We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the perfect place for a family holiday in Anaheim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be the perfect place for a family holiday in Anaheim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

It is not easy for a family of two adults and four children to find hotel accommodation to fit them (at least without having to get adjoining rooms). The residence inn does almost everything brilliantly and has family rooms with two queens and a bunk. The staff are great, the facilities are great, the breakfast is great, they even do a complimentary light dinner with your accommodation. The rooms are large and have a complete kitchen and separate lounge/sitting area. There are three TVs in the suite. I even ended up using the sofa bed which was not very comfortable but fine. There are only two things I do not love and one comment. 1. It is not really close enough to Disneyland to walk. Not a problem for us but thought people should know. 2. Parking is $10 potter night. That is more than the place we stayed which is directly opposite Disney. Now the comment, the bunks were in one room, the two queens in the other. This means zero chance of mum and dad having any alone time unless they want to use the bunks. Not going to happen. Oh, and the bunks room has no natural light - also not ideal. Otherwise, a really excellent hotel for families.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Southern California. We do have several different configurations of the two bedroom suite some include bunk-beds our most popular is the king bed in the master bedroom and two queens in the secondary room. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    212
    49
    25
    12
See reviews for
457
22
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently took our family to Disneyland for spring break. We researched for months trying to find a hotel that was big enough for our party of 6, served breakfast and was close. We finally decided on the Res Inn and were so happy. Not only did we get a 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen and two bathrooms there was so much more. The hotel had a pool, basketball hoop, ping tables, full breakfast everyday and the best part which was a surprise they serve a light dinner every night which saved us a ton of $. After spending all day at the resort we didn't want to cook or hardly go out so it was awesome. Also kudos to the friendly girls at the front desk.. you rock. Will recommend to everyone I know:)

Room Tip: 5th floor poolside in a 2 bdrm suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We thank you for posting this review. We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether traveling with a family of 6 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. We hope to see you as a guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We actually had a reservation at the Residence Inn Maingate in Anaheim because it is just a short walk to Disneyland and that was our whole reason for going. When we arrived at the Maingate Marriott we were very disappointed, the area did not seem very safe and the room was dark, very out-dated decor, and smelled of smoke. They offered a different room but it looked exactly the same. My husband called Marriot Rewards (we were using our rewards points for our stay) and they offered to move us to another Residence Inn up the street. It was a little farther from Disneyland but just a quick 10 minute drive (they also have a bus that stops out front every 30 min and is only $5 per person). We were much happier with this Marriott, it was newer and had a nice pool (though we didn't stay long enough to use it), and even upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite! They have a great breakfast that is included as well with everything you could want. Overall I think this is a great hotel for families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Southern California. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked 2 nights in a 2 bedroom suite for a visit to Disneyland. We were a group of 5, with 2 in each bedroom (double bunk in the 2nd) and 1 on the sofa bed. The hotel is a very short walk to several family restaurants, a liquor store and a good sized shopping mall, and a $10 cab ride to the Orange County designer outlets (Simon Mall). We also walked both ways to Disneyland - a solid 15 minute walk but all on flat ground.

The hotel included a free serve-yourself breakfast with a decent variety of foods, that included waffle makers which were a huge hit with the kids. There's also a pool and a small fitness centre.

Room Tip: We can recommend the 2 bedroom suites. If you have kids request a room with bunkbeds in the 2nd bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It means a great deal to us that we are your hotel of choice when visiting Disney. It's always nice to have a little extra room to unwind after a long day at Disneyland and we're glad that you and your family had the same experience. Sounds like you took advantage of the full equipped kitchen and used it to prepare snack or a full meal. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We left a not so good hotel because we decided to extend out stay and got to this hotel hours before the check in time. The room we had reserved wasn't ready so they gave us a free upgrade to a huge and gorgeous room. The breakfast is awesome and it has extended hours for those that like to sleep in a bit. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel, and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Although the location if the hotel was convenient to Disneyland and walking distance to a few restaurants and Target (food and other necessities), it was the toilets that completely disappointed us.

We had two in our room, and when I went to use the one in the master bedroom, we were disgusted to see someone already did and left their waste behind. Housecleaning should have seen this, but I just flushed it and left it at that.

Later we all discovered that anything with substance plugged the toilet, and required multiple flushes over 40-45 minutes to clear. Considering the cost of this hotel, one would think they would have decent plumbing.

Asides for that, breakfasts were moderate and overrun with young kids. Never anywhere to sit and when found, everything was sticky with syrup.

The dinners are light, but rather tasteless and definitely lacking in quality. Again, for the price of this hotel, we had really expected much better everything.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during you stay with us, and we thank you for letting us know. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We're just back from five days in Anaheim, including visits to Disneyland, Universal Studios, and Seaworld (buy a CityPass!). We are a family of 5, with 3 teens - and the Residence Inn proved to be the perfect place for us. Having actual bedrooms, 2 baths, and a kitchen was well worth the cost of our room. The breakfast buffet and weeknight manager's dinners saved us so much money vs. eating in the park. We bought a 5-day pass on the ART shuttle, hopped on the bus right at the hotel, and rode the bus to the park each morning. By late afternoon everyone is ready for a break, we'd hop the bus back to the hotel and eat dinner there, maybe take a swim, rest, or play a little basketball. Then back to the park for a few hours in the evening. We only purchased snacks at Disneyland, never a main meal, which saved us a load of $$$.
The staff were wonderful (front desk, kitchen staff, maintenance!!): friendly, informative, able to answer all of our questions. Our oldest had to catch a plane from LAX at the end of our trip and they booked the transportation to get him to the airport for us. We were allowed to check in early on our arrival. Beds were very comfortable, not a lot of extraneous noises, and we had a view of the fireworks each night. The breakfast room was never overcrowded, and our room and the rest of the hotel was very clean. There are several great restaurants, a Starbucks and a Target within *easy* walking distance. We had no problem with parking, but we didn't move our car much after arrival - just used the transit. We will definitely stay here again if we are back in Anaheim, it was just what we were looking for..

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Disneyland! We’re delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our suite, and Disney shuttle service. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Our Thursday night outdoor BBQ is one of my favorite events it gives me an opportunity to get to know our guest. We hope to see you and your family again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.