We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good tasting experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geyser Peak Winery

Geyser Peak Winery
2306 Magnolia Drive, Geyserville, CA 95441
+1 707-857-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 23 Activities in Geyserville
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of California's oldest and most award-winning wineries, Geyser Peak was founded in 1880, a pioneer in Sonoma County. Our winery consistently garners some of the most prestigious awards in winemaking, including Winery of the Year and Winemaker of the Year honors. Its outstanding team of winemakers and viticulturalists are noted for fruit-forward,food-friendly wines from prime vineyard sources in Sonoma County. We invite you to visit our new winery on Westside Road and experience Geyser Peak first hand.
Carpintera, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very good tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived around 4 pm and, luckily, the room was empty. Not only did the lady behind the counter offer us comparison wines not on the tasting list she showed us an Atlas Peak wine bottle which can be purchased in stores. The other wines we tasted required club membership. We appreciated the special effort and will return for another tasting!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very nice gewurztraminer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were more impressed with their white wine selection than the red, but they were friendly and the winery is quite nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as the first visit...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Let me start off by saying that we are Geyser Peak wine club members and have been since 2010. Their member discount makes purchasing wine from them a "no brainer". However, during this visit to Geyser Peak, the private tasting room was closed for renovation and the tasting room guy wouldn't let us taste anything that wasn't on the standard tasting room menu. I think they lost out on a lot of sales that day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Ca.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disppointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited the winery this past week with another couple and were disappointed for two reasons. First, the wine tasting passes we obtained from our inn were not honored and we were still charged full price. Second,when my friend asked if the charges for tasting would be waived if we purchased wine, the answer was no. We would still be charged for the tastings. We had visited several wineries earlier in the day and no charge was made for tasting when we purchased wine. The setting of the winery is very nice but we will not return unless the aforementioned policy is changed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spent lots of time and money here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Nancy was our great tasting host and was very knowledgeable and fun. She poured wines to our tastes that were not necessarily on the tasting menu. Needless to say we spent a lot of time there and bought lots of wine. Great experience overall

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geyser Peak Winery also viewed

Geyserville, Sonoma County
 
Geyserville, Sonoma County
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Geyser Peak Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geyser Peak Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.