We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Olea Hotel to your Saves list
Olea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a quaint B&B with modern comfortable rooms (heated floors!), they are lovely but what makes this place stand out is attention to detail and the service. The service here really is, as all the other reviews state, above and beyond. There are too many thoughtful details to list, but trust me you are taken care of from check-in to check-out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
171
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love a place that is detail oriented, and the Olea gets the details right. It's oozing with amenities. From the three-course included breakfast, to the free dessert and wine pairing, to the organic bath products and the water and snacks in our room, we felt totally spoiled and never nickled and dimed. Add in the friendly staff, comped tastings at local wineries and super comfy wine-country decor. The Olea has quickly become our favorite Sonoma spot.

Only thing to note is you cannot walk out the door at Olea and be at the shops and restaurants of Glen Ellen. Olea is set on a residential street. You'll have to drive to dinner.

Think about springing for one of the cottages. Cottage 9 is adorable, super clean, and has a cozy (real!) fireplace. And its right next to the hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything about the Olea is quality!
Pure pleasure in every thoughtful detail.
The painstaking renovation of this charming spot sets the tone for the level of quality you will experience throughout your stay. We highly recommend the Olea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had heard a lot of good things about this place, but every aspect exceeded expectations! Amazing! Four Seasons type service at a 10 room hotel/B&B!

We arrive and Ken at the front desk spent the time to recommend restaurants, gave us a book for free wine tastings at a lot of wineries in the area, then after listening to what we liked, recommended some wineries. He was right on the money for both the food and the wine! After dinner dessert with a wine pairing was really nice, but the bottle of champagne in the room blew me away.

The room itself was really nice and had a great bed, and the soaps, etc, were very nice as well. By the way, the heated floor in the bathroom is a nice touch on a chilly morning.

Breakfast was special. Three course complimentary breakfast? Amazing!

All in all, an amazing, relaxing experience. No screaming kids, the guests were friendly and nice, and everyone that works there makes you feel appreciated and special.

I can't wait to go back when it's warmer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful but short stay at this bed and breakfast. Fantastic gourmet food, including a dessert and wine pairing and breakfast. The staff was warm, knowledgeable and accommodating. Can't wait to make a return trip and share our find with friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hidden gem! The grounds are beautiful and we look forward to returning this summer and sitting under the trees with a glass of wine when the days are longer. 3 or 4 great restaurants nearby in Glen Ellen to choose from followed the next morning with breakfast at the Olea where the staff was friendly and attentive and the food exceptional...and I am not usually a breakfast person! Spacious room and bathroom. Clean as can be - very comfortable. Thanks, Kent!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found this place hidden just 5 miles off the main route between Santa Rosa and Sonoma. We were thrown into a happy party of couples enjoying a wine tasting from a local vintner. That spun off into conversations lasting most of the evening. Later there was the opportunity to soak in a hot tub that was in a grove of trees. Our room was newly remodeled, with warming bathroom floors, large tv, very comfortable bed. Someone spent a lot of money on making this place modern and tasteful. The breakfast was so good, we had to take a picture. Maybe 100 winery tasting room are within a few miles of this place. Not to be missed if you want to get off the grid with someone you adore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.