We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel for one night stay - but would not recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gilroy Inn

Save Saved
You added Gilroy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilroy Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   611 Leavesley Road, Gilroy, CA 95020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Gilroy
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK hotel for one night stay - but would not recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We staying for one night during a shopping trip to the Gilroy outlet. As far as location, it is within walking distance from the outlet, the rooms are OK, but nothing more. They were cleanish, but really I would look elsewhere unless you are on a really tight budget (it was less that U$60 per night).

Room Tip: If you can, ask for rooms at the lower level, so you don´t have to carry your luggage up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Checking in was easy.. The owner and his wife were pleasant. The rooms were dark. It when you switched on all the lights, it is bright enough. The rooms smell fresh unlike some of the hotels we stayed. All the facilities work - particularly the air conditioner.

The room is clean and comfortable. They are lots of electrical outlets - 10 at least in my room. This is important if you need to charge multiple equipment. The wireless is acceptable and free.

The key uses Denny's image. I was told we will get a good percent discount.

Though near the malls and the freeway, it is not noisy..

If you can, ask for units on the second level.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Sequoia National Park.
The inn is close to the freeway, but we not disturbed by traffic noise.
The room was a little dark, but ok. The aircon was well functioning and without noise.
The breakfast was only a cake in plastic and coffee, but instead we crossed the street and had a nice breakfast at Denny's where we got 10% off showing our key card from the inn.
We wouldn't mind too stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was planning to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn but didn't make a reservation and they were full. I went to three other hotels - all full - and none of them suggested the Gilroy Inn. I noticed it driving past and almost didn't stop. I had given up on finding anything in Gilroy (it's the Monterey Car Week) and was about to drive back to San Jose. I stopped here and I'm very glad I did. I paid $85, which is more than the rates I see online for tonight but it's cheaper than the rates at most of the hotels that didn't have vacancies.

The surprising thing is that it's actually quite decent. The room seems very clean and it has a microwave and refrigerator and relatively modern furnishings. The bathroom is quite clean and has a granite counter and plenty of soaps and shampoos. It is next to a gas station, which I suppose could be noisy but so far it doesn't seem to be a problem. The TV is not a flat screen but I wasn't planning on watching it anyway. The internet is fast and easy to join. I'm pleasantly surprised.

I chose this place because it was the only one available but after having experienced it I may stay here again because it's clean and good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It was close and easy to find, we could not check in early. Busy for the Gilroy Garlic Festival and VERY EXPENSIVE. (My brother booked it). It was clean, but our room 108 smelled when you walked in. (108). No hair dryer, shampoo is in tear open packets. Nice thick towels, no hair dryer. Free small Fridge in room, a plus, bed was comfortable, just enough parking. It is walkable to the Outlet Malls. The Garlic Festival was fun. Outlet malls are way expensive, Palm springs has much better deals. Eat at the Black Bear a few blocks up. AMAZING. ALl in all a nice experience but not one I care to repeat (except for the food at the Black Bear). For what we paid I would give it a poor, but we paid high because of demand, for $50 like what I see others have paid, it would be a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Nice price, nice host, but not a very nice place. Smelly outside because of burgerplace next door. The room was clean, but still kind of disgusting (old, worn down). Thin walls.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We just wanted to stay one night where near to the Premium Factory Outlets, Gilroy so that we picked this on Orbitz. After tax, we paid $50 with change which we thought it was what we wanted.

It's an old inn and little noisy. Parking and Internet was free of charge and very minimal choice of breakfast which we did not even have it while checking out the next day. Ask for the hair dryer if you need one, and check if there is funny smell before you use it.

There was an outdoor pool onsite but I doubted people would ever swim there. Ice machine was located downstairs and easy to find along with other vending machines. Upper level was accessible by stairs only which located to be part of the parking lot.

Denny's just across the street from the place, and 2 min walk to the nearest factory outlets (as Premium Outlets contained 3 sites). Wal-mart Supercentre and Target were 10 min drive from here.

Not much to say but if you've the money, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: wifi signal vary in diff room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilroy Inn

Address: 611 Leavesley Road, Gilroy, CA 95020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Gilroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilroy Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gilroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gilroy
Gilroy Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilroy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.