We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Stay Even By Candlewood Standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites North Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
O Fallon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy Stay Even By Candlewood Standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel was under renovation, clerk said was on the Candlewood site but I booked through the parent IHG site and it was NOT indicated. Paint & carper glue smell everywhere. Painters decided to paint the onsite pantry area so could not use my $3.00 coupon, nor would they take it off the bill. No remote control to TV, the one delivered had no back (the batteries kept falling out). Toilet ran all night, shower pressure very low. Admittedly, a Candlewood isn't a Hilton, but even by that standard, this was a miserable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
14
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here about a dozen times in the last 3 years. The stay is great and always the same folks. The are renovating rooms (Dec-Jan12) which means the rooms will be even nicer. Parking is good and well lit. Freeway close.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Rooms are well stocked.small gym,and food products available.okay for long term.but watch outt if you have allergies.rooms need a major renovation,and housekeeping needs to get strong smells under control.maybe clean carpets? I would rate this 2 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I spent several months at this candlewood suites. Good area and lots to do close by. Staff was accomodating and helpful. I only had one true issue where someone would prop open back door allowing ppl without a key to come inside. I also had my credit card used on a website and products shipped to LA. This hotel is the only time I had used this new card and they made an impression of card for any incidentals. Maybe they had nothing to do with it but too much of a coincidence for me.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

-'s - The hotel carpet could have been a little cleaner on all floors, both in the rooms and hallways. They accept pets, but the pet area ran out of poop bags and were not replaced during my entire 2 1/2 week stay. Housekeeping only cleans the rooms on specific days - not often enough - and if you need clean towels you have to take the soiled ones to the front desk before they replace them. They are not specific or clear enough on when, and how much your credit card will be charged. The charges come totally by surprise.

+'s - It's free to wash and dry your clothes, you need only purchase detergent and fabric softener. They accept pets, up to 2 and the cost is not that expensive. The concession/laundry/exercise area is very convenient, espcially when you run out of stuff, though the prices are a bit inflated. Complimentary coffee is an added perk. Parking is easy with plenty spaces.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Candlewood Suites in Garden Grove California is one of those hotels that you start off by trying to convince yourself your choice wasn't that bad. At $100/per night you try to say its a good value. It isn't. I asked for a king suite. I got a double queen room. I asked for non-smoking. I got a room that smelled of something between a chemical mix of cleaner spray and rancid cigarette smoke. The clerk at the front desk put on a good show of disgust and distain, mid her throaty smokers cough. But at least they were kind enough to say that my credit card wouldn't be charged. I departed with a lie, stating that I may stay there sometime in the future. Sorry Candlewood. Your hotel sucks. That was my short and vivid experience.

Room Tip: A full hotel leaves only the worst rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is only about five minutes from Disneyland. It has a kitchen which makes it convenient and you can save money on food if you wish not to eat out. There is a convienent store next to the hotel. Place in nice, felt safe and easy access to the freeway.
I saved about 50% compared to hotels next to Disneyland. The bed is confortable and one of the best shower water presure. I would consider this hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites North Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Address: 12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites North Orange County 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy it in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is located in the Anaheim Resort Entertainment district. We are close to all the excitement of Disneyland and California Adventure, only 2 miles from Downtown Disneyland and the Anaheim Convention Center. Sports fans are only 3 miles from Angels Stadium and Honda Center. The Block at Orange and the Garden Walk offer dining and shopping are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites North Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Candlewood Suites Garden Grove
Candlewood Garden Grove
Garden Grove Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites North Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.