We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olea Hotel

Save Saved
You added Olea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Olea from March 17-20th. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations and the hospitality extended us. Kent, Chris, Khambay and Laura made our stay at the Olea Hotel a very memorable one. The breakfasts prepared by Khambay and Laura were exceptional. The hospitality and assistance provided by Kent and Chris was very much appreciated. Needless to say we enjoyed our stay at the Olea Hotel and we look forward to staying there sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
164
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent one night here on a recent trip to Sonoma and it lived up to every expectation. From the cosy rooms, full of sweet touches like snacks, dvd player and iphone dock, to the beautiful surroundings, hot tub, complimentary wine and AMAZING 3 course breakfast this place is perfection.

The staff couldn't have been sweeter and I can honestly say I would have given anything to be able to stay for longer.

I couldn't recommend Olea enough... go go GO!

Room Tip: We were in a standard room and it was perfect but if it's a special occasion i'd splash out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming hotel in Glen Ellen exceeded expectations in every way, starting with the warm welcome from Chris. The rooms were beautiful and so comfortable I wanted to take the bed and the rainshower shower head home. The evening happy hour in the back garden was a marvelous way to end the day. Olea advertised "gourmet breakfast" but that doesn't come close to describing the fabulous offerings, including homemade marmalade that had us wanting to lick the jars. Don't miss the fresh fruit scones that melt in your mouth. As a bonus, there are several excellent restaurants in Glen Ellen that are easy walking distance (be careful; no sidewalks.) Bring your bathing suit to enjoy the hot tub in the garden. If we could give 7 out of 5, we would.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong with any room. They also offer cottages, which we did not see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at the Olea and wished we had been able to stay longer. The staff were wonderfully obliging and we even had two deer turn up on our doorstep (room 8) one afternoon. The breakfasts were the best we've ever had and we will be back on our next trip to CA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife, Ruth, and I booked a four-night stay at the Olea Hotel via SniqueAway. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, it appeared that this would be a special place. We were not disappointed! The staff was SO friendly and helpful (Kent Sorensen helped us so much with dining options, places to go and see, as well as waivers of the tasting fees at a whole host of Sonoma Valley wineries). The kitchen staff let us use their freezer and refrigerator for storing some perishable purchases, gave us some ideas for where to purchase some specialty groceries we were looking for, and the executive chef (Khambay Khamsyvoravong) graciously warmed up a leftover pizza for us (in her oven, not the microwave!) from the nearby Glen Ellen Star restaurant. The other staff (Chris, Julie, and Devesh) were also very friendly and helpful with sightseeing ideas, detailed directions, and serving our every need with care and thoughtfulness. Julie was very helpful and prompt in e-mail correspondence prior to our visit.

We stayed in one of the two cottages (#10) which was delightful - impeccably clean and so nicely furnished. The cottages have high peaked ceilings which give them a very large "feel." The cottages have a real wood-burning fireplace (with DuraFlame logs provided). The bathroom is very stylish with a heated tile floor, the best shower head we've ever experienced, and an elegant all clear glass wash basin and counter. Two pairs of bathrobes (one pair for trips to the hot tub and one for inside the cottage) are provided. Complementary snacks and bottled water are provided in the rooms (not to mention evening complementary wines in the reception area!). The cottages are "down low" on the property so they don't have the same view as further up on the hill (for example, the top floor of the building housing Rooms 1 through 8). They are, however, just a few steps away from the gorgeously landscaped and furnished hot tub area (see the accompanying photo).

The breakfasts included with the room rate were worthy of an elegant upscale restaurant. Each breakfast included a "continental breakfast" (I'll call it an appetizer) consisting of (while we were there) yummy miniature strawberry ginger scones, lemon poppy seed muffins, berry Dutch crunch coffee cake, house-made honey granola (verified - we saw Chef Khambay making it!), and assorted local yogurts. These were all served buffet style. The reception area had a wide selection of juices, coffee, and tea. After sitting down and enjoying the "appetizer" we were served by the very friendly and helpful Devesh Patel (the brother of the owner): a first course of an Olea olive oil rosemary muffin, house-made marmalade and seasonal fruit (different each day) followed by the main course (see the accompanying photos). All the entrées (as well as the first course) were elegantly plated and delicious. A nice touch was the handsomely laid-out menu provided at each place setting. Some of the other reviews have suggested that the portions are small. We did not find this to be the case. We both found the breakfasts filling and so satisfying. The only disappointment was that the breakfast entrée on our fourth day was a repeat of the first day's entrée - it was just as delicious the second time around, but we were looking forward to a fourth example of Chef Khambay's artistry.

Finally, if you have not previously visited the Sonoma Valley (as we had not), the Glen Ellen area is extremely picturesque and the Olea Hotel and its grounds are snuggled into the Sonoma hillside so very smartly making this a superb location for spending your time here.

Bottom line: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. We could not have received any better service nor a better lodging experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two cottages. Number 10 is further from the street than Number 9. We heard n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A quiet, yet conveniently located hostelry nestled in Glen Ellen, found via T.A. and "Snique Away". We stopped one night w/c 15th. April on our trip through Sonoma Valley.
From the moment we arrived late afternoon; the experience was nothing short of excellence in many aspects; including the "welcome" from Chris and immediate help/assistance on the choices of dining, approx. 6 minutes walk from Olea. (Chris also helped on Winery choices/visits).
We stopped in Room 7 on the second (top) deck & the lookout, from the porch furniture, enjoying a complimentary glass of chilled wine went down very well, following our drive north from San Francisco that afternoon!
The room was well appointed and bed/pillows VERY comfortable. The "Californian Breakfast" of freshly baked Scones/Buns, followed by fruit/yogurt or a hot plate (European portion) was ideal start to the day!
Cannot forget Julie, who also provided a warm/professional charm @ Breakfast that topped off a very pleasing stop-over. We spoke to a couple of guests from Washington State, who had stopped @ Olea for 3 nights & their experience mirrored our sentiments above.

Room Tip: Room 7 on top deck was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I spent four days at the Olea Hotel and had a fantastic stay. Our room was clean and quiet with a great view out to the mountains and a semi private lounge space. It also had those little high end details you always look for including a rainfall shower head and heated floors in the bathroom.

Olea also provided a rotating plated gourmet breakfast each morning that made you never consider leaving the hotel for breakfast and wine / desert tasting each night. Both of these treats were very social in nature and led us to meet other people staying at the hotel.
The hotel is very much the boutique style hotel so only had 10 or so rooms. This allowed us and the staff to get to know each other on a first name basis. Made us feel like we were staying with friends.

It goes without saying but I must say it… We were spoiled and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.