We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Bend, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have always trusted Residence Inn to provide us with a homestead when on vacation and this was our first stay here at their Anaheim Resort property. Once again it was all good. From the comfortable suite to rest our Disneyland weary bodies to the friendly, helpful staff and great breakfasts each morning we couldn't haven't have asked for better.

Room Tip: Seventh floor gave us a view of the fireworks over Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy that you found our newly renovated rooms comfortable and clean. We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    217
    52
    28
    16
See reviews for
479
24
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights with our family of 6 in a two bedroom family suite. We had 2 adults and 4 young children. We have travelled to the area 2-3 times a year for the last 10 years to vacation and have stayed at a number of hotels in this area. We were able to get an outstanding rate here thanks to their best rate guarantee (see their website for details). We paid $85/night for a two bedroom, two bathroom family suite. The suite was large and spacious. Fully equipped kitchen was fantastic. Some things have been updated and renovated but some furniture pieces were quite old, worn, and dated. The bunk bed in the kids room was old and dirty. My child dropped her toy behind the bed, I looked over to see garbage and other things that had been dropped by previous guests that hadn't been cleaned. The beds were uncomfortable and the thread count on the sheets was low. This is a very busy family hotel. At peak times, the elevators took a long time (at one point only one was working). The breakfast area can be a zoo. Very basic breakfast with lower quality food. If you are on a budget and need a spacious place to stay this residence inn is adequate. Personally I would stay at the doubletree, or the marriott suites nearby.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with a trouble free stay and unfortunately we fell short this time. I apologize for the inconveniences you and your family experienced. Please be assured that our team takes the feedback seriously and we are making changes to address some of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great hotel with very friendly service. Booked two-bedroom suite on 8th floor. Great room equipment; very clean.
Pool area also clean and with heated pool no problem to swim in November.
Reception personel was very friendly asking for our special needs.

Breakfast out of big variety with good food; only with plastic plates, forks, etc. a lot of garbage is unnecessarily produced every day which is not very environmental thinking.
But otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. The additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. Thanks for the 5 star rating we truly appreciate your recommendation. Hope to have you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As mentioned in my past reviews, we have stayed at the Residence Inn Marriott Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove facility many times over the years. For my latest trip (and I had not been to the facility for nearly exactly a year) I was on my own and I stayed in a corner room facing the pool area. (I think it was room #711) The room was suggested to me by Mr. James Hererra and was one of the best I have ever stayed in at the facility. Over the past year there had been extensive renovations at the facility and my suite was essentially "brand new". It was clean, spacious, and very quiet with the daily cleaning staff doing an excellent job while I was away. When I arrived at the front desk to check-in I was thrilled to see that Mr. Walter Maldonado had returned to work at the facility again. In addition, all of the familiar employees recognized me (and I them) and called me by name including Mr. Frank Palacios. Also, all of the familiar front desk staff including Katrina (Sp?) and the buffet area/kitchen staff greeted me like a returning family member. Overall, the services were excellent, the shuttle services convenient and inexpensive, the food very good, and with the recent renovations to the facility, my expectations were exceeded on this latest trip. I would like to thank all of the staff at the Residence Inn Marriott Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove who made my 1 week stay so special. I am already planning my next visit hopefully to include our (now adult) children, my wife, and other members of our family. Thank you Residence Inn!

Room Tip: If you are solo, try one of the higher up "corner" rooms facing the pool. The Residence I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Keith thank you for the great review! It’s always a pleasure having you as our guest. We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, kitchenette suite. Our family of four had plenty of room to spread out. We didn't end up using the kitchenette but the fridge was handy to store lots of snacks! The staff was fantastic. They helped us with a tv that did not work properly, gave us info on taxis, ect. Each encounter was friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfasts in the morning! Our room was on the seventh floor and we were able to see the fireworks at Disney each night! The room was in awesome shape and looked even better than the online photos!

Kim Grabas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Our spacious two bed room two bathroom suite is definitely a great value. The additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. Having a full equipped kitchen is an extra value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

i was so impressed with this hotel, the manager james went out of his way for my daughters 7th birthday, he made it so special. i was so impressed that im planning to come back and stay first week of december for a disneyland trip!!! thanks so much to james and his staff for making her birthday so special!!!! YOU ROCK!!! The Glidden Family!

Room Tip: the two room suite was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I absolutely agree with you we do have a great staff and we are fortunate to have each and every one of them. I’m glad that we were able to make your daughter’s birthday a little extra special. Can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irymple Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a party of seven we stayed here 6 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite, with a sleeper sofa, our room was comfortable and freshly made up each day, breakfast was served daily down stairs, and there was also an evening meal Monday to Thursday nights which was small but enough, both of which was included in the cost, we also had a hire car and while the web site said parking was $10 a day we were not charged at all. Although it is a fair way away from disneyland, ( we drove each day) there is a range of restaurants and shops within walking distance, target, Walgreen red robin, Taco Bell Pizza Hut etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. The additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.