We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
395 Leavesley Rd, Gilroy, CA 95020-3606
408-842-9901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 115 Restaurants in Gilroy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Breakfast was just average, nothing to write home about. Price was high. I cannot recommend the biscuit, it was huge and heavy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice hamburgers for healthy apetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The Burger and Sandwich we chose were big, but not enoumous. However deserts were BIG and could well have been shared.
A box came home for next day lunch...

Waiters were many, but they did a few slips in the service. Everything easily sorted out and I would go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Black Bear Diner seems to confirm its excellent reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I ate there this evening. I was tempted to order their chicken-fried steak, which gets rave reviews, but I had chicken-fried steak somewhere else last night so I opted for their fish and chips. As I'm fond of saying (in an approving manner), it was too much food. The fish was very flaky and the breading was light, just as good fish and chips should be, so even if the fish was frozen (which I imagine it was), they have a good supplier. The cole slaw was better than most I've had. Service was fast and friendly. I'd definitely go there again, and if I do, I'll be sure not to have chicken-fried steak the night before.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“short walk from the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We make a bee line for the black bear when staying at the Forest inn. we do not have diners like this in the UK so is a great novelty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow--Huge Servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had read reviews and didn't pay attention to comments about the size of the orders. They ARE large. We enjoyed our breakfast but could have shared one meal instead of the two we ordered. Good home style food, great service and prices. Many, many choices and everything looked good as we watched orders going to other diners. Liked the decor inside, the little ones would enjoy wandering over to see the gift selections. We'll be stopping here on any trips through Gilroy in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.