We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite Property near Disneyland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Suite Property near Disneyland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here the other night as a Category 5 Reward stay and was pleasantly surprised. Property is definitely newer in an area with a Hyatt, Homewood Suites, Marriott Suites, Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites & Hilton Garden Inn.

Parking is $10/day/car.

Service by the check-in agent was friendly. My request for a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator was honored.

The suite was quiet with a full kitchen, living room, and bedroom. Mattress was comfortable and the toilet was a little off as it seemed to have been leaking?!?

The suite has been remodeled with a stainless steel fridge and flat screen tv.

Breakfast was decent and had a vast selection including real eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage, waffles, biscuits, along with the regular complimentary items!

Wifi & full Breakfast are both free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from a seasoned traveler like you. We are happy that you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and clean. We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    212
    49
    25
    12
See reviews for
457
22
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Irwin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

A great hotel. We had a two bedroom suite, with a King bed in one room, with its own bathroom, and two Queen beds in the other room, with its own bathroom, and a full kitchen with a nice TV/couch area in between the two. Although there were lots of kids in the hotel at the time, our room was always quiet.
We were able to cook breakfast in our own room, although there was a breakfast provided, it was quite crowded and chaotic. I have many food allergies, so this was not something I was interested in anyway. Some family members did go down to grab fresh fruit to carry with us for the day.
We were about a 2km (1.6 mile) walk from the gates to the Disney park. We walked there everyday without difficulty. On the third evening, we took a cab back to the hotel for less than $10. We definitely plan to stay here again when we plan our next trip to Disneyland. The staff were very kind and helpful also. Marriott beds are the best hotel beds. So comfortable, and I love that it is Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms! Quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It's always nice to have a little extra room to unwind after a long day at Disneyland and we're glad that you and your family had the same experience in the two bedroom suite. Having a full kitchen with stove top, oven, and full-size refrigerator is an added value especially for those with special dietary needs. Can’t wait to have your family come back! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife, son 18 daughter 12 and myself stayed at the Residence inn for 10 nights from the 7th December. I do not haved enough superlatives to describe our stay. I am going to try break my review down into areas that I find valuable.
STAFF- the most friendliest, helpfull and welcoming hotel staff we have come accross. We had travelled on the Carnival Miracle for a week prior and arrived late morning. Our room was ready and we were able to check in straight away without even asking. Any request was quickly met with (we only had one a flat remote battery) and you are greated every time you leave or enter the hotel A+.
ROOM - We stayed in a 2 bedroom room on the 6th floor with views of the fireworks from Disneyland. Whilst we were close to Harbor BLVD we heard no traffic and we live in the country! The main bedroom had a kingbed, ensuite and plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. The bathroom well equipped and mostly hot water, on occasion we found the water was not as hot as we like it at home. The kitchen was fully equipped with microwave, oven, utenils, pots and pans everythking and most importantly for a stay near disneyland the fridge was huge and made ice! The kids room had a bunk bed and an ensuite which again was more than adequate. Sadly, my son was too tall for the bunk bed so he slept soundly on the fold away bed in the lounge. The best thing, and for those of you with kids make sure you note this, is that they had 3 tvs with a huge variety of channels. My only wish was that they had a TV guide because American TV is Sooooo much different than Aussie tv! The room was simply magnificant, and by the way the bed was sooo comfortable!
FOOD- The resdience inn provided a buffet style breakfast. Whilst not what we are used to in Australia, it had a variety of foods from which to choose. As every post mentions the waffles were the highlight, so much so that my daughter keeps nagging that we get one to take home! The only thing wrong with the breakfast is the customers, who let their children run wild, walk strollers through the serving areas etc. The lovely servers in the serving area quickly replaced empty food trays, cleaned down tables and were so helpful and friendlÿ. We only had the managers reception once as we spent too much time at disneyland.
Cleanliness- Given the traffic in this hotel the clenliness was immaculate. All public areas were quickly cleaned, even the pool area where some very ignorant guests would leave towels on the ground rather than go a few feet to put them in the laundery baskets. Housekeeping was very good but hard to predict. They tended to change their times of cleaning and we found ourselves cought out a few times.
Laundry-Plenty of washing machines and dryers. They even had a few laundry baskets, but could have done with more. Next to the laundry room was a games room that also contained an ATM
DISNEYLAND - Is a true American Jewel. Getting there from the resdience was easy, a 20 metre walk and itds the first stop of the ART route. The ticket machine is located right next to the hotel entry door. We had no issues with parking, but then again we did not have a car. You simply do not need one with all the transport options available to you.
FOOD Close by - There were many resteraunts within easy walking distance and a Target with food and pharmacy over the road. The residence inn also provided an option or ordering in and a shopping option,niether of which we used.
To finish off, for those of you from Australia who like REAL coffee, just out the back at the Hyatt approximately a 40 metre walk was starbucks. A short walk by the pool to get there. The only thing we had issues wiuth was that there was a bloody psychologist conference on at the anaheim conference centre and there was a bit of a line up for a couple of days.

