We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Garden Hotel
1625 W 158Th St, Gardena, CA 90247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gardena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Safe and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was a great find. We needed just a one night stay before starting a grueling 5 day mission trip. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. All room entrances were indoors which made it safer for two women. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. An elevator would have been nice but we made it. There is a lovely garden in thr back of the hotel. We walked around the shopping center behind the hotel and enjoyed the cultural experience. I will return for sure!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Manager at Pacific Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for posting a review for Hotel Pacific Garden.
All the staff are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Mu husband and I travel to Los Angeles on busy quite often and we have stayed at quite a few different hotels. For the past couple of years we have stayed exclusively at the Pacific Garden Hotel not only because of its convenience (across the street from the Pacific Plaza, and close to the 110 and 504 freeways) but mainly because of the cleanliness, quiet and spacious rooms as well as the friendly helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good nights sleep in a very safe and convenient area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I just wanted to let future visitors know that this is a very safe area. A large church across the street and in a nice quiet residential area.It is not creepy nor seedy as 2 others had stated. LOTS of good Japanese restaurants and stores as well as many other amenities nearby..Seems hotel was remodeled recently so should be a good value

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Keeping in mind the price paid, this place is not bad.

However, this hotel has seen better days. Furnishings and environment very much dated. The bed was very hard. No joke, sleeping on the carpet was probably softer than on the bed provided.

TV Japan available on the television so that was nice. Breakfast was better than I expected after reading some of the reviews here. Stayed only one night, can't imagine wanting to stay here extended nights.

Hotel is located next to a strip mall so it can get loud early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Manager at Pacific Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting the reviews of our property.

We have just finished the remodeling of our front area, and we also have changed the mattress of all the guest rooms recently.
The comfortableness of the beds are very important when you stay at a hotel, and I'm sorry to hear that you could not get comfortable sleep.
Our new mattress should provide more comfortable sleep to the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife (who is Japanese) and I travel to Gardena quite often. We usually stay at another hotel which was closed so we tried the PGH...what a disappointment. Although being located behind the Pacific Shopping center is a plus, with shops within walking distance, the lack of other amenities more than cancelled out the location. There is no elevator so you have to haul your own luggage up the stairs; the room was fairly clean, but certainly not immaculate. They offer a breakfast which turned out to be day old bento (lunch box) which neither my wife nor I found edible. Additionally the parking is in an open parking lot right on the street and since we travel on business and carry products with us we had to carry them up the stairs as well. In short, for the money I think there are many better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Manager at Pacific Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our property.
Your reviews are very valued and we will do our best to improve our services.

We do prepare fresh Japanese bento box breakfast every morning from Monday to Friday.
They are made fresh every morning, and not the leftovers from the previous day.
We also offer some fruits and breads every morning, including weekends.

We have rooms on the first floor and second floor.
Some guests prefer the second floor and others prefer the first floor.
If you would like specific rooms, please notify the front desk.
We will do our best to accommodate your request.
If you feel your room is inconvenient after check in or during your stay, please let us know.
We will try to arrange you another room for you as much as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Because it's a small hotel the staff remembers your face/name.
Breakfast is included and they had special Japanese breakfast during the holiday season and you have to sign up to get one every morning before 10:00 p.m. because they have to place an order for the exact number. When I forgot to write my name down, the staff reminded me to do so.
They were friendly and always greeted me upon entering the hotel
The rooms are spacious but very old.
Very reasonable, however.

If you are on budget, this hotel may be right for you.
(Everyone can speak Japanese so if you are Japanese you would love it as long as you don't mind staying at an old hotel)
There is a Japanese market, Chinese restaurant, Japanese bookstore, Tea station, etc behind the hotel so the location is pretty good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Manager at Pacific Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review!
I'm glad to hear that our staff was very helpful to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was our second stay at PGH. Despite requesting a nonsmoking room weeks in advance, my mother and I were put into a smoking room. Not only did the room stink, the carpet was dirty. When I moved a dinette table, it exposed a pile of nasty food crumbs under the pedestal. The light fixtures next to the bed had layers of dust on them. Because the hotel was full, they couldn't move us for the first 2 nights. The sheets were paper thin, the mattresses very hard, and the bedspreads had burn holes. They moved us for nights 3 and 4, but by then, our clothes and luggage reeked of smoke. The new room was a little cleaner, but still not up to par.

Despite the outdated furnishings, the rooms did have a high-def flat panel TV, which was great for viewing the Olympics. We also enjoyed the Japanese breakfast, and the front desk staff was nice, but overall we were disappointed and will not stay there again. They offered free internet service as compensation for the room mistake ($5 a day extra charge), but that seemed a little chintzy. The internet is high-speed but not wireless; you have to get a cable from the front desk by leaving a $20 deposit, which they did refund. The hotel badly needs updating, but it's a small oasis in the middle of a seedy area that doesn't appear to be getting any better and perhaps that's why they're not investing in upkeep. It may be the best Gardena has to offer -- I did feel secure staying there -- but I did notice a modern Japanese-style hotel down the road in Torrance that I will look into next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Manager at Pacific Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.
Our rooms are now all non smoking rooms and we ask guests to smoke in the garden area.
The odor issues are getting less frequent, but some guests might smoke in the rooms even all the rooms are non smoking and the smoking penalty is $300.
We are doing our best to eliminate the odor by carpet cleaning and repainting the walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Garden Hotel

Address: 1625 W 158Th St, Gardena, CA 90247
Location: United States > California > Gardena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.