We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot............” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   375 Leavesley Road, Gilroy, CA 95020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Nice Spot............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Have stayed here on a number of occassions. It used to be in pretty sad shape, but in recent years they have done a nice renovation. Since then, the rooms are nice and comfortable. Good spot to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    113
    59
    20
    12
See reviews for
120
79
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in the "Family Suite" over the weekend. It was the 2 bd/ 1 and 1/2 bath. It was not quite what I expected from pictures and reviews. We had to change rooms because first suite only had 1 bath. Front desk was visibly annoyed with our change. The beds were comfy but rooms small - especially the one with single queen. Barely room to turn around in especially the half bathroom (no counter space). Only one TV in room with the two queens. It was small - and out dated - sound was funky. Difficult to hear over heater running without being overly loud. Small frigerator was in the closet. Bathroom was dated with standard size tub. Exterior also dated with what seemed to be truckers in the area. It was quiet but they were smoking outside the door ways frequently as we passed in and out of the building. Laundry on property was convienent. Breakfast was okay - a positive is the small menu variations day to day. Staff at breakfast was great - very attentive, polite, and responsive. It was clean but the dated carpet and tile took away from this factor.

Room Tip: If you need more than one room, it is better to get the second room than to try to save costs by boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

we stayed at the forest park inn for one night, and it was one of the best nights of our whole trip!
the room and the bed were very big, clean with updated design. The breakfast was really good with alot of options to choose from.

if you are on a road trip, going on highway one and tired looking for a place to sleep- this is it!
great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Comfortable:
Great beds with soft bedding... we could have slept all day if we didn't have to get to Palo Alto
Easy to use/romantic fireplace
Clean and newly renovated
Very quiet

Charming:
An unexpected tennis court!
Very friendly staff

Convenient:
We were driving from LA to Palo Alto... without any traffic (late night) it was 4.5 hours from LA, and a little less than an hour from Palo Alto. We chose to stay over night here because the hotel is a MUCH better value than the hotels closer to P.A.

We would stay here again and would absolutely recommend it to others, especially if traveling by car from SoCal to Silicon Valley

Room Tip: I'm not sure if the whole hotel has been renovated... ask to stay in the new section for the nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

After a long, tedious day of driving from South Orange County to the San Jose area on I-5, we somehow found ourselves at a good stopping point in Gilroy, the Garlic Capital of the World. While there are a few inns near the acres-long and -wide outlet mall across the highway, we stayed at the Best Western Forest Park Inn, closer to what would be the older part of downtown Gilroy.
By 7 p.m., we were hungry and minivan-happy, and this Best Western looked like the place to unwind. We unpacked and stretched out on the clean beds with the bedspreads folded down while my 12-year-old performed her bedbug inspection routine. It passed! We ambled over to the restaurant on the premises, the Black Bear Diner, for home-cooked pot roast and tilapia,
We ended up staying another night, because the location was close to San Jose, and Gilroy is quiet and lowkey. The inn's breakfast was better than most I've had at Best Westerns, with fresh fruits, eggs, waffles, and muffins and breads that tasted like they came from a local bakery and not from a Little Debbie box.
Everything was clean and quiet, and the front desk service was especially helpful with directions into San Jose and Santa Clara, even providing a Google Maps printout.
Would I return? Certainly. My kids loved the koi pond and bridge just outside the front office. And on our first evening, when I stepped out of the minivan, a wind kicked up the scent of fresh garlic from local fields. For garlic lovers - that's a heavenly aroma.

Room Tip: To ensure a quiet stay, choose a unit toward the back of the property and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn. Our staff is so glad that you enjoyed the wonderful services we offer! Gilroy has much more to offer during your next stay, such as the Gilroy Gardens theme park. It is a wonderful outing to enjoy with the kids! We look forward to seeing you again at the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Room 328 has a nice 32 inch flat panel TV - however it is bolted to a flat wall and does not tilt - so you can't watch it while laying in bed - There is one chair across from the TV but I like to lay in bed and watch tv.

They have limited channels and no HD channels - Why install an nice HD flat panel with no HD channels - the volume fluctuated between channel and the picture within the screen was set on a narrow wide picture instead of full picture and the occcupant can not correct it because the setup buttons on the tv and remote are disabled. The picture on many channels had snow like in the olden days when someone turned on an electrical appliance near a tv.

So in the end yoiu have a nice TV with snow a poor picture that only uses 50% of the actual screen size and can't watch TV from the bed

4 canned recessed lights on 4 differrent switches, hidden behind lamps and other furnishings
The light over the desk is controlled by the light switch by the front door. 2 lights are either are burned out.

The wall mounted heater fan is so loud that you can not hear the TV over the fan.
The heater fan does not go off on Auto you have to turn it off and then the room gets cold.

The tiniest microwave ever - a bag of popcorn will not even fit in it.

The Refrigerator was off (to save energy) but never got cold even overnight.

The bed was was comfortable and the gas fire place is a nice touch

In the end I would rather have functional working things then nice decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceano, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been staying often on business. The rooms I have been have been comfortable with updated amenities. I greatly appreciate the wireless access, the fitness center and the included breakfast.

The entrance hall to each room reminds me a little of "Dad's remodeled basement" but there are nice desks with chair to work at and the toilet/shower is separate from the vanity in the bathroom. A small refrigerator is inside the closet with mirrored doors.

The fitness center has a good selection of equipment; I note that the nordic trac has been out of order for some time. I do appreciate the TV, towels and cold water available. Breakfast area has plenty of seating, make your own waffle irons, some fresh fruit. Bacon day is great! Mild salsa in addition to the hot sauce offered would help the egg selection. There is a selection of cereals, breads, pastries, and oatmeal packets. Coffee, tea, milk, etc.

Plenty of parking and an adjoining Black Bear diner. Reasonably priced and just a short distance from the Outlets. Friendly, helpful desk staff.

Room Tip: I prefer bottom floor for easier access to the car and the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn

Address: 375 Leavesley Road, Gilroy, CA 95020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Gilroy hotel offering all the comforts and conveniences of home and near key area attractions and businesses.Whether traveling on business or staying for a relaxing getaway, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn is the ideal place to stay. Located in Gilroy, California, guests staying at this hotel will be treated to all the comforts of home while being conveniently located to a variety of area businesses and attractions.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn offers beautifully appointed guest rooms all with private balconies to enjoy the peaceful Gilroy nights. Each warm and spacious guest room at this Gilroy hotel comes fully equipped with a refrigerator, coffeemaker, cable satellite television with HBO®, in-room movies, Nintendo® and high-speed internet access. Guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, spa and steam room, exercise facility and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 150 guests.Within a short car ride from the hotel, guests can enjoy spending the day touring a variety of area wineries. Families especially will enjoy being located just three miles from Gilroy Garden Theme Park. Shopping enthusiasts will appreciate this hotel's close proximity to the Gilroy Premium Outlet Mall. Gilroy also hosts a variety of events year round including the Gilroy Garlic Festival and Hollister Biker Rally.Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Forest Park Hotel Gilroy
Best Western Forest
Best Western Gilroy
Gilroy Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.