Thanks you again Residence Inn when we come back we will definately stay with you again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room near Harbor BVd yopu get to watch the disneyland fireworks. However, elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from someone that has stayed at our hotel for 10 nights. Your review touched on many of the reasons that we are the best choice for a hotel stay during a visit to Disneyland. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Prior to checking in our vehicle was broken into at our previous hotel and some of our luggage was stolen. We arrived super upset and without a stitch of clothing for our 2 children. Alejandra the front desk attendant was awesome!! She was able to check us in a little early and directed us to the most affordable shopping. Our room was spotless and up to date. I don't think I've ever stayed at a cleaner hotel. While there we enjoyed the manager's reception which consisted of 3 full dinners. The first night we enjoyed a nacho bar and a whole build your own ice cream bar. The other night we enjoyed hamburger and hotdogs. This clearly saved us a ton of $$ because we basically only had to pay for lunches. While there we had to deal with insurance issues regarding the break in of our vehicle. The front desk went above and beyond to help us, they allowed us to use a computer there and assisted us to attach documents. No place else would have done this. My son's birthday was also during this trip, upon arriving home from Disney he was greeted by a balloon bouquet with fresh baked cookies. We will definitely return and tell all of family and friends about this particular Residence INN.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am very lucky to have a staff full of great people like Alejandra working at this hotel.
We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. I’m glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated suites the new stainless steel appliance give the kitchen a clean and contemporary feel. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We loved staying at this Residence Inn! The suite was perfect for our family of 7, even with bunk beds for the boys! The kids were thrilled and we all had a great time. The hotel is family friendly, clean and beautiful. The Breakfasts are superb! After a full day at Disney or California Adventure we were all ready to go home...and that is what our suite felt like...HOME. It was the first time we have been able to take our kids to Disney, so it was super special!

Room Tip: If you need lots of space..the two bedroom suites are awesome! We watched fireworks from our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. Whether traveling with a family of 7 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area. Thanks for sharing the pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed here for 6 nights and we are a family with four kids. This was a great place for us. We had a suite that had one king bed, two queens, a sofabed and two bathrooms. Having two bathrooms is essential for us or we wouldn't leave the hotel until late morning. The room was spacious and very clean and includes a full kitchen. While we found our room on the fourth floor a tad noisy, it wasn't anything we couldn't handle.

Another plus to this hotel is the free hot breakfast every morning. This is much more than a continental breakfast and has foods such as scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles (seriously, these are the best waffles we've tasted) and a variety of cold cereals, fruits and oatmeal. The one thing that eeked us out a bit was the communal bowl of yogurt. Individual yogurts would be much better. On some evenings, there was a snack (sloppy joes, turkey dinner on Thanksgiving, etc) which was great. The kids loved the caramel apples!

This property has shuttle service (for a fee) to Disneyland which we ended up buying a pass to use. The shuttle drivers were friendly and on time.

All in all, we will stay here again. This was our third time staying at this Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor quiet room, one that doesnt face Harbor Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I definitely agree with you we are great for families. Our spacious two bed room two bathroom suite is the best value in Anaheim. The additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Can’t wait to have your family come back hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My 3 year old keeps asking when we are going back to the hotel with the bunk beds and for a Mickey TV Waffle breakfast :)

We will definitely return to Disneyland - and definitely to this specific hotel! We have previously stayed at other Marriott hotels when we are in the area - but this one blows the others away! The front desk staff isn't just nice - they went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable - their recommendations were non-rehearsed and helpful. (Been Platinum Marriott for years, I know the difference!) We arrived after a 7 hour car ride with 2 kids... and the relief I felt with the front desk was awesome - the room was perfect, the baby's crib was delivered immediately. The bunk bed room was perfect for the little guy as well.
Breakfast had a great variety for the pickiest eaters (Love the mini-waffle machine).
Check out was easy and fast as well.

Thanks for making our trip memorable for the "right" reasons :)

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite for families was perfect for the 3 year old who goes to bed earlier than mom &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are glad we made a good impression on your 3 year old. We can’t wait to have him back soon. Our spacious two bed room two bathroom suite is the best value in Anaheim. We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.