We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant

Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant
11906 Garden Grove Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92843
(714) 590-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 344 Restaurants in Garden Grove
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a large menu featuring tacos, burritos, quesadillas as well as combo plates and seafood. Once you have ordered they give you chips covered in beans, cheese and guacamole which is almost a meal on its own. The plates are large and delicious and a great value. A must stop for Mexican for if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were looking for tacos - preferably a local spot, not a chain. Los Sanchez fit the bill and we enjoyed fish tacos, camerones, a generous bowl of pozzole. The owner also treated us to tasty nachos. I was a bit surprised that my sangria was a soda, not wine. Only a five minute drive from Disney and all of the standard chains and appears to be frequented by locals more than tourists - a plus in my book.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican food North of the Mexican Border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have been going to Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant when it was located on Harbor Blvd next to Belisle's (Pink House) restaurant, that was on the corner of Harbor and Chapman back in the 80's and 90's, The food has always been consistantly GREAT and never varies from the way it was back in the and 80's & 90's. I go to Los Snachez every time myself and my family go to California, and if you like Tamales the place to go is GRANDE Foods on Main Street in Snata Ana California

Enjoy the Food because it is GRRREA

The Napolitano Family

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good reason to get off of Disney property for a great meal at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yes! Eat here! Its only about a mile away from everything that is Disney and its worth finding. When most of the patrons of the restaurant are speaking Spanish you've know you're in the right place. The menu choice are practically endless. We stuck with things we knew and they were great! Everyone was very friendly. You order at the counter and pick up your food, they have a large dining area inside and one outside as well. We will be back!! Also a great place to eat on the way to an Angel's game!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While in Ca, My wife was craving Mexican food, so my brother told us about Los Sanchez and had told us it was the best Mexican joints around, So we went. Nice little place,great service, but the food was normal sonoran mexican food.

We live in Southern Arizona and it was like we just went to the local mexican joint at home. Nothing special

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Sanchez Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.