We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop on by” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locals Tasting Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Locals Tasting Room
Geyserville Ave. At Hwy. 128, Geyserville, CA
(707) 857-4900
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Activities in Geyserville
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Santa Rosa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stop on by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you are out going to wineries this can be a great first stop.
Lots of wines and very knowledable staff to let you know what is what...gift shop section has some interesting items

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Fran
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One stop shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Good place to make a stop if you don't have lots of time to explore the area wineries.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting in Sonoma County/The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Sonoma/Napa areas of California are ripe with wine tasting opportunities; so many that we were overwhelmed on our recent trip there. Many wineries offer tastings of their products, most with fees. At these tasting rooms you will be offered 4 or 5 wines. We dropped in at Locals Tasting Room in the middle of Geyserville and found the absolute best spot for wine tasting. Locals is owned by Carolyn Lewis, and she represents some 11 wineries with over 70 wines available. Tastings at Locals are FREE! We had a great visit, chatting with Sharon about her favorite wines, learning the "scoop" about this or that winery, and when we left some 2 hous later, we had tasted 23 wines! Yikes! We ended up buying a case which was conveniently shipped to our home. Great place with a casual local atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We had an incredibly fun evening! Everyone loved Locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My partner planned a week long, 50th birthday celebration for me and the week included a special event at Locals Tasting Room. We had visited two times in past years and he knew how much I liked it. It has a wonderful atmosphere and is so much more personal than the massive tasting rooms. locals allowed us to have the place to ourselves on a Monday evening. The twelve of us had so mch fun tastting wine, hearing from two of the vineyard owners and sharing stories with Carolyn and Bill.

Carolyn did a great job of organizing and we loved the appetizers from the restaurant next door. In fact, after a couple of hours in the tasting room, our group moved next door for dinner for delicious pizzas and more of the wines we had sampled. It was a night I will always remember and I would recommend this ti all. We have been members of the wine club for years and our friends eagerly signed up at the event. Thank you, Locals,

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude employee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I went to the Locals based upon other reviews I had read on tripadvisor that mentioned how great the place was and how friendly the staff was. The location was convenient, however the person working was anything but friendly. I was with a group of ladies in our late twenties to early thirties and the guy behind the bar didn't acknowledge us when we walked in or during the five minutes or so while we browsed the trinkets and bottles in the shop. I finally went up to the bar to initiate a tasting and upon saying hello to the bartender he said hi and went on ignoring our group. There were only two other people in the room, so he was clearly not too busy to offer pleasantries. I will not return here and am very disappointed that this establishment would employ such a rude, inattentive person when their sales are based largely on the employees. My group left and drove to Sausal Winery, which had a great, knowledgeable lady behind the bar who introduced the group to some wonderful zinfandels and everyone bought a few bottles to bring home.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locals Tasting Room also viewed

Geyserville, Sonoma County
 
Geyserville, Sonoma County
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Locals Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locals Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.