We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple elegance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olea Hotel

Save Saved
You added Olea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What a great stay...made reservations for 2 nights and loved every moment.location is great as it is close to all sonoma wineries,the property is clean and welcoming.nice deck thst u can have wine or read a book.the room is elegant and well equipped.u can rent free dvd movies if u like and in the reception there is always complimentry wine,ice tea etc..
Breakfast is great and changes daily and there r tasty desserts every night...
The service is very good and friendly.
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
165
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I purchased two nights at the Olea Hotel in a Groupon. It recently opened and had already created quite a buzz. It was the best Groupon EVER! First of all, Olea is in a beautiful location with great views of the valley from some of the rooms and very tasteful landscaping with fig trees, olive trees and oaks throughout the property.

There is a hot tub and a wonderful deck to read, relax, or take a late afternoon nap. The entire ambiance is understated, relaxed elegance. The breakfast was prepared by a gourmet chef who was more than willing to provide my husband with a gluten and dairy free meal that was marvelous -- even down to the walnut, cranberry gluten-free toast with homemade jam. The breakfast room was cozy with a great view.

Although the property is new and beautifully appointed, the most spectacular part of our our stay was the service and the people who worked there. I felt like they actually cared about us and got to know us a little bit. They were very helpful in providing some "local" bicycle routes for us while we were there. They took time to talk and laugh with us. And wine, olives, juice, tea, coffee, and snacks were provided around the clock for no additional cost. Although we didn't partake, we were invited to their nightly dessert wine tasting paired with delicious goodies.

Although we spent only two nights at Olea, my husband and I felt totally revitalized -- it seemed like we had taken a much longer vacation. I was so smitten with this property that I bought our daughter a night in one of the cottages for her birthday. We will have to experience Olea through her, but in the meantime we are planning our next visit. Don't miss this experience.

Room Tip: They are all good. We enjoyed our double queen with a view of the mountains. I don't think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Found this great new place to stay in Glen Ellen, CA. Wonderful touches, fabulous breakfast, Nice desserts.Lots of history on the grounds. Beautiful tree on patio deck and sitting area. Very friendly place. Great place to relax and have a glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Friends and I recently spent two night at Olea and it proved to be a wonderful choice. We were made to feel special from the first minute we arrived, and the attention to their guests' comfort was evident immediately. The amenities are exceptional , and the gourmet breakfasts outstanding. The hotel is in Glen Ellen, a quaint village with exceptional restaurants, and a far less commercial feel than Napa. This is a wonderful property that just opened and we can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The view from the upstairs rooms is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Olea. The hotel has been completely renovated, so everything was brand new. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was well equipped. Our bathroom had a bathtub with a partial glass enclosure in lieu of a shower curtain. It was slightly tricky stepping around the glass and out of the bathtub after a shower, so I wouldn’t recommend it for someone with mobility issues.

The breakfasts were out of this world. The chef is so talented. She selects the best local ingredients, and prepares a delicious breakfast. My husband really liked the chai tea – an unexpected treat.

After paying full price for our room, it was a bit disconcerting to learn that others had gotten their rooms for half price along with a bottle of champagne. We didn’t know about the coupon offer, so that’s the way it goes. We would’ve enjoyed the hotel even more at half price!

All in all, we’d stay at Olea again. Glen Ellen was a great home base for exploring wine country.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter and farther away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights in Glen Ellen at the Olea Hotel. I found the place online, after an exhaustive search, through pictures, reviews, and on and on. I was a bit nervous because I'm really not a fan of B&B's but there was little availability due to a valley-wide festival. Boy did we get lucky! The hotel was very clean and nicely done - both landscaping and decor. The staff could not have been kinder and more accommodating. When our wine tour bus pulled in to pick us up everyone commented on how cute the place was. My husband and I very much enjoyed the breakfasts, a 1 hour couples massage, sitting on the upper patio in the evening, and the quietness of the property. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our recent stay at Olea was amazing. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are not a customer; you are a guest in their home.Being in the hospitality industry for 20 years I can say with 100% certainty Olea is a special place owned/operated by special people. From the views, to the settings, to the food, to the small details, and most importantly their wonderful team...you can't beat it for whatever your get-a-way reason is.

Room Tip: Every room is easily accessible and as equally charming so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd., Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.