We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Love It (and Georgetown)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic American River Inn

The Historic American River Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Historic American River Inn to your Saves list
The Historic American River Inn
Main Street, Georgetown, CA 95634   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Georgetown
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“You'll Love It (and Georgetown)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed many times at the AMI and loved it each and every time.
We have experienced B and B's in many locations throughout the U.S. and Europe and this place is definetly on the must do list.

The Inn is furnished throughout with antiques and the experience of staying in an old Inn and coming down to a great breakfast in the morning is one you will relish.

We are now Georgetown residents after moving from SoCal a few years ago. We always looked forward to our Inn visits as well as wandering the few streets of the town.

Georgetown is a friendly place to ALL visitors and the staff of the American River Inn is not an exception.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over President's Weekend and we could not have been treated better. Will and his wife, the owners, really go out of their way to be wonderful hosts. The charming victorian is very clean, breakfasts and service were great and so was the vino in the evening. If anyone has a problem here they can only blame themselves. I felt very comfortable the whole time we were there and felt good about the private parking area they provide.
We look forward to our next year's visit.
Bob and Cindy Clopton

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay!! I was taken on to this trip up to the foothills for my birthday weekend. We were treated like royalty, breakfast was fantastic the two mornings we were there, and the innkeeper felt like family. Rooms were lavishly period-furnished and service was fantastic. We loved the 'happy hour' as well as the whole atmosphere of Georgetown. We WILL return!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the American River Inn in Georgetown, Ca for 1 night with 5 friends on the way to Gold Country. The Hotel is so lovely, there are only 12 rooms all decorated in Victorian style. Some rooms have bathrooms, some don't but this is typical for and old fashioned house (there are 2 common bathrooms in the hallway). Each room has it's own "face", very lovely and cosy. In the evening the owners Mary and Will provide complimentary sandwiches and wine, you can also relax in the backyard with jacuzzi, hamacks and lounge chairs. The breakfast is served in the traditional English style, on beautiful China, delicious and plenty. I felt home in this beautifull hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The American River Inn is a nice B&B located in a small town. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Will, the innkeeper is a very accommodating fellow who will do his best to make you feel at home.

However, I think the hotel doesn't quite hit the mark - Will seems overwhelmed with so many guests and there is a definite commercial atmosphere to the place, centered on the gift shop and all the stuffed dolls. There is an air of claustrophobia with every free space occupied by some trinket or object. The hors d'oeuvre were still refrigerator-cold when served; the bathtub didn't drain properly, and the toilet didn't flush completely, for examples.

All that being said, we would recommend the American River Inn for the hospitality, nice bed, and outstanding breakfast - and of course, Will.

Room Tip: Most rooms share a bath. There is no AC - only central swamp coolers, only in common areas, not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We bought our stay through Living Social and we were more than pleasantly surprised! The love and care put into the gorgeous decor says a great deal about Will And Maria's desire to make it comfy and make people want to return. Our room, #5, was beautifully decorated with antiques and made relaxing there desirable. Everything in the Inn brought to mind a elegant victorian hotel from an era we can only imagine. Betty, Maria's sister, served delicious breakfasts and was very friendly and gracious. We will definitly plan to return.

Room Tip: We loved room #5! It is on the second floor with private bath and access to the veranda. Ask for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I went here because of a LivingSocial deal that I had bought and I can't really say I regret staying at this B&B. Historic American River Inn was incredibly nice. It was clean and comfortable. Betty, the innkeeper, was really sweet and helpful. The breakfast served for both mornings were good, especially the apple pancakes and the h'ordeuvres were good, too. I would like to say I would come back here again, but the town wasn't exactly the greatest, from an Asian American's point of view. There were a lot of staring from the townspeople and couple uncalled and unprovoked rude comments made. None were racist, nor sexist, just rude and unfriendly. I wish everyone in the town was more like Betty. She was a true host.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic American River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic American River Inn

Address: Main Street, Georgetown, CA 95634
Location: United States > California > Georgetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic American River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic American River Hotel Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic American River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.