotel was like coming back home. Kent was so gracious and helpful---we miss him dearly! We can't wait to go back! Excellent, excellent stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Do not come to the Olea for the rooms -- although they are stylish and comfortable with possibly the finest bed linens we have ever slept on, they are also small and mostly view-less. But you will not care as you will be spending your time outdoors on the wonderful oak-shaded terrace at the rear of the inn, sipping your afternoon wine (included), or capping your evening with a dessert "bite" and more dessert-style wine, or savoring the gourmet breakfast (with mimosas if desired), all the while feeling truly welcome by the friendly staff. I could go on and on, but just believe what others have written. This is a very small inn (not really a hotel), but for us the memories will be amongst the finest we'll treasure from a fairly well-traveled life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.