We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardena Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gardena Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Gardena Terrace Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15902 S. Western Ave, Gardena, CA 90247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gardena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is brand new refurnished and it is very nice. The rooms were so nice for such a great price! The service is great as well. The man at the desk is so nice and the cleaning ladies are also delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was 30 minutes away from where we were out whole trip but kept coming back because the amazing quality!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    48
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
57
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melun, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived late due to our tardy plane (2am instead of 7pm) and there was someone there to welcome us !
The owners were very nice and very helpful the room was neat and clean not like at some of the other hotels !
Very comfortable bed and housekeeping did the room every single day ;)
The neighboorhood was sage
Only bad thing was the "breakfast" whixh was quite light. The coffee wasnt too good and the hoice for food was slim and sometimes nothing actually good was there to eat
Overall stay was very good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Looking at places to stay in the Hotel Tonight app, and this one popped up with a 95% approval. And it cost like 80 bucks. I was intrigued. Sure Gardena was a drive from where West LA, but I had a rental car and why not, right?

This place is next to a similar motel, so it may be possible to get confused. I drove super slow, allowed myself time to scan and got into the motel. It's all self park here, and it's free. Got into the lobby, had a talk with the owner, who then asked me what room I wanted. That gets points with me. I requested a room towards the back as I am sensitive towards noise. He promised me that it's very quiet in the rooms in the back. There is an elevator in the front, but I walked up the short distance to the stairs and got into my room.

It was then I realized why the great reviews. The room was definitely nice. It's probably around 160-180 sqft with a king sized bed 3 feet from the door. The lights were plenty and quite a few power plugs to charge your stuff. Nice. The bed isn't soft, but got the job done. I was pretty tired when I got, so got into the tub which was as shiny as a new one. Basically, the whole interior looked not like a budget place, but rather several classes above. The next day, I extended my one night stay 2 more nights, so all in all, spent 3 nights in this place in 2 different rooms. And in the rooms in the back, there's no outside noise. And the wifi worked great.

All that said, I can't give a 5 star rating to the place because
1) The headboard of the bed is directly attached to the wall. This basically forces you to sit with several pillows in the back, or to sit at an awkward angle. There are chairs to sit properly, but I'm lazy like that.

2) The mini fridge is noisy. It's a recurring theme with budget places in LA. and fortunately, the easy fix is to turn the plug off.

3) The shower doesn't get real hot water. It's more like medium hot which is adequate, but just not there.

The surrounding area can be described as a working class neighborhood. There isn't anything significant nearby other than typical chain stores/motels. It's possibly why the place maintains a high standard within a budget. If you are looking for a place near LAX/torrance or the beaches and can drive, can't go wrong with this one

Room Tip: Back ones are recommended if you want to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I visited LA over a year ago, and was horrified by an overpriced, untidy chain hotel. This time, Gardena Terrace Inn was a breath of fresh air! It was surprisingly affordable, clean, and the staff was the friendliest I have ever encountered. Thank you Gardena Terrace Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very quiet and clean. Good service, friendly and clean rooms and house keeping. On my second week here and can't beat the price for the comfort and access.
I was skeptical at first but once checked in it was a positive surprise. Would definitely stay here when in the area.
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Cool clean place to stay. Nice size room and enough amenenties for plenty comfort. Nice people. Good hotel to stop by whenever you need a economic place to stay from out of town or around the corner.Also is a quiet and safe place. This hotel is also in a travel Friendly location. The freeway is just up the road.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prather, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed here many times for one day trips to Gardena and it was pretty good before they redid the whole place now it is great for a quick stop. The staff are also very friendly. Could use a small coffee maker in the room but if you get up in time they do have coffee.

Room Tip: Every room I have had was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardena Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Terrace Inn

Address: 15902 S. Western Ave, Gardena, CA 90247
Location: United States > California > Gardena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gardena Terrace Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Gardena Terrace Inn, you have made the choice to receive quality, moderately priced lodging at its best. You will experience a comfortable atmosphere in each of our guest rooms. The Gardena Hotel underwent an extensive renovation in December 2012. Our Gardena Hotel presents a new appearance along with many enhanced features and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gardena Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Terrace Hotel Gardena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardena Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.