We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beltane Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beltane Ranch to your Saves list
Beltane Ranch
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had first seen this spot in The Five Year Engagement, and it looked pretty cool. We booked a night to get away and spend some time outside San Francisco and check it out with an eye towards a possible wedding. It was amazing. The staff was very cool, the food was incredible, and we had an amazing day and night on a gorgeous property with lots to explore.

Very close to Sonoma for dinner and an afternoon walk (we did both), and easy to get to the awesome grocery in Glen Ellen for a bottle of wine and some cheese to enjoy (did that too).

Very romantic, loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    17
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Can't say enough about how idyllic this place is. Beautiful rural area, wonderful people running it and cozy, comfortable rooms. Tranquil views of gardens and orchards are wonderful when there they're drenched in rain or in sun. Delicious home-made breakfasts outside and great coffee. Perfect for romance - you can even get married on the grounds. Or come alone and just relax. Very close to wineries.

Room Tip: The cottage with wrap-around deck is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was really just wonderful. I cannot say enough good things. From the minute we drove up the long driveway I was in love with the look and feel of it. We were only there for one night and really wish we could've stayed longer. We stayed in room 2 which was very spacious. Both staff members we interacted with were lovely and eager to make recommendations for restaurants, walks etc. They make their own olive oil which they gave us to try and also make their own wine. Lots of trails/small back roads to walk in that take you past the vineyards, through the olive trees etc. and lots of beautiful outdoor spaces, swings, hammocks to sit and read a book. Great location near lots of great wineries, about 10-15 minutes from sonoma. Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 10 which was nice to have that flexibility that many bed and breakfasts don't give you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a wonderful place. A working ranch with horses, cows, chickens, etc. They have lush gardens with beautiful flowers and herbs that grow like hedges. Fig trees with ripe figs just there for the picking (it's OK to pick) along with olive trees and grape vines. The hosts and their employees are special people that just exude love. A special mention goes out to Angie who helped us out of a little jam we got ourselves into. We stood in the Cottage,the accommodations are rustic, no TV but who cares. The breakfasts prepared by the owner are divine and the company around the breakfast table was indeed friendly and intellectually stimulating. If you are not inclined towards a communal breakfast they will bring yours right to your room. They also produce an estate Sauvignon Blanc that is to die for. This is just a wonderful place run by wonderful people you can't miss here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

. . . then this is the place for you. Beltane is a sprawling, actual working ranch, where they also happen to grow some tasty grapes. Once you hit the long driveway off the Sonoma Highway, you'll realize you're headed somewhere special. Stunning rural views overlooking the valley, impressive flower and produce gardens, along with tree orchards that dominate the landscape so much that you might be surprised to find a tennis court in the midst of it all (the only sight I found to be out of place). The two-story main house is late 1890s vintage (there's also a cottage for those with deeper pockets) with a wraparound deck complete with porch swings on the second level. If that's not enough to make you think you've found nirvana, then the breakfasts -- cooked with the produce grown on the ranch -- definitely will. My wife and I stayed two nights and during that time met a couple who've been going to Beltane for 20 years, and another couple who had just eloped and had their ceremony on the grounds. Yep, this place seems perfect for just about anybody looking for total R&R. Makes me want to 'retire' and inquire about being a ranch hand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Beltane Ranch in June 2012 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The ranch is beautiful and charming. It is located on a big property, in the middle of the vineyards (they make their own wine). They have a beautiful garden with tons of plants and fruit trees. The place is really peaceful.
We had an upstairs room (room 3). The room was big, very well-decorated. The bed was really comfortable. The old-fashioned bathroom was very clean. The best part of our stay was the afternoon we spent on the balcony in front of our room, drinking a bottle of white wine from the ranch (which is very good by the way) while looking at Sonoma's gorgeous landscape... The ranch even offered us a half bottle of wine as our stay was for a special occasion.
The breakfast was really good, with fruits from the property. The staff can serve the breakfast on the balcony in front of your room or downstairs in the dining room.
The staff was really welcoming and helpful. They can provide information about wineries, restaurants and activities in the area.
In a nutshell, we loved our stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a night in mid October together with relatives - in room #3 on the 1. floor and in the cottage. Very nice accomodation, and wonderfull views over the wine- and olive fields.
Bought a bottle of "their own" white wine, to enjoy on the balcony - their second vintage, but what a nice bottle of wine.
Rooms big and comfortable, and very clean.
Interesting breakfast made with homegrown figs and other high quality ingredients.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beltane Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltane Ranch

Address: 11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beltane Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the wine country and surrounded by estate gardens, vineyards and orchards, the historic Beltane Ranch sits on a hill overlooking the breathtaking Valley of the Moon. Guests enjoy walking trails, a tennis court, home grown produce and olive oil and incomparable sunsets on the sprawling grounds. The historic wineries, extraordinary cuisine and boutique shopping of the Sonoma Valley make for endless opportunities for adventure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beltane Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltane Ranch Hotel Glen Ellen
Beltane Ranch Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beltane Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.