We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Kind Winery Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Ford Coppola Winery

Francis Ford Coppola Winery
300 Via Archimedes, Geyserville, CA 95441
707-857-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Activities in Geyserville
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Francis puts it best, saying the winery is “a wine wonderland, a park of pleasure where people of all ages can enjoy all the best things in life – food, wine, music, dancing, games, swimming and performances of all types. A place to celebrate the love of life.”PLEASE NOTE: Due to our food preparation permits, we are unable to invite pets inside the winery gates (including our pool area), with the exception of service animals. We apologize for any inconvenience.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of Kind Winery Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It's almost impossible to compare Coppola to other vineyards because it seems like it isn't really playing the same game as all the rest. In a way, this is best compliment a winery could get if patrons are open to new experiences. Only those expecting a typical tour and tasting will be put off by what Coppola offers. The wines that come the tasting fee are average, but only because you're not allowed to choose from all of the wines that the winery offers. But the wines themselves are not the main attraction. Rather, you can stare at the Godfather's car, his desk, memorabilia from Apocalypse Now, and more. Then, if you fancy a meal, there is a superb restaurant where outdoor seating and views of the valley are readily available. The food is sublime and moderately priced and the atmosphere is lively, and dare one say: Italian. As if that weren't enough, Coppola offers a pool with cabines, courts to play petanque and tons of outdoor areas to enjoy yourself. Come for the wine, but stay for the numerous other attractions!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    86
    32
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable experience at this winery. The museum with Coppola items from films was fascinating. The tasting area was cool, and the restaurant views from outside were perfect. Coupled with a great late May day, and it is a piece of paradise.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Winery, museum, two restaurants and a public swimming pool all in one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What an interesting experience! Definitely a one-of-a-kind winery, but I should have expected that from Coppola. Certainly worth a visit, if for no other reason than to see the actual desk and chair used in the Godfather movies by Don Corleone. For me and some other middle-aged men visiting when I was there, this was a religious experience in itself. The Oscars and other museum stuff were great too, but the desk and chair "in the flesh" were above and beyond.

This place is a winery, a museum, two restaurants and a public swimming pool all in one. Again, why am I so surprised? It is, perhaps, a bit over the top and before its time for laid-back Sonoma County. The staff were in attendance everywhere, almost like museum docents, and always ready to share their canned insight.

I hear the tour is not worth doing, and the wine itself is just okay. But I suspect many people don't go here for the wine, which is plentiful and the main attraction at so many smaller, more intimate places up and down almost every side street here.

Go here to relax at the pool, enjoy the view, have a bite to eat, and ask Don Corleone for a favor on the day of his daughter's wedding!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bocce Ball and Pinot Grigio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I reconnected with some friends playing Bocci Ball and drinking Pinot Grigio at Coppola's on Memorial Day. We had a great time. Excellent Location in Sonoma County.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Family Friendly Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is perfect to take the kids to. My 12 year old son enjoyed playing bocce ball and walking through the vineyards. We did not swim but the pool with large bar was nice. Great place to go and explore.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Ford Coppola Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Francis Ford Coppola Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Ford Coppola Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.