We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionally decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites North Orange County to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“exceptionally decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been coming here once a year for the past 3 years now for a 2-4night stay usually. We really like this place because they allow pets, they have a kitchen top stove, microwave, fridge, and washers/dryers conveniently down stairs next to work out room. For the price its at, in my opinion is much more suitable instead of staying in a $120-$300 a night stay with out a mini kitchen in it, free laundry (that you do yourself) Plus the going rates for most pet stays are outrageous even, or you simply can't find many places that allow them anyways. Plus, It's an easy drive to Huntington dog beach for us as well, including the theme parks are even closer yet.

There was a time when our TV didn't work, not that we stayed in the room watching television to begin with, However we informed the front desk. They came up and took a look, apologized for the inconvenience and gave us the option to switch rooms into a one bedroom suite for our last night - no extra charge if we wanted. We thought that was very courteous of them.

Overall, its clean, convenient, quiet, has bonuses when it comes to kitchenette, laundry, and for allowing pets. thumbs up for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
15
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great place to stay for money. Service is a little different than other hotels I have stayed at with no pool and no daily housekeeping but full kitchen in room was great. Location was good to attractions and dining. The free laundry was another bonus I was not expecting. Overall I would return on my next trip to the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This Candlewood is newly renovated, so everything is rather modern and clean - total pleasant surprise to me. The room is a tad small for the furniture. But the bath room is clean, large and super bright.

Like another reviewer, I too had toilet issue. On my first stay, I got a room with a clogged toilet that flooded the entire bathroom. I was moved to a 2nd room which had a leaky toilet that was leaking loudly all night. On my 2nd stay, I had another leaky toilet room in a completely different room. It was so bad that I had to turn off the water to the toilet!

The place had a nice workout room with just enough equipment - cardio machines and a brand new multi-station system. Laundry is also free, which is very convenient. I had gone on a very long trip and it was the perfect time to freshen up my clothes.

This is a nice place... I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't the repeated toilet issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites North Orange County, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear knowmyhotels,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the cleanliness. fitness room and laundry service.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the toilet inconvenience. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a nice 2-niught stay here - came into town specifically for a Yankees game and the TMZ tour as well as a trip to Ikea. We were welcomed by Tyler, who was friendly and helpful. (Just surprised he didn't know which suites had a connecting door!) Our suite featured a large flat screen TV and DVD player (great for watching Red Box movies!), full size fridge w/ice maker, dishwasher, 2-burner stove, nice bathroom, recliner, queen bed and lots of cupboards/drawers/shelves. Table service was also provided for 2. Housekeeping does not clean daily but you are welcome to obtain more towels and supplies from the front desk. There are free self-laundry, workout room and honor sandwiches and drinks. No pool - which for us meant less kids. There is a grill area outside. For me, the height of the computer chair and the height of the table area were not a good match.

Traffic note - there's a median out front so you need to think of an alternate way around the block so you are on the right side of the street to pull in. You can only turn right out of the parking lot.

One thing noticed - housekeeping used parking spaces near the lobby door, which I believe should be reserved for guest use. Something for management to consider. Most employees are required to give the best parking areas to their guests, not their employees.

Room Tip: The above rating system wasn't working very well - as noted above there was no pool or restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel was under renovation, clerk said was on the Candlewood site but I booked through the parent IHG site and it was NOT indicated. Paint & carper glue smell everywhere. Painters decided to paint the onsite pantry area so could not use my $3.00 coupon, nor would they take it off the bill. No remote control to TV, the one delivered had no back (the batteries kept falling out). Toilet ran all night, shower pressure very low. Admittedly, a Candlewood isn't a Hilton, but even by that standard, this was a miserable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here about a dozen times in the last 3 years. The stay is great and always the same folks. The are renovating rooms (Dec-Jan12) which means the rooms will be even nicer. Parking is good and well lit. Freeway close.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Rooms are well stocked.small gym,and food products available.okay for long term.but watch outt if you have allergies.rooms need a major renovation,and housekeeping needs to get strong smells under control.maybe clean carpets? I would rate this 2 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites North Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Address: 12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites North Orange County 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy it in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is located in the Anaheim Resort Entertainment district. We are close to all the excitement of Disneyland and California Adventure, only 2 miles from Downtown Disneyland and the Anaheim Convention Center. Sports fans are only 3 miles from Angels Stadium and Honda Center. The Block at Orange and the Garden Walk offer dining and shopping are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites North Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Candlewood Suites Garden Grove
Candlewood Garden Grove
Garden Grove Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites North Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.